We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added Villa Al Assala Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the villa after 2 days at the riad medina. the location is just perfect, in a very quiet park just 10 minutes from downtown. The garden is magic .On feels comfortable, the staff is great. Our bedroom very spacious ground floor give us access to a small terrace overlooking the garden. I recommend food we ate there three times, varied, tagine, kebabs and fish, all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a fabulous time at Al Assala. It is a lovely Place The gardens are stunning, The room was big and comfortable with a great bed and a terrace. The pool is beautiful . It's located only 10 minutes from donwtown and the medina. The atmosphere is relaxed and calm. The staff is cheerful and management has provided us good advice for our city tours. The memories of Moroccan meals we ordered around the pool, gives us already the wish to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Room was very basic, main gripe was no room telephone in case of emergency and sub-normal shower connection that took some getting use too. In general all of the staff were very attentive and pleasant but I do wish they spoke more than just a little English (unfortunately I never learnt French at school or indeed in my later life). The grounds and pool are exceptionally pleasant and give the true spirit in my opinion that we were in Morocco.

Yes the Menu was fairly limited but lets believe when you're visiting a foreign country surly you're there to explore the culture, the country, the people and generally become part of the scene - otherwise what a waste of opportunity if all one does is sunbathe by the pool.

Overall a 3.5 star establishment that provides a very pleasant base to relax and enjoy (in fact I actually got round to reading about one of my favourite people of all time T E Laurence 'The Seven Pillars of Wisdom' - quite a feat seeing as I've had the book for some 45 years).

Villa Al Assala you did well in my book and was one of my most enjoyable holiday breaks where I didn't feel ripped off.

Ken Wilson with my wife Pam Wilson

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were looking for a spot that could accommodate our need of large room, as we traveled with our child, not far away from the city center and where we 'll be able to relax. We found all of it at Al Assala, a wonderful Hotel and garden away from the noisy Marrakech.
The room are large and clean .The morroco service was excellent and the food very good.
This is a small hotel, 10 rooms , you will quickly feel like at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This review is based primarily on the fact that the hotel claims to have a 5 Star rating. It is located behind a wall with a manned but mostly locked gate. It is some distance from the main road and connections with downtown Marrakesh. Realistically the only transport option is to order a taxi which the hotel controls with a single taxi proprietor – fare non-negotiable.

Despite the claim of a “24 Hour” reception it was only intermittently manned during the day and not at all at night. There was no means of calling for help when the desk was unmanned. The attitude of the female French nationality staff member who was from time to time present was stand-offish and her English was poor.

The bedroom was elegant but rather monastic and cell-like – it was very dark with only bedside and table lamps. The only mirrors were in the bathroom and these were not full length – something a lady doesn’t like. In the bathroom, and judging again by normal 5 Star standards, it is worth noting that there was just one (refilled) liquid all-purpose soap and no other soap, shampoos and bathroom items. There were neither hooks nor shelves for cosmetics etc. There was no dressing gown or slippers – again items that are commonly provided in genuine 5 Star hotels.

The room contained no printed information in a folder of the type that is commonly provided in all hotels – including information about how to use the satellite television which you had to work out for yourself. Only one (Bloomberg) of the dozens of TV channels was English language despite BBC, Sky etc. being available in Morocco. There were no tea/coffee making facilities and there was no drinks fridge. Drinking water was not provided in the room. DVDs were available but they were all French language.

The bedroom had stone floors – cool in the summer, no doubt, but chilly in November. There was limited heating in the bedroom from the a/c unit but it was difficult to keep the room at an acceptable temperature. The bathroom was unheated – it had a radiator but this was not turned on. The public rooms were unheated and very cold – except when a log fire was lit in one or other of them and this only in the evenings.

Despite the claim of “Complimentary wireless Internet access” in fact the Reception area is the only part of the hotel that had anything like satisfactory WiFi and that was unreliable and very slow. Elsewhere there was either no signal (e.g. in our bedroom) or a weak one which could not be used. There were no instructions on how to use the WiFi link.

The Hotel was described as having a “… bar/lounge, a café, restaurant…” but in fact there is just one large room with tables which has a sort of bar counter in the corner. This is mostly unmanned. There is certainly no restaurant or serviced food facility of the type that one would expect in a 5 Star hotel. There is a menu which is the same all day and every day which contains a list of snacks and light meals. There is a daily hot dish (no choice) – usually the Moroccan dish “Tangine”. For those on half-board (we were) this has to be ordered in the morning and we were asked to dine at around 7:00pm – largely for the convenience of the staff it seemed. There is no proper wine list – just “Moroccan Red” or “Moroccan White” – it was of adequate quality but sold at a very hefty mark up. There is one local beer available. My wife had a bad stomach one day and asked for a Cognac but none was available.

Breakfast consisted of Coffee, Orange Juice, toast and jam and very small pancakes or a fruit salad. There was no choice and no proper hot or cold breakfast items, no cereals, no fresh meat/cheese/fruit etc. This was the bare minimum that could be considered adequate in a basic “Bed and Breakfast” - and wholly unacceptable in a so-called 5 Star hotel.

The local (Moroccan) staff were pleasant and helpful but spoke little or no English. The French management was aloof and at times completely absent. We seemed an inconvenience to them. When my wife was ill they showed no concern and once again went to ground.

On the third morning of our stay (Thursday) there was no hot water at all in our bathroom. The Reception was unmanned, as usual, but we eventually found a staff member to report the matter to. He confirmed that they were aware of the problem and were working on it. When we returned that evening, despite assurances to the contrary, the problem had not been resolved although there was now some tepid water – but not hot enough to take a shower. The proprietor Mr Guillemjouan and his fellow manager had been absent all day and indeed did not make an appearance until the following morning (Friday) when there was still no hot water. At no point did Mr Guillemjouan make contact with us to apologise although it seemed that he was frantically making phone calls – perhaps because new guests were arriving that day? The proprietor’s lack of customer focus had been a problem all week – frankly he just didn’t give a damn! And for most of the time we were the only guests! This was the final straw so we checked out. No hot water for two days, an insouciant and uncommunicative Manager and a hotel which was self-evidently not 5 Star but was arguably not even a hotel at all but a uniquely dysfunctional establishment – and a rip-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival the villa was even better in reality than the ad. The room was spacious and private patio area was charming, the pool was lovely and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and attentive. The food was plentiful and the BBQ or traditional "sunday roast" in particular were so tasty. Breakfast was a little on the plain side but coffee orange juice and eggs were plentiful. Will definetly be re-booking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

To stay near to the City in an Oasis of calm is just phenominal. Staff will serve breakfast inside or anywhere al fresco at whatever time. A real find and incredibly relaxing.

For those who dont like big hotels or "centre of it" locations then head here and lap up the calm atmosphere and swim in the beautiful pool, or just bask in the sun.

For foodies out there, ask the owners to recommend the best restauraunts in town (which they will book for you also with taxi transfers at the drop of a hat). Food at these was just incredible.

Highly recommend this accommodation, for those that appreciate a non formal relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Downstairs garden suites are slightly bigger. Building is circular and there are gaps between the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Al Assala Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Also Known As:
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Al Assala Palmeraie Marrakech
Address: Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Al Assala Palmeraie 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional site in the full heart of the Palmeraie, and at only 10 minutes of the effervescence of the Jamaa-el-Fna Place, our property is offering a wonderful park of one hectare of olive trees, fruit trees and palm trees. Around the swimming pool, all is calm and pleasure to relax and enjoy the delicate and discreat service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Villa Al Assala Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Al Assala Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.