We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Al Karama...nice people better Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Karama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Al Karama
119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #102 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
alicante
1 review
“Riad Al Karama...nice people better Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Alberto & Juanma, we arrived to the riad my birthday, my first impression was really good excellent clean and gentle people from the workers of riad to the owners Michelle and Eric very nice persons.... we came back in the night after a fantastic walk to place Jamal Fna that is really close to the riad... and my surprise the put a present and a greeting card into my room wishing me happy birthday, things like this make it deserve the pity go to riad al karama... everything was clean, easy the breaksfast was excellent the treat of eveyone was amazing...thank you for a great visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    72
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
200
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

From the very first email, the service I experienced from Riad Al Karama was the very best!! Michel, Aziz and everyone at the Riad were very helpful, welcoming, and friendly - and this was much appreciated as it was the first time I had visited Morocco.
Their insights and advice on the area was invaluable and I was very grateful for Michel's help in organising airport transfers and also for providing me with an excellent map and directions to the sights, restaurants and services. All of this really made my time in Marrakech a wonderful experience!
The Riad's gorgeous rooftop terrace is a haven and the perfect setting for delicious Moroccan meals (thank you Mariem!) and for chatting over the day's adventures. My room was perfect - beautifully decorated, very well kept and a fantastic authentic Riad experience!
The location is great as it is very close to the market place and souks as well as being within walking distance to all of the sights.
I couldn't have asked for more. 10 out of 10 - Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The riad Al Karama offers to its hosts a great reception, hospitality and professionalism, with a staff headed by Michel. It is situated in the center of Marrakech, very close to the square Jmaa el Fna. The riad is fantastic, beautiful, beautifully restored and very comfortable, and breakfast was great every day, varied and delcious. It has different rooms with its own bathroom and with a nice decoration, wich care all de details. And Michel offers you very good advises, recomendations and services. For us was EXCELENT!
When we return to Marrakech repeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere near Wales.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My third stay at this Riad - consistently high standards of service and cleanliness. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Michel & Eric or the staff who attended to everything for us with kindness and a smile! We were lucky with the weather this trip so able to spend more time on the roof terrace and enjoy the great breakfasts up there too.
An amazing short break in the city and in a very beautiful and relaxing riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this Riad on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. It is small but perfectly formed - a slice of Marrakesh as you imagine it should be. The decor is lovely - all carved wooden doors, beautiful rugs and lamps, gold, greens and reds. The staff were wonderful - the best food we had all weekend was Meriams lemon chicken which was part of a three course lunch we had prebooked and was waiting for us shortly after we arrived.
The staff were constantly cleaning and always cheerful and welcoming - can't say enough good things about them. As the city is not awash with bars we took some duty free drinks with us and they were happy to bring ice and glasses up to the terrace each evening so we could have a sundowner or two. It is possible that they can arrange drinks but we didn't ask so can’t be sure about that. The riad has only 5 rooms and we were in four of them so it felt like we were in our own private house for most of the time.
The Riad is very close to the Jemaa El Fna but it is still possible to lose you bearings at first so make sure you have some small change or a supply of pens and the local kids will guide you back. Actually, they will guide you back whether you want them to or not but they are very sweet.
The rooms are all en-suite and my shower was always hot and had good water pressure. You will need to take your own shampoo and hair dryer but large bath towels are provided. You will need a travel adapter as the plugs are two pin.
The weather was perfect - sunny and warm but not baking hot. We could doze on the sun beds on the terrace but didn't get sticky and exhausted in the heat while wandering around the town. Breakfast was served on the terrace at whatever time you requested. It was continental and varied slightly each day. Do look out for Josephine the tortoise who lives up there.
There is a row of Banks, most with cash machines just off the Jemma el Fna so getting cash is easy. Obviously as you are in a city there a thousand and one places to eat.
There are so many things to do around the city but I can recommend a walk through the Yves St Laurent gardens (cool, shady & beautiful) followed by a BLT lunch & cocktail on the terrace at La Mamounia (extravagant but worth it).
All in all we found the Riad to be well positioned, priced and appointed – also very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Excellent location in a quiet authentic area of Marrakech (medina), a few steps from the main place Jema El Fna.

Great value for money

Spacious and clean rooms with a common rooftop terrace

Staff are very gentle and very helpfull

if we had to go back to Marrekech, for sure this is the place we will be

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Cozy and charming riad managed by friendly and helpful staff. It is on a quiet place on a walking distance from the Medina. We enjoyed a large and yummy breakfast on the terrace and tea in the afternoon. We recommend the lift arranged by the riad from and to the airport at a fair price. We stayed four nights and made a day trip to Essaouira also organized by the riad. The staff was very welcoming and quite flexible with our time table and definitely made our trip more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Karama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.