We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok room, but helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azenzer

Save Saved
You added Riad Azenzer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Azenzer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Derb Sebaat Ourijal | Quartier Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok room, but helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent several nights at this Riad, and the first night upon arrival we took their airport pickup, which went really smoothly (but is much pricier than a taxi) and then had dinner at the Riad. The meal was excellent and the best tajine we had during our entire stay in Morocco.
I would only rate the room as an OK, as the window was small and only gave onto an interior courtyard (note, all Riads are similar) but we felt that there wasn't much air circulation and ended up sleeping with our bedroom door open, which isn't ideal. Then when we showered it made the room humid, which we didn't like. But other than this, the room was fine.
The staff were helpful and the owner is a guide, who provided numerous suggestions to us, and was available to take us into the mountains.
The Riad's location is ok, in the medina and about a 15 minute walk from the main square.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Riad Azenzer has nice, comfortable rooms, a good rooftop terrace, and a pleasant lobby. The hosts are very gracious and welcoming and made a real effort to welcome us and ensure that we had a good stay in Marrakech. But what we most enjoyed about this riad is that it is located in a real neighborhood, with a local market and a lively street life. There was a donkey depot a few blocks away where donkey carts lined up each morning to take on their loads of sand, gravel, block and other construction materials. The tanneries are within an easy walk, as are the souks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The riad was a lovely place to stay and made our trip to Marrakech complete! The staff were so friendly and made us feel at home. Even when I was unwell for the day, they were there to help. Mohammed was so attentive and always eager to hear our experiences and joke about the weather. The breakfasts were delicious (especially the pancakes) and we ate at the riad one evening and throughly enjoyed it. The location was great to be away from the tourist centre but not too far to walk to the square or any of the other cultural attractions. We also had a great day trip to the Ourika Valley with Said who took us on a great walk up the waterfalls and through some Berber villages. It was great to see the landscape of Morocco. We can't wait to come back and explore the country more and would definitely return to Riad Azenzer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We arrived very delayed at Marrakech Airport, but it had been arranged for us to be collected by a driver from the riad.
The riad is beautiful and the staff are amazingly helpful, Mohammed helped us to find our way around the city, whilst Siad organised a night visit in the High Atlas, and helped us to hire cars so that we could go down to the Sahara. They were extremely helpful with these trips lending us sleeping bags, allowing us to leave items at the riad, and organising another riad for us to stay in when we returned back from the desert. as riad azenzer was unfortunately full.
The roof terrace is beautiful and each day we stayed it was the perfect spot to eat breakfast and relax after a day shopping in the souks, which were only a 10 minute walk away once you found your bearings. There is a lovely restaurant nearby called the Foundouk or you could chose to eat in the Riad.
We enjoyed our stay, and left feeling like friends, as Siad helped us to find our booked RIad for our final evening - which was nothing compared to Riad Azenzer. When we go back to Marrakech we won't think twice about staying here again!

We must apologise Siad that this has taken us so long to do - but we eventually got there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I spent a great weekend in Marrakech with a friend, and we stayed at this wonderful riad. Throughout our stay, Said and Mohammed were very welcoming and helpful. We only ate dinner there once, but it was delicious. Also, Said took us on a nice place in the mountains. The rooms were nice and the place was a good break from the crazy that is Marrakech. Also, there is a nice little pool to cool off in. I definitely would return, and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

A lovely Riad. The staff couldnt be more helpful. Mohammed very courteous and attentive. Sleep quality variable...right next to speaker when call to prayer happening. Value for money excellent. Location means you get a taste of the real Marrakech. It is mainly residential...and down some alleys there are no westerners. You will get lost. We did every day and night...but just enjoy it. When in Rome...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Azenzer for two days at the end of September. This is a lovely riad in a great location being only 5 - 10 minutes walk from the main square and the souks. The staff are very helpful and the owners go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.They are happy to arrange anything you require like taxis, trips to the Atlas mountains, recommendations for restaurants etc,. Certainly it is a good idea to e-mail them to book a taxi transfer from the airport as this riad is hard to find! When we arrived we were given peppermint tea and a map of the medina with directions on how to get to the souks and main square plus some other main sights. This is invaluable because the medina is essentially a huge maze and if you have never been before you will get lost! In respect of this it is best to ask shopkeepers or other tourists for directions if struggling. Local young men will offer to guide you and even tell you they don't want money for it, however, they will then take you to places you never wanted to go such as the family shop for some pressure selling - beware!
Marrakech is a fascinating, busy assault on the senses. This can get a bit much at times but retreating to the riad is a great for escaping this and relaxing. An evening in the main square is a must and it is good to get there as the sun goes down and get a seat at one of the rooftop restaurants around the square for an outstanding view.
Overall we had a great time and would recommend the Riad Azenzer to anyone looking for value for money accommodation within the medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#210 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Riad Chennaoui
Riad Chennaoui
#334 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#175 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#234 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#271 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Shuttle Service...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Shana
Riad Dar Shana
#355 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azenzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azenzer

Address: 109 Derb Sebaat Ourijal | Quartier Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Azenzer 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Azenzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azenzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.