We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food and decor was brilliant - the best briouche we had in all of Marrakech and the best meal (I had the tajine of lamb and prunes) of our stay (and the best lamb dish I have ever eaten!) The decor is stunning as well, with amazing lights and comfy seats. It's let down a bit by waiters that like to check their mobiles a lot, but otherwise it was one of the best meals we have had in ages.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    88
    139
    108
    75
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Moroccan Banquet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed a gut busting Moroccan banquet on the terrace for a reasonable price.

The views were great and the food was out of this world, but I must admit the service was a little slow - thankfully the atmosphere meant we didn't mind waiting too much.

I actually preferred the decor of the restaurant (which was very quiet compared to the terrace where the views are) and if we returned I would be inclined to enjoy the privacy of the rooms in the restaurant to eat.

The concierge was tip top and you were made to feel very welcome and valued.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went here on our second night and we are a bit suprised about some of the other reviews on here yes there are belly dancers as entertainment but it goes on for about 15mins and you can join in if you want and no the local woudnt go there but as they eat in the square im not sure what nice restaurant they would go to. so yes it is full of tourists but they do lovely choice of morrocan food with tajines and couscous and other meat and fish off the grill. it is a lovely style of restaurant and if you want a romantic meal away from the hussle and bussle in a nice place i would recommened this place as we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we would go back again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant , very romantic and sparkling! Belly dancing show good entertainment but embarrasing for male participants!
Service was a bit slow although pleasant enough. Food good but have had better in Marrakech. Not bad though the lamb COuscous was light and fluffy . Bathrooms well kept. More expensive than some places but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile. Taxis available directly outside for you afterwards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having been recomended this resaurant by our Riad and they helpfully booked it for us.

Greeted by friendly staff but the service was slow. So much so that my wife and I were still at our table when the mediocer dancers arrived. The supposed belly dancers would so poor they would have failed the "strictly come dancing" auditions.

The lamb tejine had was well cooked to the extent that the meat fell off the bone. but the meat was tough.

Every thing was very expensive, perhaps to pay for the dancers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.