We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average - poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0)524 38 38 36
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #243 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Average - poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to this restaurant on our first night. Very traditional Morroccan food was OK. We stuck to a tagine and a couscous dish.
The seats are not particularly comfortable. The tables are quite close together and it was difficult to find somewhere to put your feet due to the design of the tables.
Service was slow and rather haphazard!
Belly dancers provide some entertainment and try to get people up to participate. I am glad to say I was eating at the time so I could avoid this embarrassment!
All in all, average food, a bit on the expensive side, poor service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    80
    130
    102
    69
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food, service are just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The menu offers a healthy range of options. The ambiance is romantic, and the restaurant is in a good location. The service is incredibly slow, but if you're on vacation maybe it doesn't matter because you have time to kill. Belly dancers performed while we dined, which was entertaining at first, and then became obnoxious as we shifted our attention to the food. We got billed for wine that we ordered but was not available, and had to get the bill corrected (we weren't sure if this was deliberate on their part; the server was not very apologetic when we caught the error, and we had a similar experience at another restaurant the following night which makes us suspicious of restaurants in Marrakech). If you eat here, check your bill, budget a lot of time, and be prepared to stuff some bills in the belly dancer's outfit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Worth it for the Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Overall:
The architecture, design, music, atmosphere are very good - excellent. The atmosphere is cool, with groovy lounge music, dark but lit with candles, Moroccan lanterns splashing artisan patterns of light here and there. The food is very good. The "happy hour" wine was very poor and the service is not great, but my experience wasnt as bad as some of these reviews.

Value:
I had the lamb kababs, a sparkling water and a glass of wine = 27 USD. You can pay via card which is not always the case in Marrakech.

Location:
In the Mellah area, visible from the main street on the corner (a 3/4 story building), around the corner from La Bahia Palace and near Kosybar.

This is a tourist place, mostly full of European expats, maybe the odd Arab expat but Im pretty sure no Moroccans.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losone, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“1001 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a fantastic atmosphere, very nice lights and table settings. The food Was tastful and maroccan style, the view from the terra e for apero during sunset to reccommend. Service cold be' a bit better, avoid wine ang go for beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Delicious lighting and great food. Had lamb shoulder for 2 at 380 dirahms. Absolutely deliciously cooked - smart establishment if you fancy a treat in Marrakech - easy to find if you head for the Mellah

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.