We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect visit - plenty of space.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Al Assala Palmeraie to your Saves list
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect visit - plenty of space.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

A superb place from which to explore Marrakech and the mountains. The villa lived up to hopes and exceeded expectation. A tranquil setting with a beautiful garden and lovely pool. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. If flying into Marrackech Airport contact the villa to arrange the transfer. They work with a very helpful and friendly taxi service. All highly recommended, including the massage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, Manchester. UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Firstly this is also known as just Villa al Assala which does have its own website
we couldn't get hold of the hotel as the number had been changed so look for the above.
Taxi from airport around 300 Durams however the hotel uses a family run company who charges 150
on arrival the traffic will scare you its mad !!!!!! thankfully as we approached the villa it became all nice and peaceful
As the large wooden doors were opened when we arrived my wife and i were blown away !
its beautiful here !!
We were offered dinner and it was delicious we had Room 4 ground floor garden room
again beautiful !!
In the morning breakfast was basic but ample lunches and dinner very nice
we usually went for the chicken brochettes and large salad for lunch
The pool is cold but ok after a few strokes
Miriam in particular could not do enough for us we hope she does very well in the future she also spoke the best english as I could only do the basics in french
The Medina and city are approx 15 min away by taxi costing 200 return so not too bad
just remember to dial 00212 and drop the first digit off the local telephone numbers as we had fun and games working this one out !!
As regarding the main square you must go twice ! First time is very overwhelming and very unnervey second time is a breeze !!
you could always break your trip into two parts stay in the city a couple of nights and finish it off here in which you would get the best of both worlds
contact me if you would like any further advice or info

Also if you can do The Hot air Balloon and Quad Bike trips both Brilliant !!

Room Tip: Room 4 was Very nice on the ground floor with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This property is a tytpical walled villa in rustic style, like many others in the Palmarie area about 15 minutes drive east of Marrakech. I arrived about mid day for a 4 day stay whilst working in Marrakech. Whilst my bags were taken to the room I was treated to a relaxing drink by the pool; which I appreciated after the flight. The staff organised transport from the airport. The front of house staff spoke English, French and Arabic and were extreemly friendly. The villa is off the main N8 route and being walled is quiet and relaxing. The gardens are splendid and the scent of Jasmin and the twittering of birds was everywhere. The rooms are spacious and incluse a sitting area, shower room, WC and so on. Each room has it's own balcony. The property consits of two main buildings: the rooms themselves, on two floors with a typical (as I understand) central court with a fountain; and the main reception, dinning room and lounge. I had evening meals as well with no menu. I was asked if I would be dining that night and then given the tareen of the day. Since the choice was always tereen I haven't had one since. Breakfast for me was under a canopy by the pool. Transport to and from Marrakech propper was easily aranged. Knowing how noisey Marrakech is I was glad to be in the tranquil quiet of the villa at night.

I would recommend this for couples and those seeking relaxing acccomodation offered on a very personal basis. This is rather like staying with friends and family.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

You will soon feel at home in Al Assala
The staff is great and very friendly.
The rooms and bathrooms are very spatieuses and comfort (tv-sattelite-heating) .
The park and pool are beautiful.
We have lunch and dinner on site twice, the "cuisniere" is very talented.
Thanks Al Assala

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If B&B is your thing then this is the place for you. But if you are looking for a 5 star accommodation this place is going to fall quite short of your expectations.

The good -

1. Spectacular property, the owner has maintained it very well, the decor in the main area is absolutely gorgeous.

2. Service was excellent although there was only one guy handling everything from being a bell boy to a waiter to a room service guy to a repairman. The guy that was there during our stay (forget his name) was extremely hardworking and even though he didn't know much English he would try real hard to communicate with us. Luckily my extremely limited knowledge of high-school french was good enough for us to understand each other eventually.

