We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Riad, bien situé et bons service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Karama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Al Karama
119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #104 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Bon Riad, bien situé et bons service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Le Riad est idéalement situé, c'est-à-dire pas trop loin de la place Jamaa el Fna, ni trop près de la place (car trop bruyant). On a beaucoup apprécié l'accueil et le service du riad. Michel (le patron) nous a donné d'excellents conseils sur les restaurants sur Marrakech. Je vous recommande vivement ce riad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    66
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
186
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Marrakesh is our first planned desitnation in Morocco after a long flight from Singapore. The abundence of date trees and pink colour houses of Marrakesh is a big feast to our eye after the 4 hours train journal from Casablanca airport to Marrakesh with dry and dull scenary. The neatly decorated Raid Al Karama is a good introduction of Marrakesh raid architecture to us as a first comer to Morroco.

We took a taxi to Djemaa el-Fna (the famous square in Marrakesh) from train station. Note - The distance from train station to Djemaa el-Fna is short. You must ask the driver to set the meter. It takes about 20 to 30 dirhams. We forgot about this and we were charged for 50 dirhams.

To go to Raid Al Karama from Djemaa el-Fna, we walk to Cafe de France, take the street Dabachi, then the 5th street on the right (the Derb Jdid), then left after the small tunnel, it is at number 119. It is not difficult to find and it is conveniently located. Someone may offer to take you to the riad. It is okay as long as you negotiate the price before hand. They will normally say their service is free but majority of them (98% based on our experience of our 2 weeks trip in Morocco) are not so be aware of this.

The raid is not big but it includes everything you need and to view. There is a nice terrace on top over looking the old town of Marrakesh where you have your breakfast and tea there. The centre of the raid is a resting place (courtyard) with a small fountain, some sofa in red and some green plants (with a small banana tree). The combination of green and red colour is good. The environment is quiet and comfortable. There is also a beautiful dining hall (see photo) where you can have breakfast if terrace is too cold.

The owner Michel is helpful. We were treated some biscults with mint tea at the terrace when we arrived in the late afternoon. Michel has spent some times with us to explain about how to explore Marrakesh by foot. We found Raid Al-Karama is actually near (walking distance) to a number of main sites like Bahia Palace, Badi Palace and Ali Ben Youssef Merdersa. Aziz, one of the staff is very friendly and helpful too. We chated with him sometimes and this has added the personal touch of Raid Al-Karama. There is one morning we need to leave Marrakesh early. Aziz is very kind to extend his help to prepare some simple breakfast for us in short notice.

Overall, we like the place and the people. If you are looking for a nice and comfort raid with Morrocon interior, small enough to have personal touch, with good location near to Djemaa el-Fna, affordable rate - Al Karama is the choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Arrived at Riad around 7am from a long journey from Fes and was greeted with a smile by Aziz a staff member. He was great in providing a place to relax and provided blankets as the riad was fully occupied.
About an hour later another staff member arrived (Miriam). She stopped in front of me and glared as if we were intruders and were unwelcome. She then went on to raising her voice at Aziz, where you could see he was embarrassed by her outrage.
We later met the owner Michel who was welcoming and informed us our room would be available at 12pm which we were fine with.
We went for a walk and returned to relax on the terrace.
At 12.30pm I asked Miriam when our room would be available with her replying in 2 hrs. She made it clear she was not in a hurry to have our room ready. We had to shower in a room that wasn't cleaned. We spoke to the owner later that afternoon who was concerned but replied its Moroccan culture which is not the case. He offered appetisers for the inconvenience but added he would appreciate it if we didnt review the Riad. Upon our departure the next morning, Miriam did not bother in thanking us for our stay and just glared. Apart from the location, there is not much to this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
I am not at all agree with this comment. What happened? A glance of our customers used Myriam ... arrived at 7am, and we have a free breakfast and blankets. When I went to lunch 12 am, customers wanted absolutely to check in at 12:30 p.m., while the previous guests had gone to 12 pm. Myriam has refused, since the room was not ready and in general they are given only from 14h ... that's why our clients have taken a shower in a room that had not been cleaned. Miriam is my employee since the opening of Riad and I have had nothing but compliments on it. I tried to explain to customers and can say they have worked hard on Miriam and showed a lot of intolerance. I really regret this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere near Wales.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Another relaxing & comfortable stay in Riad al Karama. The staff are totally competent and very caring assisting us with phone calls in Arabic to a lesson or two in darija! Great breakfasts, comfy bed, lovely showers. Great home from home for us!

Room Tip: No swimming pool! For super luxury book the Paprika suite. Canelle bedroom has a very large shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Alberto & Juanma, we arrived to the riad my birthday, my first impression was really good excellent clean and gentle people from the workers of riad to the owners Michelle and Eric very nice persons.... we came back in the night after a fantastic walk to place Jamal Fna that is really close to the riad... and my surprise the put a present and a greeting card into my room wishing me happy birthday, things like this make it deserve the pity go to riad al karama... everything was clean, easy the breaksfast was excellent the treat of eveyone was amazing...thank you for a great visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

From the very first email, the service I experienced from Riad Al Karama was the very best!! Michel, Aziz and everyone at the Riad were very helpful, welcoming, and friendly - and this was much appreciated as it was the first time I had visited Morocco.
Their insights and advice on the area was invaluable and I was very grateful for Michel's help in organising airport transfers and also for providing me with an excellent map and directions to the sights, restaurants and services. All of this really made my time in Marrakech a wonderful experience!
The Riad's gorgeous rooftop terrace is a haven and the perfect setting for delicious Moroccan meals (thank you Mariem!) and for chatting over the day's adventures. My room was perfect - beautifully decorated, very well kept and a fantastic authentic Riad experience!
The location is great as it is very close to the market place and souks as well as being within walking distance to all of the sights.
I couldn't have asked for more. 10 out of 10 - Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The riad Al Karama offers to its hosts a great reception, hospitality and professionalism, with a staff headed by Michel. It is situated in the center of Marrakech, very close to the square Jmaa el Fna. The riad is fantastic, beautiful, beautifully restored and very comfortable, and breakfast was great every day, varied and delcious. It has different rooms with its own bathroom and with a nice decoration, wich care all de details. And Michel offers you very good advises, recomendations and services. For us was EXCELENT!
When we return to Marrakech repeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Karama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.