We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful retreat from the hustle and bustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tuscia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Tuscia to your Saves list
Dar Tuscia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Dior Jdad Zaouia Elabbessia Bad Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delightful retreat from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with two friends. The ladies running it , Asma and Naima, were delightful, full of good advice about shopping prices, where to go and how to get there. It was about 25 minutes walk from the central square and the souks, through interesting back lanes. The rooms were clean,with pristine bed linen.. We had a home cooked meal there, which was delicious, and I would definitely return there. Beautiful rooms full of character, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    44
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
54
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaerbeek, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent two nights in February 2013 in Dar Tuscia and we really enjoyed the place and the staff. The large room was very clean and beautiful, the breakfast was excellent and the reception was very good and warmful as well. The location, within the medina, is not so easy to find but the place is quiet and not too far away from the main square (about 20 min. by foot). We strongly recommend this hotel and in case we would go back to Marrakech, we would stay at Dar Tuscia again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First time in Maroc and Marrakech we choose Dar Tuscia for our stay and we found it a very lovely place. Staff are really helpful and nice - helped us to organize a trip to Ouarzazate. Everything was perfect and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and especially loved the roof terrace which was a great place to sit and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was enough to keep us going most of the day!

This rhiad is situated within the medina about a 20 minute walk (or short taxi ride) from Jemaa El Fna (main square) so plenty close enough to most tourist attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for approximately a week. Lovely place that is tucked away in a small alleyway, and despite this, it is not that difficult to find it. If you are cabbing from anywhere just tell the taxi driver to get to the Grand Taxi Stand outside the medina walls. You will have to tell him to drive all the way through the stand to the basketball court right at the end of the road. There will be an entrance into the medina and just keep bearing left (twice), and you will see a sign pointing you to Dar Tuscia in front of you. Follow the sign around the corner and it is the first door to your left. It is also easy to get to Jemaa El Fna from the hotel. Just head out to wall and follow it around till you get to Mohammed V Avenue.

Breakfast is simple, but this is a typical moroccan breakfast so don't expect too much from it. Rooms are cleaned everyday and the beds are comfortable. There is also a terrace where you can go to do a bit of star gazing at night.

We met the husband of one of the ladies running the hotel, Omar, while we were on our way to the square one day and he offered to bring us to a berber market where all the locals shop. He told us he bought spices for his family there and introduced the shop owner to us. We managed to buy lots of spices for much cheaper than what we could have gotten them in the souks for - and without bargaining for them too. The spices were also of much better quality, like saffron for example.

I'll definitely recommend this place because it's small and cosy and the ladies definitely made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

At first when we arrived to Marrakesh, they were supposed to send a cab to pick us up at the train station. But nobody did. Instead of that, we had to take a taxi by ourselves, where we spent 5 euros. That was not the problem. The problem was that the driver left us at some entrance of the medina and talked to some guy that was supposed to guide us tu the Riad. We had already been in some other places in Morocco so we knew what this guy was up to. He was sooo nice until we got to the door of the Dar Tuscia after walking for like ten minutes around really narrow streets and people looking at you. So we got there and he nocked at the door (which was locked and closed with a fence and nobody opened. So I was saying thank you to the guy and was going to give to him 40 dirhams, which is like 4 euros or $5 (he was getting well payed). Suddenly he started getting mad, saying that 40 dirhams were not money for him, that he deserved 200 dirhams (we are students who were traveling as backpackers, which means thats quite a lot of money for us). I was trying to wait until the door got unlocked... But it wasn't. Next, some guy came on the right, and some other in the left staring at us and the "Official Medina guide" as he wanted to be called was yelling and getting really angry. I could do nothing, because it was just me and my girlfriend and we didn't really knew even if we were in the real Dar Tuscia. So after this I gave him the money and just two seconds after the guys left really mad, the door opened!! And we were inside, the lady there said sorry but not really meaning it and then we had to wait almost one hour to get our room because it wasn't cleaned yet.
The thing I don't know is what we would do if we had to figure out by ourselves how to get out of there through the narrow streets, for example to get to Djemaa el Fna. Because we found there some other spanish travelers and they showed us the way, gave us tips and everything. Thing that I really doubt the Dar Tuscia staff would had done. The hotel is like 35-40 mins by walk to Djemaa El-Fna, which means it's reaaaly far away.
I have to say, that after one day, after we knew how to get everywhere, and got rid of the first impression of the hostel and the ubication, the Dar Tuscia was not that bad, it was even cozy and all that.
So I don't really know what to say... The breakfast was good, the ubication was not... The rooms were nice, but this place was runned by some women with their children and you could hear them cry sometimes at night. It's probably not the place to go if you are women traveling alone, or in a case like mine, where it was just me and my girlfriend. Even though we went through all of this we left with a better impression than we had at first

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have just returned from a week long stay at the Dar Tusica. It's an absolutely beautiful hotel, hidden away behind a large door down a very narrow street, typical of the Medina. The room was spacious with air con, lovely comfortable bed, en suite, safety deposit box, plenty of storage, and a seating area. Our window opened out onto the very charming courtyard where we had breakfast. Breakfast was simple yet very tasty, and perfectly ideal for the heat- coffee, juice, pastries, morroccan bread and pancakes- yum! Just be warned- you WILL get lost in the medina but this is part of the fun and charm of Marrakech. There are always helpful locals at hand, and for a small fee a local teenager will take you direct to your door. The Dar Tuscia was approximately a 20 to 30 minute walk to the main square, but we were taking it slow because of the blistering heat of July and August! If you want a taxi, you will have to walk approximately 5 to 10 mins to the Medina wall to the taxi rank- the streets are too narrow for taxi's to get down. All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic time in this chaotic, bustling city. I would reccommend the Dar Tuscia for a quiet stay away from the busy crowds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tuscia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tuscia

Address: 91 Dior Jdad Zaouia Elabbessia Bad Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Tuscia 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Tuscia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tuscia Marrakech
Dar Tuscia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tuscia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.