We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Moroccan Banquet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 587 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Moroccan Banquet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed a gut busting Moroccan banquet on the terrace for a reasonable price.

The views were great and the food was out of this world, but I must admit the service was a little slow - thankfully the atmosphere meant we didn't mind waiting too much.

I actually preferred the decor of the restaurant (which was very quiet compared to the terrace where the views are) and if we returned I would be inclined to enjoy the privacy of the rooms in the restaurant to eat.

The concierge was tip top and you were made to feel very welcome and valued.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    198
    132
    89
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went here on our second night and we are a bit suprised about some of the other reviews on here yes there are belly dancers as entertainment but it goes on for about 15mins and you can join in if you want and no the local woudnt go there but as they eat in the square im not sure what nice restaurant they would go to. so yes it is full of tourists but they do lovely choice of morrocan food with tajines and couscous and other meat and fish off the grill. it is a lovely style of restaurant and if you want a romantic meal away from the hussle and bussle in a nice place i would recommened this place as we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we would go back again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant , very romantic and sparkling! Belly dancing show good entertainment but embarrasing for male participants!
Service was a bit slow although pleasant enough. Food good but have had better in Marrakech. Not bad though the lamb COuscous was light and fluffy . Bathrooms well kept. More expensive than some places but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile. Taxis available directly outside for you afterwards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having been recomended this resaurant by our Riad and they helpfully booked it for us.

Greeted by friendly staff but the service was slow. So much so that my wife and I were still at our table when the mediocer dancers arrived. The supposed belly dancers would so poor they would have failed the "strictly come dancing" auditions.

The lamb tejine had was well cooked to the extent that the meat fell off the bone. but the meat was tough.

Every thing was very expensive, perhaps to pay for the dancers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but a bit pricy for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were recommended to this place by our riad on our first night in Marrakech and found a very enthusiastic welcome from the staff. Service was good, there was a floor show from dancers who invited audience participation in typical tourist spot fashion, and an overall pleasant atmosphere. The food was good in quality, large in quantity, but seemed a bit overpriced. Starters: pigeon pastillas were a bit too dry, the assorted briouates more pastry than filling but the fish pastilla was excellent. All main courses were very good, the Tagine Essaouira especially. This fish tagine had a whole whitefish (probably bream) fillet under excellent slow-cooked vegetables; the monkfish brochette was also well cooked. Without desserts or coffees but including two bottles of wine, the dinner cost Dir1935, just over £140, for the four of us. This was our first night and a good re-introduction to Moroccan food. Afterwards, we ate better for the same or less - and there are many places to choose from!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.