We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...good location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Save Saved
You added Riad Villa Wenge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great stay...good location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for a few days whilst in Marrakech. We were given a free Airport Transfer which really is a must. We would never have found this place on our own. We were picked up by car and taken to the main Jemma El Fna square where we were then collected by a local man who put our suitcases into a wheel barrow and showed us the way to our Riad. We gave this man 20dhs however he didn't appear happy with that and requested more. He was politely told no as 20dhs is the going rate (not exactly the best way to welcome you to the Riad unfortunately). We were then shown inside and given fresh mint tea before being taken to our room. The room was very nice and modern with a safe and LCD TV. The only thing I would say is that the room is open plan and there is no door to the toilet however it didn't spoil the stay. The Riad itself is lovely with a modern decor feel. The roof did have have a Jacuzzi however we didn't use it. We tried the breakfast which was fine...nothing special. The staff were very friendly and Tony was most welcoming. The best thing though is the location of the Riad, it is literally a 5 min walk away from Jemma El Fna square. The walk from the Riad to the square does take you through some alleys and there is a short section just as you leave the Riad which has no lighting at night but we never felt threatened or intimidated once so don't worry!! Overall a nice, clean Riad with friendly staff in a central location. If you've booked or thinking of you'll have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    68
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in our recent trip to Marrakech. Included in our price was a free airport transfer which was ideal becasue there is no way you'd have found this place! It's 5 mins awway from Jeema El Fna. It's pretty straight forward once you know the way so we never got lost. We stayed in the Alu room which was lovely and modern. The only slight issue was that it's all open plan, including the toilet which has no door, so you can hear everything! Not very pleasant as you can imagine. The beds are super comfy but the pillows were really uncomfortable I found. We had breakfast in the riad the first day but to be honest it wasn't really up to much. I didn't like the orange juice in Marrakech at all (too used to Tropicana) and that's what was served. There was a small selection of bread, tea, preserves and pancakes. We didn't go for breakfast the rest of our stay, nor did we eat in the riad. The riad itself was gorgeous, really clean and modern with the most amzing incense always burning. We didn't use the jacuzzi as to be honest, the water was quite dirty looking with several dead flies floating on top so we erred on the side of caution. The owner Tony was lovely, very welcoming and friendly and we felt looked after. Great place to stay and recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina, just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnaa, great choice for short city break. Modern interior. Stayed in spotlessly clean, red twin bedroom on the 1st floor. Polite& friendly staff. They made you feel welcomed and respect your privacy. Internet access in the property.Lovely, French breakfast. A freshly made orange juice is ideal for the beginning of the day. Please ensure you book the airport shuttle offered by Riad as the location would be difficult to find for 1st timer. The owner also sent you by email a map and all information necessary inc. payment options so you know what to expect.

I don’t know where some negative comments came from.

So please stop complaining and relax in the Jacuzzi in the roof terrace after busy day of exploring a wild Medina and a beautiful Marrakech.

Highly recommended and will stay again if return to Medina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a room on the first floor as higher floor has less property noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The location in not safe and you need to walk also to find you need spacial inspection.
Breakfast is very poor. Only low quality jam - honey and old bread. Also you need to wait 1 hour for this bad breakfast.
- price is 20% more than you make the reservation. If you pay credit card they add 4-5% also they make wrong calculations.
Too much to say for bad things for this owfull bad motel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villawenge, Propriétaire at Riad Villa Wenge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Sir, your stay at this riad is very well spent in the luxury suite but you don 't have supported other guests who were present during your night with us because I precise that you only spent one night.
Breakfast is served quickly because we have 5 people in the riad permance to serve customers, it is composed of: fresh orange juice, hot drinks, fruit jar or yogurt following day, 2 pancakes Moroccan madeleine or orange cake or brioche, 2 kinds of jam, honey, butter and bread.
Our riad is located 2 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square in a neighborhood very easy to find.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste!

All Team duriad villa Wenge thank you for your visit ...

cordially

Stephanie and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff in this Riad were excellent esepecially Adil who speaks English. The Riad itself is quiet and is an Oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy medina. It is located close to the main square and so access is good. Breakfast could feature less bread and more fruit or eggs but otherwise is good. Decor is simple and nice - beds comfortable and the place well maintained.

The downside is that I did not like Marrakech - clearly not the exotic experience it was between 1890 and 1975 - aggressive hawkors, merchants and taxi drivers. People in Marrakech only want your money. The medina lacks old charm with much of the old style missing. Huge crowds and the acts involving animals in the square depressing. Fez is a much better option

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors might be quieter. Don't talk to the merchants in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina but down some winding back alleys so completely silent.The pictures are a true reflection of the interior. There are 3 bedrooms on the ground floor and 4 on the 1st floor. There are shaded areas on the roof and all the rooms have air conditioning and are spotlessly clean. I would recommend that you ask the hotel to pick you up on arrival as you will need the cart man to help you find the Riad, impossible to do it on your own if you are a 1st timer! They will give you a map with their location and it becomes quite easy to find.
My only grumbles would be the acoustics on the ground floor meant you could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms if you were sat in the centre, especially as all the bathrooms are open plan ( there was a breakfast table next to our toilet! ) Also my husband and I are early risers and it would have been nice to have had a coffee machine in the communal area as breakfast does not start until 8am because that is when the fresh orange juice from the market arrives.

Room Tip: We had the White Room which backs on to the kitchen. The rattling around late at night kept me awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to Marrakech with our 3 year old son.

We fell in love with Marrakech (our first visit) and this little Riad was the perfect antidote to the heat and bustle of a day spent in the Medina.

We spent the first four nights of our trip at a big AI hotel outside the Medina and this was the right thing to do for us, with a young child. But we wanted a taste of the Riad experience and weren't disappointed.

We stayed in the striped room which was small and for some may be claustrophobic but it was still charming. We loved the design and the open bathroom. Our son, who is nearly 4, was given a cot to sleep in which wasn't ideal as he has been in a bed for nearly 3 years but luckily he saw it as a novelty and was happy to sleep in it.

The owners, Stephanie and Tony, are lovely and so helpful. They don't speak much English but we were able to communicate fine and hospitality has no language barriers.

The place has the feel of a family home, our room was off the main courtyard on the ground floor and the common areas felt like an extension of our accommodation. The rooftop terrace was lovely and although the views weren't great we loved relaxing in the little plunge pool before dinner.

We booked half board and were served a basic but tasty dinner of breads and dips, tagine and oranges with cinnamon. All washed down with mint tea, which was also offered on check in.

We had a great nights' sleep with no noise from other guests despite our room being adjacent to the main courtyard and reception.

Breakfast was laid on for us despite our early departure (730am) and consisted of pancakes and some lovely cake.

Location was great, just a few mins walk to the square and easy to find once you've been shown the way once (we used a guide who we met when we got off the bus).

Riad Villa Wenge is great value and we would definitely return here if we wanted another Riad stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Wenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.