3. Very personalized service. We got there pretty late, close to midnight almost due to being stuck in a nasty traffic jam driving from fes but they had made arrangements to serve us dinner which was very nice of them. The next day we were out sight-seeing all day and late afternoon they called my driver (apparently the had taken his cell number the previous night) and asked whether we will be dining with them that night. You basically feel that you are a guest at someone's house. They make you feel completely at home.

4. The rooms are a decently large size and have a balcony that overlooks the gardens. Great place to have a morning cup of coffee. (We didn't do that since it was very cold when we were there).

5. Nothing like waking up to the sound of chirping birds which are aplenty in the property.

6. The pool area looked very nice but it was closed during winter. So summer is probably a good time to stay at this place.


The bad -

1. This is basically a Bed & Breakfast place but by no stretch of the imagination is it of a 5 star level. Perhaps a 3 & 1/2 star at best.

2. Its a 20 min car ride to the main square Jamaa El Fna. (This might be a good thing depending on your perspective).

3. The AC in the room was not being able to keep the room warm. Both nights that we were there we were freezing. My wife actually wore her winter jacket and slept the first night. The second night we asked for an extra comforter so that we could sleep warm. Even though the heater level on the AC was set to 30 degrees celsius the room temperature never went above 10-12 degrees celsius throughout the night. The room is probably not sealed very well so the heat is not being retained in the room or something. This is a big negative for this place.

4. There were no toiletries provided to speak of, only one big bottle of liquid soap and a similar sized bottle of shampoo. Lucky for us we always carry our own toiletries so we didn't have any problems.

5. The property is located in what looks like a residential area consisting of similar looking villas making it very hard to find especially at night. The property doesn't have any name displayed anywhere near the front gate so you have to call to find out exactly where they are. Luckily I had picked up a local sim card to use in Morroco and was able to call them from the taxi otherwise there was no way we would have found this place.

5. Check-out took a while since their credit card machine/network was not working and the transaction would keep failing. After 20-25 minutes of trying multiple times it eventually worked.

Closing comments -

Probably a perfect place to stay if you are into the B &B scene but if you are the type who prefers to stay only in a 5 star hotel then skip this property for sure. Also summer is probably a better time to come to this property, in winter this place is totally avoidable unless you like frigid conditions in your bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool view room if you happen to be there during summer when the pool is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We just got married in this villa recently and it was nothing short of amazing!
we rented the whole villa for a few days and our entire family absolutely loved it here.
From the moment we arrived to leaving we were treated so well.
the service from the staff was outstanding, they couldn't do enough for us, they were so genuine and welcoming, they made our stay there a pleasure.

the villa is approx 15mins outside of the medina. it is no problem getting in and out and it is great to be able to escape the madness.
once inside it is so peaceful and relaxing, even after a very hectic trip over it doesn't take long to relax here.
All the rooms are pretty large and have large bathrooms too. they are nice and cool, a nice escape from the sun.
The gardens are fab. we had our wedding outside in the gardens and it was very beautiful. we couldn't believe how the villa was transformed on the day of the wedding into such a romantic setting, it was perfect.

all our family loved the pool, which is a great size and everyone who got treatments in the spa raved about them!

our day was perfect here and i will absolutely return.

thanks to all the staff who made our holiday/wedding one of the best days of our lives :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a superb find. A spot of paradise and tranquility in busling marrakesh. If you are looking for high quality accommodation, excellent food, superb service and attendtion to detail - look no further. Ideal for those looking for a get away from it all experience. Nothing was ever to much hassle. We are definately going to be repeat visitors.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Al Assala Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Address: Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Al Assala Palmeraie 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional site in the full heart of the Palmeraie, and at only 10 minutes of the effervescence of the Jamaa-el-Fna Place, our property is offering a wonderful park of one hectare of olive trees, fruit trees and palm trees. Around the swimming pool, all is calm and pleasure to relax and enjoy the delicate and discreat service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Al Assala Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Al Assala Palmeraie Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Al Assala Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.