We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tuscia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Tuscia to your Saves list
Dar Tuscia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Dior Jdad Zaouia Elabbessia Bad Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for approximately a week. Lovely place that is tucked away in a small alleyway, and despite this, it is not that difficult to find it. If you are cabbing from anywhere just tell the taxi driver to get to the Grand Taxi Stand outside the medina walls. You will have to tell him to drive all the way through the stand to the basketball court right at the end of the road. There will be an entrance into the medina and just keep bearing left (twice), and you will see a sign pointing you to Dar Tuscia in front of you. Follow the sign around the corner and it is the first door to your left. It is also easy to get to Jemaa El Fna from the hotel. Just head out to wall and follow it around till you get to Mohammed V Avenue.

Breakfast is simple, but this is a typical moroccan breakfast so don't expect too much from it. Rooms are cleaned everyday and the beds are comfortable. There is also a terrace where you can go to do a bit of star gazing at night.

We met the husband of one of the ladies running the hotel, Omar, while we were on our way to the square one day and he offered to bring us to a berber market where all the locals shop. He told us he bought spices for his family there and introduced the shop owner to us. We managed to buy lots of spices for much cheaper than what we could have gotten them in the souks for - and without bargaining for them too. The spices were also of much better quality, like saffron for example.

I'll definitely recommend this place because it's small and cosy and the ladies definitely made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    44
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
54
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

At first when we arrived to Marrakesh, they were supposed to send a cab to pick us up at the train station. But nobody did. Instead of that, we had to take a taxi by ourselves, where we spent 5 euros. That was not the problem. The problem was that the driver left us at some entrance of the medina and talked to some guy that was supposed to guide us tu the Riad. We had already been in some other places in Morocco so we knew what this guy was up to. He was sooo nice until we got to the door of the Dar Tuscia after walking for like ten minutes around really narrow streets and people looking at you. So we got there and he nocked at the door (which was locked and closed with a fence and nobody opened. So I was saying thank you to the guy and was going to give to him 40 dirhams, which is like 4 euros or $5 (he was getting well payed). Suddenly he started getting mad, saying that 40 dirhams were not money for him, that he deserved 200 dirhams (we are students who were traveling as backpackers, which means thats quite a lot of money for us). I was trying to wait until the door got unlocked... But it wasn't. Next, some guy came on the right, and some other in the left staring at us and the "Official Medina guide" as he wanted to be called was yelling and getting really angry. I could do nothing, because it was just me and my girlfriend and we didn't really knew even if we were in the real Dar Tuscia. So after this I gave him the money and just two seconds after the guys left really mad, the door opened!! And we were inside, the lady there said sorry but not really meaning it and then we had to wait almost one hour to get our room because it wasn't cleaned yet.
The thing I don't know is what we would do if we had to figure out by ourselves how to get out of there through the narrow streets, for example to get to Djemaa el Fna. Because we found there some other spanish travelers and they showed us the way, gave us tips and everything. Thing that I really doubt the Dar Tuscia staff would had done. The hotel is like 35-40 mins by walk to Djemaa El-Fna, which means it's reaaaly far away.
I have to say, that after one day, after we knew how to get everywhere, and got rid of the first impression of the hostel and the ubication, the Dar Tuscia was not that bad, it was even cozy and all that.
So I don't really know what to say... The breakfast was good, the ubication was not... The rooms were nice, but this place was runned by some women with their children and you could hear them cry sometimes at night. It's probably not the place to go if you are women traveling alone, or in a case like mine, where it was just me and my girlfriend. Even though we went through all of this we left with a better impression than we had at first

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have just returned from a week long stay at the Dar Tusica. It's an absolutely beautiful hotel, hidden away behind a large door down a very narrow street, typical of the Medina. The room was spacious with air con, lovely comfortable bed, en suite, safety deposit box, plenty of storage, and a seating area. Our window opened out onto the very charming courtyard where we had breakfast. Breakfast was simple yet very tasty, and perfectly ideal for the heat- coffee, juice, pastries, morroccan bread and pancakes- yum! Just be warned- you WILL get lost in the medina but this is part of the fun and charm of Marrakech. There are always helpful locals at hand, and for a small fee a local teenager will take you direct to your door. The Dar Tuscia was approximately a 20 to 30 minute walk to the main square, but we were taking it slow because of the blistering heat of July and August! If you want a taxi, you will have to walk approximately 5 to 10 mins to the Medina wall to the taxi rank- the streets are too narrow for taxi's to get down. All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic time in this chaotic, bustling city. I would reccommend the Dar Tuscia for a quiet stay away from the busy crowds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Tucked into a quiet alley, this hotel is stunning. Good sized rooms surround a very elegant courtyard where breakfast is provided. The room we had was very comfortable with sitting area and lockable wardrobe. Lots of hot solar heated water. Roof terrace is partly shaded and is a nice escape from the touts of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My friend and I (2 girls) visited and spent 4 nights in Marrakech. Beautiful and clean and well maintained little Riad located just on the outskirt of the old medina. Lovely host and friendly Riad staffs.Got Wifi service. Each room is different, but gives a sense of traditional Moroccan style to guest. Breakfast was simple croissant/ bread& jam/ coffee or mint tea.

