We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing break at this riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Karama to your Saves list
Riad Al Karama
119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #91 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
somewhere near Wales.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another amazing break at this riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was our second stay in the wonderful Riad Al Karama in Marrakech.
Once again we hired the entire riad (for 5 nights) for an extended week end break with friends. Due to the exclusivity of our booking (which is well worth doing) we were made to feel like the riad was our own home. The owners, Michel & Eric visited each day to make sure all was well & always with a friendly smile and a joke or two - albeit in French! The female staff in the riad once again were superb, with Maryiam preparing a beautiful dinner for us on arrival and both with smiles to light up an overcast Moroccan morning (which we had most days!). Aziz the night manager, met us from the riad taxi, was very welcoming and made us feel safe throughout our stay.

We love the feel of this riad - it is relaxing and warm. The riad is of a traditional style and has been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. The beds are comfortable and the showers powerful and hot! Its location is fantastic - a few minutes walk through the busy alleys and streets to the main square in Marrakech. We cannot recommend this riad highly enough. Should we revisit Marrakech in the future, we will definitely return to this 'home from home'.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    74
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
212
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This riad is beautifully restored in a very Moroccan style. The owner of the riad is French and is very helpful and friendly. His French is great (obviously), and his English is good enough to get transactions done. The breakfast served was nice---yogurt, bread, pudding, fresh orange juice, and coffee. And the veranda atop the riad is nicely designed, as well.

The bed was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was nice, too. This is no-frills----you have to bring your own shampoo, soap, etc. They did provide a complimentary bottle of water for each guest.

I didn't like that the riad is several streets off the medina/shopping areas. It's not terribly far, but to get there, you have to go down a few "alleys," which are actually Moroccan neighborhoods. To a Moroccan: no problem, but to a Westerner: it may seem a little scary, especially at first and then at night when there is not a ton of light. Moroccan neighborhoods are long alley-like streets surrounded by tall buildings. Along the buildings are doors---that's it, nothing else---no "curb appeal" with gardens or yards, so it feels very sterile. We had to "hire" a local boy to show us how to get back to our riad and when I gave him 30 MAD (about $3.50), he didn't think that was enough. By the time we got to the riad, three boys had joined in, and they all wanted to be paid.

There are no keys to the riad's main door nor to its individual rooms, but there's always a member of staff in the building. So, to get into the riad, you have to knock and wait to be let in. Individual rooms are left open, but I felt safe leaving my things since there are so few rooms and so few guests at one time anyway.

The bathroom I had didn't have a window that opens into the outside air; rather, it opens up into a central open space/courtyard in the riad (this is typical in riads, though). That's tricky when you need to use the toilet because you can hear every sound from the central open space/courtyard. So, I turned the shower on while I went to the toilet so the people sitting in the courtyard couldn't hear me. When the fountain is on in the courtyard, this isn't a problem, but staff turns it off at night.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, especially a male friend or a woman traveling with men. For a single woman, probably not, and for women traveling together, maybe. Because Morocco is a dominantly Muslim country, unless the women are confident with Morocco-style neighborhoods, it can be tricky to navigate to. I wouldn't recommend this riad for young families because it's so easy to hear noise. Although they didn't travel with me on this trip, I have several small children that I often travel with and would worry about them being too loud for the other guests in this setting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We have been to Al Karama for the second time now and we feel at home when we enter the door of this splendid Riad. Very nice staff and owner who are very helpfull.
The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated in real moroccan style.There is also
a roofterrace where you can eat your splendid breakfast.The location of the riad is
great, a few minutes walk from the Djema el Fna square and from the souks,a great
location to discover teh medina of Marrakech!! We definatey be back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Beautiful place right in the heart of the old town. Hakeem and Maryiam are the loveliest and most helpful hotel staff in the world. This is a very clean, friendly and romantic place; I loved the terrace top and will definitely be going there again if I find myself in Marrakech. Thank you for an amazing four days. Abid And Raimonda

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Riad Al Karama is centrally located in the Medina, minutes from the main square, souks and the hustle and bustle that is quintessentially Marrakech. Would definately recommend to other travellers.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Riad Al Karama is a lovely traditional Moroccan house, beautifully restored and decorated. My friends and I stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed the hospitality of the owner and the staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated with traditional wares and the beds are very comfortable. Coming into the riad after a day in the souks is like stepping into a cool and peaceful oasis. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, where all the guests sit around the same table, exchanging stories and travel tips. Traditional breakfast was a bit too sweet for us and when we asked for some savoury food we were served a lovely tomato omelette with lots of cumin the following morning. Michel, the owner, gave us maps of the city and pointed out some good places to eat, inexpensive and clean. He came up to the rooftop terrace every morning to greet his guests and you really felt like you were in a home. It's great not to have to carry keys with you and just knock on the door when you get there. The mint tea on request is lovely, often served with small, traditional sweets and always with a smile. And the sunsets from the rooftop terrace something not to be missed. The location is also great, just a short walk to the main square. The airport pick up is well worth it too, it could be hard to find if you'd never been there before. I stayed downstairs next to the kitchen and the first morning I was waken up quite early with breakfast preparations, but I slept through it all the following mornings. I can recomend this riad to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Staying in Riad Al Karama really was one of the main highlights of my Marrakesh trip. We were two twenty-something girls staying for 4 nights, our first visit to Morocco. We were met at the airport late Sunday night- I definitely recommend paying the 15euro (or 20euro at night) transfer to the riad as it would be hard to find alone. Not that it is in a dodgy location, just that the windy narrow streets are not the easiest to navigate in the dark! The location is in fact ideal, about a 5 minute walk from the main square.

The riad itself is gorgeous, the furnishings, decor, colours, courtyard, roof terrace...it is really lovely. There are only 5 rooms so it feels really intimate and peaceful. The staff are great, helpful, friendly...you get the impression they want you to have the best possible stay. The breakfast is amazing...pancakes, juice, fruit, bread, cake, yoghurt...all served on the beautiful terrace! It is served between 9 and 12...another way they make sure you enjoy your trip by imposing no restrictions. You come and go as you please, knowing the staff will welcome you on arrival and wish you a 'bonne journee' on leaving (you don't have a key to the riad, they just let you in). The mint tea on demand is great too!

In a city like Marrakesh, with all the hustle and bustle it was fantastic to have the Riad al Karama to come back to to chill out. Definitely will recommend this to everyone, lovely place, lovely service. Really made our trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Karama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.