We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Save Saved
You added Riad Villa Wenge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina, just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnaa, great choice for short city break. Modern interior. Stayed in spotlessly clean, red twin bedroom on the 1st floor. Polite& friendly staff. They made you feel welcomed and respect your privacy. Internet access in the property.Lovely, French breakfast. A freshly made orange juice is ideal for the beginning of the day. Please ensure you book the airport shuttle offered by Riad as the location would be difficult to find for 1st timer. The owner also sent you by email a map and all information necessary inc. payment options so you know what to expect.

I don’t know where some negative comments came from.

So please stop complaining and relax in the Jacuzzi in the roof terrace after busy day of exploring a wild Medina and a beautiful Marrakech.

Highly recommended and will stay again if return to Medina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a room on the first floor as higher floor has less property noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    68
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
103
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The location in not safe and you need to walk also to find you need spacial inspection.
Breakfast is very poor. Only low quality jam - honey and old bread. Also you need to wait 1 hour for this bad breakfast.
- price is 20% more than you make the reservation. If you pay credit card they add 4-5% also they make wrong calculations.
Too much to say for bad things for this owfull bad motel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villawenge, Propriétaire at Riad Villa Wenge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Sir, your stay at this riad is very well spent in the luxury suite but you don 't have supported other guests who were present during your night with us because I precise that you only spent one night.
Breakfast is served quickly because we have 5 people in the riad permance to serve customers, it is composed of: fresh orange juice, hot drinks, fruit jar or yogurt following day, 2 pancakes Moroccan madeleine or orange cake or brioche, 2 kinds of jam, honey, butter and bread.
Our riad is located 2 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square in a neighborhood very easy to find.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste!

All Team duriad villa Wenge thank you for your visit ...

cordially

Stephanie and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff in this Riad were excellent esepecially Adil who speaks English. The Riad itself is quiet and is an Oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy medina. It is located close to the main square and so access is good. Breakfast could feature less bread and more fruit or eggs but otherwise is good. Decor is simple and nice - beds comfortable and the place well maintained.

The downside is that I did not like Marrakech - clearly not the exotic experience it was between 1890 and 1975 - aggressive hawkors, merchants and taxi drivers. People in Marrakech only want your money. The medina lacks old charm with much of the old style missing. Huge crowds and the acts involving animals in the square depressing. Fez is a much better option

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors might be quieter. Don't talk to the merchants in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina but down some winding back alleys so completely silent.The pictures are a true reflection of the interior. There are 3 bedrooms on the ground floor and 4 on the 1st floor. There are shaded areas on the roof and all the rooms have air conditioning and are spotlessly clean. I would recommend that you ask the hotel to pick you up on arrival as you will need the cart man to help you find the Riad, impossible to do it on your own if you are a 1st timer! They will give you a map with their location and it becomes quite easy to find.
My only grumbles would be the acoustics on the ground floor meant you could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms if you were sat in the centre, especially as all the bathrooms are open plan ( there was a breakfast table next to our toilet! ) Also my husband and I are early risers and it would have been nice to have had a coffee machine in the communal area as breakfast does not start until 8am because that is when the fresh orange juice from the market arrives.

Room Tip: We had the White Room which backs on to the kitchen. The rattling around late at night kept me awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to Marrakech with our 3 year old son.

We fell in love with Marrakech (our first visit) and this little Riad was the perfect antidote to the heat and bustle of a day spent in the Medina.

We spent the first four nights of our trip at a big AI hotel outside the Medina and this was the right thing to do for us, with a young child. But we wanted a taste of the Riad experience and weren't disappointed.

We stayed in the striped room which was small and for some may be claustrophobic but it was still charming. We loved the design and the open bathroom. Our son, who is nearly 4, was given a cot to sleep in which wasn't ideal as he has been in a bed for nearly 3 years but luckily he saw it as a novelty and was happy to sleep in it.

The owners, Stephanie and Tony, are lovely and so helpful. They don't speak much English but we were able to communicate fine and hospitality has no language barriers.

The place has the feel of a family home, our room was off the main courtyard on the ground floor and the common areas felt like an extension of our accommodation. The rooftop terrace was lovely and although the views weren't great we loved relaxing in the little plunge pool before dinner.

We booked half board and were served a basic but tasty dinner of breads and dips, tagine and oranges with cinnamon. All washed down with mint tea, which was also offered on check in.

We had a great nights' sleep with no noise from other guests despite our room being adjacent to the main courtyard and reception.

Breakfast was laid on for us despite our early departure (730am) and consisted of pancakes and some lovely cake.

Location was great, just a few mins walk to the square and easy to find once you've been shown the way once (we used a guide who we met when we got off the bus).

Riad Villa Wenge is great value and we would definitely return here if we wanted another Riad stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

First of all it's hard to find this Riad even with the map until somebody from hotel will show you this place. We call ro Riad and they send us the man after we were asked them to pay. The Riad is modern, but when we came it smelt some poison against bugs and we need to live in that room. At the morning near the room we saw big bug! We appreciate the girl on reception and fast free internet but we didn't like designs of the bathroom ( it painted in black color and haven't door only curtain). I suggest to choose Riad in more more plan style,

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and were and were certainly taken by the charm of the Villa Vengé. We called ahead and were met in the main square by a member of staff and walked back to the hotel. Just off the busy streets and very close to everything you would want, it is a place of calm and tranquility.

The staff are so nice and the owner Stephané was so lovely. She gave us her phone number if we got into any difficulty in the markets and made us feel so welcome and gave us advice on restaurants, shops etc.

The rooms were of a high standard, having never stayed in a riad I was not sure what to expect. A large air conditioned room split into 3, sleeping/living area, shower and toilet with a very high ceiling. On the roof is a nice roof terrace with a jacuzzi and a selecting of magazines. There is only 6 rooms here.

Breakfast was a selection of fresh juice, coffee and warm breads and preserves. Simple but all that is needed.

We organised a taxi to the airport through Stephanié for around £10 and we were walked to the car, an air conditioned new 4x4 and left Marrakech in style.

Myself and my partner are already planning on returning for longer stay later this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Wenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.