We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with pleasant but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant , very romantic and sparkling! Belly dancing show good entertainment but embarrasing for male participants!
Service was a bit slow although pleasant enough. Food good but have had better in Marrakech. Not bad though the lamb COuscous was light and fluffy . Bathrooms well kept. More expensive than some places but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile. Taxis available directly outside for you afterwards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    87
    138
    108
    75
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having been recomended this resaurant by our Riad and they helpfully booked it for us.

Greeted by friendly staff but the service was slow. So much so that my wife and I were still at our table when the mediocer dancers arrived. The supposed belly dancers would so poor they would have failed the "strictly come dancing" auditions.

The lamb tejine had was well cooked to the extent that the meat fell off the bone. but the meat was tough.

Every thing was very expensive, perhaps to pay for the dancers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but a bit pricy for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were recommended to this place by our riad on our first night in Marrakech and found a very enthusiastic welcome from the staff. Service was good, there was a floor show from dancers who invited audience participation in typical tourist spot fashion, and an overall pleasant atmosphere. The food was good in quality, large in quantity, but seemed a bit overpriced. Starters: pigeon pastillas were a bit too dry, the assorted briouates more pastry than filling but the fish pastilla was excellent. All main courses were very good, the Tagine Essaouira especially. This fish tagine had a whole whitefish (probably bream) fillet under excellent slow-cooked vegetables; the monkfish brochette was also well cooked. Without desserts or coffees but including two bottles of wine, the dinner cost Dir1935, just over £140, for the four of us. This was our first night and a good re-introduction to Moroccan food. Afterwards, we ate better for the same or less - and there are many places to choose from!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice decor , good service, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

DIned here on a recent 6 day trip. Restaurant is very well decorated and the service is friendly and efficient. During our meal there was a belly dance show going on, which was quite entertaining. The food was just average though and a bit too expensive for the quality served. We did have a pleasant evening - but the food was a bit bland.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved our evening here, the staff are friendly and attentive, the atmosphere is charming and the surroundings very romantic with candles everywhere, the food portions were very big and i am glad we shared a starter!the bellydancers added some fun for the evening-thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.