We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place , location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Villa Wenge to your Saves list
Riad Villa Wenge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
miami
1 review
“excellent place , location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The riad is wonderful , I would return there every single time in Marrakesh , great location , and the best service ever.
Breakfast served in the first floor at the center of the riad , very pleasant and tasty. the service again was awesome , they can help you out with reservation to restaurants and all other needs that you may have. they make you fell at home
we traveled with the family kids and babies included , so we rented the entire riad, if possible that would be the best option as you will fell as having your own house at Marrakesh.
I do recommend it 100 %.
Monica from Florida

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    80
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
132
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

From reading reviews and looking at various pictures we were very exicited to be staying at Riad Wenge, when we arrived we were not dissapointed.

After booking the Riad we receieved an email from the owners to arrange our travel from the airport directly to the riad this was at a cost of 15 euro, however in heindsight we would recommend it as the Riad is tucked away in the medina.

When we arrived in Marrakech we were greeted by our taxi driver who took us to the edge of Jenna el Fna (Square) in the Medina. Here another guy helped carried our luggage across the square and through some back streets to the Riad. This was real experience as straight away we found ourselves amongst the hussle and bussle. At the this point I thought that we may have picked the wrong location (it was very close to the noisy square), however it soon became apparent that this was a peaceful haven. The only noise you hear is the pray from the Mosques and the birds in the morning (that became our morning alarm wake up call).

The riad is a modern and stylish but keeps the tranditional style of the classic Riad. The rooms (that were cleaning everyday) were lovely. We spent a lot of time on the roof where we ate breakfast in the sun, sunbathed and made full use of the hot tub.

The service was fantastic and it wasn't long before you felt you were an extention of the staff team, in particular the young guy (can't rember his name but it began with A).

The Riad is in fantastic location witho access all of the great offerings of this beautiful city. If you are not sure about choosing a Riad over a hotel we would very much recommend it, you really get a true experience of Morroco but with all the comforts you'd expect from a great hotel.

We couldn't speak anymore highly of this Riad as a place to stay and already we miss it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Riad Villa Wenge - it wa an oasis of calm fom the hustle an bustle of the souks and the main square of Jemma El Fna. Its location is central to all you wish to see - near the souks, square, and museums. The roof top terrace was a lovely retreat. The staff are wonderful - Aldin and Fatima were so kind and so helpful. Breakfast was very filling and set me up for each day. It is somewhere that I would fully reccommend and return to again. Be mindful to have 5 euros for the handcart guy, it isn't included in your airport transfer fee. I ended up paying for others who didn't have the money with them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Riad was just a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main square Jemma el Fna and from the Souks and was a lovely peaceful retreat to come back to. We thought this Riad was excellent, we loved the decor and the breakfast was good and filling. I loved the setup on the roof and liked the fact that they had table and chairs as well as lounging areas in the sun and shade and also a jacuzzi. The staff were excellent and the Riad was kept spotless. We had arranged for a taxi to meet us but did not realise the handcart guy was extra and were charged 50 dh by him but found out later that we could have negociated the price. On the way back to the airport we just picked up a taxi from the main road and asked the price before getting in and only had to pay 120 dh. Really enjoyed our stay at this Riad.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with 2 single beds and found this room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at villa wenge for 4 nights, it is different to other more authentic riads we had stayed in, because it is modern, however this doesn't take anything away from the riad experience, the service is personal and it is a relaxing place to stay. The rooms are a good size and very clean, the bed was comfortable and water was hot. The riad is in a quiet location but still right in the heart of the action in a nice area of the medina. I can see how noise would be an issue however we had 3 other couples in the riad at the same time and we never heard them once. The wifi is good, the jacuzzi is good and the heated courtyard was a bonus. Would recommend to fellow travellers

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

All together we had 3 nights in the Riad: 2 in the red room,1 in the white room,an we had a very good time here:The Riad is in 5 min walking distance to Jemaa el Fna,has a very stylish Interior in black and white,a nice whirlpool on the terrace and a delicious breakfast.The (french speaking) staff is very friendly,helpful and always with a smile on the face. The rooms were spacious and clean.The TV didn´t work and some plugs were a bit broken,but who cares about watching TV in such a busy,interesting city like Marrakesh.We wanted to have tissues like they had on their breakfast tables and the friendly receptionist-lady (unfortunately we don`t know her name) organised them in no time,great!!
The breakfast was also very good with varying crepes and cakes every day.All in all we can warmly recommend this place as a "Oasis of calm" in hectic Marrakesh...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Unusually for me, i hadn't read any reviews of the riad before we stayed there, hence i didn't realise that the taxi wouldn't drop you at the door (because it couldn't, to be fair) and that a handcart guy would have to be paid to transfer our bags, so that didn't make a great start to our one night stay. But when we eventually arrived, hot and quite frankly bothered after trudging through the backstreets avoiding high speed scooters and bicycles, we couldn't believe just how peaceful it was.Literally the only sound we could hear was that of the birds,and when a mix up over our room resulted in us staying in a suite for a reduced price, we thought we would be in for a pleasant stay.
We ate out so i can't comment on the food there, but the breakfast was well presented if a little unimaginative, and was ok by moroccan standards.It was a shame that we couldn't actually finish it though, as the arrival of several wasps and huge flies was rather off-putting, perhaps they had been attracted by the foul stench of raw sewage, which i know is a problem in some areas of morocco due to poor or non existent sewage systems,and which was continually evading our nostrils at the Riad. However, i'm sure that in offering a professional service to tourists there must be a way of combating the odour.
As our room was a suite, we were very happy with it, it was big and the bathroom was quite luxurious, but as other guests have commented, a little noisy at times and as is often the case in riads simply because of their very nature, you will be afforded little 'vocal privacy!'. The towels were big and fluffy and the water hot, so we had no complaints there.
Just as we were checking out we were told that there was a problem with the card machine and it was charging guests double the amount. Well unfortunately our only option was to pay on our card as we'd been experiencing problems with the cashpoint, and the host informed us that the issue had been ongoing for several days now. That should have been one of the first things a guest is told, and as we had no other choice, we had to pay on our card and risk it charging us double the amount. As it turned out, it was fine, but to stick a tiny notice to the reception desk and expect guests to see it, is not acceptable.
Overall, it was a beautiful if pongy Riad,but for us, having to pay 200dirhams for an airport taxi and 40 dirhams for the handcart guy,plus having to make our treacherous way through dirty backstreets, means that we would probably find somewhere a little more accessible to stay in, despite having had a reasonably pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Wenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.