We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the reasons I would like to visit Morocco again :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Karama to your Saves list
Riad Al Karama
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the reasons I would like to visit Morocco again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in Riad Al Karama with my sister for three days - and we enjoyed every moment of it! We felt really safe and welcome, even while sleeping with open doors because of the heat, and leaving the door open, so the staff can clean our room while we were away - which they did every day, and properly. The breakfast on the roof (and talking to the other guests) was a very nice experience, and of course wondering in the medina (just 5 minutes walk from the riad), too. Marrakech is my most favorite city, and I hope I can return someday - and of course, to Riad Al Karama also!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a small, but nice room for decent price, choose the Coriander room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous. Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'avoir apprécié cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We planned to stay only one night in this beautiful riad but after trying out a few others we came back and finished our vacation here. Wonderful atmosphere, spotlessly clean, very central and run by Michel and his welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms are simple but beautiful and the service leaves nothing to wish for. Breakfast is nice and generous. Definitely the place we will stay at next time we visit Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms in the bottom floor has no AC but is naturally cooled anyway. Second floor rooms have AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Staffan_Weigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous 2 et ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'apprécier cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had very little time lift of our 2-weeks stay in Marocco as we booked for 3 nights in Riad Al Karama, but we still decided to stay longer as we truly loved the place. Hard to find first, but no problem afterwards. 5 min from the main square Djemaa el Fnaa, in the medina - near all the shops, main sight of Marrakesh. Meticulously clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and just can´t describe the breakfast on the rooftop - really enjoyed our stay! Would recommend to stay if you want unexeptional service for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Marrakech and the first time we have stayed in a riad to which we would really like to return.It is beautifully decorated,clean and comfortable,very central in the Medina, but quiet and peaceful.The very efficient airport transfer and the delicious meal on our first evening took all the hassle out of our arrival and was a huge plus,as well as being extremely good value. The staff were delightful,always helpful,and the breakfasts were very good. The roof terrace is a lovely relaxing place to sit and prepare yourself for the next exciting foray into the chaos of Marrakech. Thank you,Michel,for a lovely stay,and we hope you found the whisky.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thanks tripadvisor for the wonderful recommendation of this riad! My boyfriend and I spent three nights here and despite even having read the glowing reviews before coming we were still quite blown away by how beautifully our room was. The riad is a nice, quiet retreat from the street and the roof terrace is lovely. On top of that, we were picked up from the airport smoothly and right on time and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. On our first night we were served a delicious traditional Moroccan dinner on the rooftop and throughout our stay the breakfasts were great and ample.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous 2 et ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous : votre bonne humeur, votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'avoir apprécié cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurim, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thanks Tripadvisors reviewes I expect very nice riad, but even so I was surprised. Moreover owner and staff are friendly and helpful, they serve delicious breakfasts, it´s just 5minutes from Djemaa El Fna, in hot clima (about 40 degrees) still pleasantly... so what we can wish more ?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Make sure you stay at Michel's Riad when discovering Marrakesh and its surroundings - we stayed three nights and had a great time.
- Rate included airport pick-up and a delicious dinner
- Michel organised a daytrip to 3 mountain valleys for us w/ a dedicated driver which was picturesque and very insightful
- The Riad is in the middle of the historic centre w/ lots of winding alleys and hidden corners, super atmospheric

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Merci aussi à vous, Sara et Thomas, d'avoir choisi le Riad Al Karama pour vos vacances à Marrakech.
Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir participé à la réussite de votre séjour.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous assurons de toute notre sympathie :
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#32 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#204 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Perle du Sud
Riad Perle du Sud
#140 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Karama 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing