We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Save Saved
You added Riad Villa Wenge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Villa Wenge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hospitable retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to experience the true culture of Marrakech, before going on to a resort at the Palmeraie; for our two young children. Had it not been for the kids, we would have been delighted to stay here longer.
From arrival to leaving, we had a memorable stay here.
We were picked up from airport in a comfortable 4x4. Given that most cars in Marrakech are rusty old mercs, this was somewhat a luxury. We were then dropped off at the square and met by a very nice old man who towed our baggage through the swarming night time crowds and spindly souk alleyways. On arrival we were warmly received by the glasses-wearing, ever so kind and hospitable member of staff. Couldn't help noticing the place was a bit dead. But for a small Riad, this was nothing to complain about really. And strengthened the ambience and experience of being a guest in someone's home and being looked after attentively and personally. Our room was tastefully decorated, modern with traditional features. The four-poster bed, ottoman bed box, hand carved bathroom door, high ceilings, his n hers basins in the bathroom and luxury toiletries were real plus points. The two male staff who manned the reception were both very amiable, polite, and sincere. They offered to take care of our every need and this included map of local attractions, the loan of a pushchair (which proved invaluable as we only brought one and in hindsight it was probably essential to have both 1 and 4 yr old in pushchairs, given the chaotic traffic of people, buzzing scooters, veg carts, donkeys, gaping gutters and cobbled paths.), warm milk, specially tailored kids meals, etc. The room was clean and bed was comfy. Each room is decorated differently, albeit tastefully. The lobby/courtyard is very small but adequate for the no. Of guests and rooms. The rooftop terrace is small, pretty and has a jacuzzi/hot tub (which we opted to avoid due to concern surrounding the hygiene of jacuzzis in general). Food is prepared as per your requirements and is served in a classic fine dining style, The location of this Riad was fab. Just 3mins to min square and such an interesting and intriguing walk down. Overall the Riad doesn't offer everything in terms of amenities/facilities, but the personal service and warm hospitality amid this tranquil retreat juxtaposed in the centre of a bustling hotspot, was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Only biggest room has door to adjoining bathrom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    65
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Came here on a hen weekend had an absolutely amazing time such a beautiful place to stay the staff went above and beyond for us. Amazing value for money ideally situated and lovely food available from toasties to traditional Moroccan dishes. Riad is beautiful, staff make you feel comfortable and are always there to help. Loved staying here really made the holiday perfect can't wait to go back definitely stay there again!! I would 100% recommend this riad for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Riad Villa Wengé was one of the best places I have visited. We were made to feel completely welcome and the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The staff were all very friendly down to the cleaners, the chef and we have kept in touch with staff to send pictures of our stay. The staff gave us lots of tips for whilst we were out and about in Marrakech. Communication before we arrived was regular so that when we arrived all our requests were in place (and we had a lot). As we were a group of girls the night duty staff went out of his way to meet us every night to walk us back to the Riad without needing to. The food was fantastic and authentic, the place was immaculate at all times. The manager even went to a recommended restaurant to bring us back menus and asked the restaurant to personally make us food that wasn't on the menu. Staff also made sure that we were well treated by the locals, shops and souks. I would highly recommend Villa Wengé to all groups and ages. We were blown away by the 24 hour, incredible service and will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and very classy design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently had my hen weekend with 14 of my female friends, we are aged 25-26 and we could not of picked a more beautiful place. This hen do was classy, sophisticated and cultural. When we arrived we were greeted by sammy the onsite manager and she talked us through the ins and outs of the rhiad but also being out and about in marrakech. This instantly put us at ease and we were able to relax knowing that the staff were there to assist and guide us if needed. The rooms here are spacious and i was lucky enough to stay in the suite which had a wonderful bathroom and comfy bed. The terrace at the rhiad was immaculate and we soaked in the jacuzzi while sipping some prosecco we picked up at the airport, this is a good idea to do and we all brought a spirit along with us from the airport the rhiad were happy to accommodate are drink and we actually ended up leaving a fair bit behind. Me and my friends like a good meal and we love to have fun and each night we would sit around the rhaid dining table and get tipsy and laugh before heading out into the buzzing medina.
morrocan food is a must and one evening the amazing cook at the rhaid cooked for us and sammy arranged for a 3 piece morrocan band and a belly dancer and snake charmer to come and entertain us before we went to a club, it was one of the best evenings of my life.

This rhiad is so perfect for a group of friends but also versatile for smaller groups and romantic for couples, they will go out of there way to make sure you are having a good time and that you have everything you need, they are very friendly and this really was a personalized service, I just cant fault them. Me and my friends will 100 percent be visiting them again, and once im married my man will be be coming in tow.

What a beautiful send of into the married world, Thankyou Villa Wenge.

Room Tip: There are 2 suites on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Riad is so beautiful and extremely clean and well tidied!! We hired out the whole place of a hen party of 15 girls (which i'm sure is testing for any accommodation to handle) but the staff were more than helpful and made really our stay in Marrakech, helping us with travelling arrangements and taxis, meeting us in the square after evenings out so we could find our way back, answering any quires we had, helped plan evening entertainment and most importantly they wanted to help and did everything with a smile on there faces! Absolutely perfect location if you want to stay on the heart of the souks and the roof top gives you somewhere peaceful to get away from it all! The food was amazing and many different thing to indulge in for breakfast. Well worth the money we paid and would highly recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: All rooms were perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our stay in this Riad was the best. The service was great since we got there. We stayed in a beautiful an modern room, very clean and nice. My husband was feeling a little bit sick the morning we left and the manager offered him some spices to help him with his stomachache, we found that very nice. The breakfast was good and tasty. It is very close to the big square, I think it took us 5 minutes walk to get there.
The hotel also have a bath tube that we couldn't use because we were so busy but, it looked nice.
Thank you so much for a fantastic experience.
E&E

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we are so glad we did it was very central to the main square but once inside the riad it felt like a quiet oasis simply put it was like a small peice of heaven. The roms were comfortable, very well decorated and the hot tub upstairs is great in the evenings. The best part about the Riad we have to say was the staff especially sammy who all made us feel welcomed and went out of their way to help us in booking excersions and getting around the city. We would recommend this Riad to everyone going to marrakech.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter but all rooms are good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel
Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Wenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.