We decided to catch the airport bus service just outside the airport terminal. (There is only one bus service to and from airport and Jemaa el Fna). Cost 50 or 70DM single/ return- takes 30mins into city centre. Taxi from Jemaa el Fna to the Riad cost 70DM (the driver said it is because we are hiring taxi after 10pm- evening fare cost more). If the taxi driver said he doesn't know where Riad Dar Tuscia is, just say to him it is near Grand Taxi by the Bus& Train terminal.
However, just to let you know that they will stop by the old medina wall where there is a small basketball court for the locals. You will need to walk through the old medina arch into alley way, bare left you walk through the old medina arch, go down a mini slope, you will some local corner shops on your right, as you get to the main courtyard. Turn left and you should see 'Dar Tuscia' on the arch way wall in front of you. Turn right and it is around the corner. First metal gate/door on your left.

We joined an excursion on our second day to Orkia Valley to visit 2 of the seven waterfalls. It was cheaper booking through the Raid. The host explained that the tour company recommended by our booking agency usually visits the Raid 1-2 day after your arrival to promote their excision packages, if you are not interested, there're a lot of excursion companies out by Jemaa el Fna, they are dearer in price. But definitely see the 'real deal' of Marrakech! don't miss out the rural scenery, stunning views and landscape.

Advice if you are planning to join any excursion.Do check and ask for the price or any thing extras for the guided tour around where you are visiting. Prior arrival to your destination.

We found out that our excursion package meant to only include the driver and transport to Orkia valley. The tour guide mentioned at the end of the tour that he needs to charge us extra for being our tour guide and also because he asked us if we want to climb up to see the second waterfall. We managed to deal with it in a civilized way. Luckily, we had 3 other french travellers who negotiated with the tour guide..... he was making such a big fuss and raised his voice in front of other tourist! At the end, the driver for involved and pretend that he forgot to ask if we want a tour guide which he said he was suppose to ask us on route to Orika Valley. So he said he and his company with deal with the tour guide. To be honest, we sensed that it was more like a set up between the driver and tour guide so they can earn more from tourist. Of course, no tip was left for them.


We got some hassel from local young boys and men when we explored the old medina, maybe because we are 2 female travellers. Especially during the evening, our advice for all the ladies it to say 'la shokran' (which mean no thanks) and walk away quickly! It worked on us 8/10 times for us. Other than that, all the locals are very friendly and helpful. We found that there are alot of people adult as well as children begging around the main square. We offered them food and drinks rather than money. I saw some tourist giving out toys for the young ones. They seems to appreciate any offering. .

If you need to ask for direction, especially in the souks, ask people in uniform/ hotel staff or shop owners. We found that locals walking around the souks will offer your help, pretend to be your guide, but will say to you 'I'm not a tour guide, I live around here, I know where this place is, I will take you', afterward, they will demand for you to pay for their guide and service. Just to rip tourist off more!

Bottle of 1.5L mineral water cost around 6DM from the local corner shops. Don't get rip off as they may charge extra when they see you are a tourist! 10DM in the city centre.

Other recommendation:
Wear comfortable footwear- rocky, uneven roads, be prepare if you wear sandles to return to your Riad/ accomdation with sandy dirty feet! Wet wipes and wet towels! We got hats, cost around DM 25 for a decant material hats, you can get one as cheap as DM10! Remember, always bargain them down in the souks!

Room Tip: All guest rooms are on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leominster, herefordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My friend and i have just retuned from a 5 day holiday staying at Dar Tuscia which is in the Medina. We had a taxi arranged by the riad from the airport which was excellent as we arrived at night and would not have found it. It is a maze of alleyways but we did get to know the route and we did walk them during the day. Fabulous accommodation, very clean and basic. The staff were brilliant and organised guides and taxis for us which was great. I would recommend this and also a taxi to and from the door. We had a frightening experience one night when we were dropped at the wrong entrance and got lost amongst the alleyways. Luckily we made our way back to the main road and persuaded a shop owner to walk us home. We had got quite a following by then and demands were made for money. Our riad got rid of them at the door but it was not pleasant. I would recommend Dar Tuscia and the guide that they fond for us and we only wish we had time to do the Atlas mountains aswell. We would return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, a twin one which we thought was the best room after looking into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was an excellent place to stay for the week As it is within the walls of the Medina you are not quite sure at first, what's behind the iron grill and wooden door you wonder. No need to worry, wonderful hosts catering for many nationalities and seemingly comfortable with all. After the horns blaring, market stallers shouting, mo-peds backfiring, scooters roaring and just the general big city noise of Marrakech, to retreat here, make your way upstairs to a seat in the sun where the noise is minimal or into your room where there is not a sound is magic.Did not envy those staying in big posh hotels outwith the walls one bit, you can get that anywhere - Dar Tuscia and I am sure most Riads are real.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar because they are built around the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tuscia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tuscia

Address: 91 Dior Jdad Zaouia Elabbessia Bad Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Tuscia 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Tuscia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tuscia Marrakech
Dar Tuscia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tuscia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.