We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech design hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Villa Wenge to your Saves list
Riad Villa Wenge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Marrakech design hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Super Riad - modern styling with a Moroccan flavour. Roof top was excellent and a great way to unwind after a long day sight seeing and in the souks. Location is fantastic - 10 minutes to the bustle of Jemaa El Fna, the souks and the spice market even less. Even with the proximity to these noisy destinations, once you were on the side street and at the Riad it was all quiet, you could almost believe you weren't in Marrakech! Villa Wenge helped make our Marrakech experience all the more memorable. Remember to practice your French, and you will get the most out of the hotel staff, even though we were able to make do pretty easily in English and some bumbling primary school French.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    72
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
108
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I first discovered Villa Venge when I met up with my friend who'd made a random booking there in June 2009. I was so impressed I decided to stay in July. It's literally five minutes walk from the hustle of the main square yet is remarkably quiet - which is a key factor in Marrakech. It's beautifully decorated using a combination of local and on-trend European techniques - and each bedroom has a different theme. The beds are so comfortable with lovely crisp cotton sheets and each room has TV - and air-con that a) works and b) doesn't require shouting above. Another plus - is that the showers are great - powerful with instant hot water - a rarity in many hotels in Marrakech. If you have the time check out the attention to detail - the only thing I could find that was vaguely not quite right (and this is being seriously picky) are the covers for the beds on the roof terrace - which are white synthetic towelling - not brilliant for a stinking hot day - and must need cleaning every ten minutes but hey - reclining beneath the sail-cloth effect drapes amidst the well-tended pot plants - you wouldn't really notice. The staff are also brilliant - really polite and friendly - and react well to similarly mannered guests.
Foodwise - unfortunately I missed the dinner order - which must be placed before lunchtime so the chef can buy in the ingredients - but judging from the menu it looks pretty tasty. Breakfast is European - bread, pancakes, confiture, orange juice - and loads of really good coffee - all immaculately presented - even down to the teeny bowls and spoons for the confiture. But not so posh that you're afraid to eat it.
I have to say that the beer is a tad expensive - 4 euros for a 33cl can - which I didn't bother to find out until after I'd drunk 3! I realise that there's always a mark-up on booze - but that's just a bit steep.
But otherwise it's fab. I'd definitely recommend Villa Wenge - and am going to stay there again with a friend in November this year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Very nice place but very expensive for what it is we found many better Riad that offer a lot more near by for our next trip

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

i had wonderful time in Marrakech.. riad wenge is a very cute riad. first time i came in, i was not expecting at all that kind of ambiance inside... everything is quite, beautiful, relaxing.
i've booked through maroc-emotions.com . they have been profesional and very helpful.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Wenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.