We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food and decor was brilliant - the best briouche we had in all of Marrakech and the best meal (I had the tajine of lamb and prunes) of our stay (and the best lamb dish I have ever eaten!) The decor is stunning as well, with amazing lights and comfy seats. It's let down a bit by waiters that like to check their mobiles a lot, but otherwise it was one of the best meals we have had in ages.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    203
    133
    90
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Moroccan Banquet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed a gut busting Moroccan banquet on the terrace for a reasonable price.

The views were great and the food was out of this world, but I must admit the service was a little slow - thankfully the atmosphere meant we didn't mind waiting too much.

I actually preferred the decor of the restaurant (which was very quiet compared to the terrace where the views are) and if we returned I would be inclined to enjoy the privacy of the rooms in the restaurant to eat.

The concierge was tip top and you were made to feel very welcome and valued.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went here on our second night and we are a bit suprised about some of the other reviews on here yes there are belly dancers as entertainment but it goes on for about 15mins and you can join in if you want and no the local woudnt go there but as they eat in the square im not sure what nice restaurant they would go to. so yes it is full of tourists but they do lovely choice of morrocan food with tajines and couscous and other meat and fish off the grill. it is a lovely style of restaurant and if you want a romantic meal away from the hussle and bussle in a nice place i would recommened this place as we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we would go back again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant , very romantic and sparkling! Belly dancing show good entertainment but embarrasing for male participants!
Service was a bit slow although pleasant enough. Food good but have had better in Marrakech. Not bad though the lamb COuscous was light and fluffy . Bathrooms well kept. More expensive than some places but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile. Taxis available directly outside for you afterwards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having been recomended this resaurant by our Riad and they helpfully booked it for us.

Greeted by friendly staff but the service was slow. So much so that my wife and I were still at our table when the mediocer dancers arrived. The supposed belly dancers would so poor they would have failed the "strictly come dancing" auditions.

The lamb tejine had was well cooked to the extent that the meat fell off the bone. but the meat was tough.

Every thing was very expensive, perhaps to pay for the dancers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.