We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, very slow service...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, very slow service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and first impressions did not disappoint; the walls dance with the shadows from the candlelit lanterns and the whole place has an aura which whispers romance and luxury. The food is traditionally Moroccan and reasonably priced. Unfortunately what could have been a fantastic evening was spoilt by the lack of attention to detail (it is true to say the staff appear disengaged) and the incredibly slow service. We skipped dessert as we thought it may have arrived for breakfast! If you are prepared to risk the poor service it is worth a visit. Bellydancers entertain during the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    165
    122
    81
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went there on last night of our holiday with my wife. My wife skipped the first course but I had the pigeon pastilla which I enjoyed. My main course was the Royal Couscous with mixed meat brochettes - the brochettes were good; the couscous, which also contained chicken and lamb was a bit insipid - however portion size was not a problem - this was a mountain of food for one person. My wife chose lamb with prunes and sesame seeds - this was served without vegetables or carbs so I offloaded most of the potatoes and veg that came with my meal to her. We skipped puds because we were both full by this stage. Service was fairly shambolic. There was a long wait before we were offered drinks and our order taken. Then a very long interval between my wife receiving her main course and mine arriving. The waiter explained that the couscous dish took a long time to prepare but the last time I made couscous it involved pouring on boiling water and waiting 10 minutes - I guess they use a more exacting technique in marrakech. The highlight of the evening was the belly dancing - two very attractive young ladies who took my mind off the poor service and raised the tip that I was planning to pay from 0% to 5% (waiter received the latter without thanks!). Total cost with glass of wine, small bottle of water, and two coffees was about £50.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good service, food was tasty- we had the lamb tagine and would highly recommend it. Nice atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with was seems to be the sentiment of a lot of reviewers: this place is not worth the money. Prices are high, the food is bland, and the service slow and unengaged. Nice locale and nice view though.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
“Food is very good but this has become a tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Yes the food is pretty delicious with good size helpings and the service we found was just about okay. However, the prices have risen dramatically which might explain the fact that on a Saturday evening it was only half full.
The place has become patronisingly touristy with (admittedly very good) belly dancers. Not something we had to endure seven years ago. That is not to my taste but I had to admit that the place itself has still got a good atmosphere. Not that easy to find on the edge of the medina - look for the storks on the rooftops opposite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.