We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought to a Different Riad....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Lyna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Lyna to your Saves list
Riad Dar Lyna
48 derb El Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #771 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brought to a Different Riad....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I confirmed my reservation at Riad la Caleche. When I arrived, the gentleman called someone else who came to meet me and bring me to another Riad, which they said was theirs also. It was Riad Oulaya, was closer to the main market square and absolutely gorgeous. Even though it was very close to the noisy square, it was quiet, serene, clean, had two terraces off my room and a basic continental breakfast. It was painted in beautiful colors as well. Once I came out the door, it was a two minute walk to the town square, which is crowded, noisy and full of energy.
The bad news- my room had two beds. I slept in one and woke up covered with bites. I slept in the other and was fine. I brought it to the managers attention and they offered to switch my room immediately, and threw away the mattress. What more could I ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taitu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Certainly not without hiccups, this riad was comfortable and pleasant. Outstanding service. Clean. Very inexpensive. Not a lap of luxury, but complete with kitchen that's available for guests. Great place to chill out in the evenings and detox from the souk vendors. Shisha in the evenings if you'd like. You can even have dinner there most nights.

Only downside is that the Athaan is not far and woke me up every morning. Same with a local rooster, which continued to crow for hours. Despite the lack of sleep, it really gave it a local and authentic feel.

Hassan and Yahya were great. Big thanks to them.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the top floor or the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A very nice place in the middle of the Medina where we stayed with my wife.
A good price/quality with a helpful staff.
They organised our transfer from the airport to the riad, and welcome us in the middle of the night.
We'll come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

good things; Its a very nice and cozy house, a real Riad. the staff is very friendly and helpful, you can use the kitchen if you want to cook something. The breakfast is very simple nothing fancy and depending how many days you are staying it gets a bit boring. It's close to the main square and you walk through the souq (arabic market) so its nice you can see everything, Always someone to answer the door (I've heard people complaining about other Riads).

Bad things: It is not very easy to find, if you are coming with a lot of luggage or at night I DO recommend to request an airport or train station pick up, it's a bit overpriced, but they know the way so you don't get lost. INTERNET not all the rooms have a good reception, we had to go downstairs to use it. and the last thing is... I've send a lot of emails to the owners and they almost never replied (I had to call a couple of times). they try to send you to another Riad cause I think they own 3 or 4, but if you want to stay in this one you have to talk to them to make sure they won't overbook your room.

But that is it I do recommended, mainly if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask the for the room with good internet reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patyttafg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Don't be put off by the random side alley and the entrance- this riad is super friendly and in a good location. The 2 owners couldn't do enough to make sure we had a lovely stay. Bathrooms are really big and clean. Air con and heating provided. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthchristina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived at the Riad well past midnight from the train station, and the hostel owner met us on a main square and walked us to the hostel. Courtyard and lobby area are absolutely beautiful. We instantly wished we could stay longer. The bathroom blew us away-- double sink, tub, roomy shower-- we agreed it was nicer than most American single family homes. Bedroom was spacious as well, though plug points are limited. In the morning, hostel owner woke up extra early to arrange a special breakfast before our tour was scheduled to leave and personally spoke to our guide to give him directions to the hostel. Fantastic experience overall

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hospitality and morocan design! You literally feel like home! Listen and trust the staffs recommendations! Remember to email and information staff on your exact arrival time. They will arrange your transfer from the airport to the door riad's for the right price! We do recommend and hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliverjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Caleche
Riad La Caleche
#597 of 1,148 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#164 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Lyna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Lyna

Address: 48 derb El Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #771 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb charming guesthouse with pool available all the time, spa with hammam and massage room (on request and with extra charge). 4 Double or twin bedrooms and one suite for 3 or 4 persons. Bathroom fully equipped (towels, toiletries, hair dryer, soap), air conditioner (hot/cold), closets. Traditional and good taste decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Lyna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing