We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional restaurant, beautiful decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #272 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional restaurant, beautiful decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited as a family with our 6 year old daughter at lunchtime. The service wasn't super-fast but after the hustle and bustle outside it's nice to have time to relax! The food was lovely, not cheap but more comparable with what you'd pay in the UK. We sat on the terrace upstairs for the view but the inside of the restaurant was beautiful, decorated like a traditional riad. The toilets were very clean. The restaurant owner was very friendly and helped give us directions to the jewellery quarter after our meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    160
    121
    81
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food and decor was brilliant - the best briouche we had in all of Marrakech and the best meal (I had the tajine of lamb and prunes) of our stay (and the best lamb dish I have ever eaten!) The decor is stunning as well, with amazing lights and comfy seats. It's let down a bit by waiters that like to check their mobiles a lot, but otherwise it was one of the best meals we have had in ages.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Moroccan Banquet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed a gut busting Moroccan banquet on the terrace for a reasonable price.

The views were great and the food was out of this world, but I must admit the service was a little slow - thankfully the atmosphere meant we didn't mind waiting too much.

I actually preferred the decor of the restaurant (which was very quiet compared to the terrace where the views are) and if we returned I would be inclined to enjoy the privacy of the rooms in the restaurant to eat.

The concierge was tip top and you were made to feel very welcome and valued.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went here on our second night and we are a bit suprised about some of the other reviews on here yes there are belly dancers as entertainment but it goes on for about 15mins and you can join in if you want and no the local woudnt go there but as they eat in the square im not sure what nice restaurant they would go to. so yes it is full of tourists but they do lovely choice of morrocan food with tajines and couscous and other meat and fish off the grill. it is a lovely style of restaurant and if you want a romantic meal away from the hussle and bussle in a nice place i would recommened this place as we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we would go back again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant , very romantic and sparkling! Belly dancing show good entertainment but embarrasing for male participants!
Service was a bit slow although pleasant enough. Food good but have had better in Marrakech. Not bad though the lamb COuscous was light and fluffy . Bathrooms well kept. More expensive than some places but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile. Taxis available directly outside for you afterwards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.