We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor , good service, very average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice decor , good service, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

DIned here on a recent 6 day trip. Restaurant is very well decorated and the service is friendly and efficient. During our meal there was a belly dance show going on, which was quite entertaining. The food was just average though and a bit too expensive for the quality served. We did have a pleasant evening - but the food was a bit bland.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank royvmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved our evening here, the staff are friendly and attentive, the atmosphere is charming and the surroundings very romantic with candles everywhere, the food portions were very big and i am glad we shared a starter!the bellydancers added some fun for the evening-thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmajallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Turistic place. Average food. Nothing Special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere at night with candlelight and cool music.
Typical turistic place, with traditional bellydance shows and average food, nothing special.
There are better options in Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rtichauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice food if a little touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on the advice of our hotel after just arriving in Marrakech. We found it very nice although it is very much for the tourist. We came back and ate here again due to its convenient location and were equally impressed with the food. Massive portions, well-cooked with beer at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant on our first night in Marrakech. The atmosphere was outstanding. The wait staff were a little slow but they were moving very fast to keep up with the crowds. Definitely recommend the assorted moroccan salads. Entrees were pretty mediocre. Portions were huge. Vegetable couscous had no flavor. Having Belly dancers perform seemed incongruous to the culture and purely a tourist trap item. And we couldn't get the check while the performance was happening.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing