We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel set in beautiful gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Oliviers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison des Oliviers to your Saves list
La Maison des Oliviers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douer Lgouacem - Tasoultante | Km 6 route de l'ourika BP 429, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice hotel set in beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Marrakech in which we spent 2 nights of 1 week long holiday at this hotel. It is about 15 mins from out of town and will cost you 100 dirham (£8 ish) for a one way trip.

We were very kindly upgraded on arrival, to a lovely suite will a great balcony view over looking the gardens - we did find 1 dead cockroach in our bathroom (I was a little concerned but the hotel staff ensured us that the hotel had been recently treated for them and we shouldn't see another!) Thankfully we didn't.

The hotel pool is the best part, large pool, great temperature and plenty of sun beds with towels provided. It is a perfect oasis to escape the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The hotel guests are mainly French and the staff were pleasant to us.

The hotel food is really good and the buffet was the best breakfast we had during our whole time in Marrakech!

All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    121
    28
    17
    10
See reviews for
79
193
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned after a one week stay at the hotel, our first visit to Marrakech.

I hate to start with a negative, but it happened in this order so: I had requested collection at the airport in advance and had an email from the hotel to confirm. On arrival there was no one to meet us and it took over an hour to finally reach someone by phone and arrange collection. The hotel did apologise but gave no reason for their beng no one on arrival as arranged.

The first thing to note is that the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the main hub of things, this is no bad thing as you really enjoy the peace and quiet, however it does add considerably to your costs if you want to venture out each day. The hotel provides a shuttle which is about 50% of the normal taxi fare at €5 each way (for 2 people). This operates untill 8pm and you book what you need on the day, a usefull service but the return collection time was rarely what you booked!

The 10 minute drive takes you through a lot of residential area and on the final approach to the hotel your heart will drop as you pass all the rubble and refuse, but then the hotel appears and it's a little bit of luxury amogst the mess. What's unusual is that the online images are an exact representation of the hotel, it looks just like it does in the glossy promotional shots, which is very unusual.

A selection of room types, some with private pool. We had a standard room and it was perfectly acceptable. Has air con, which was a bit noisy but we were glad to have it! The rooms are kept immacualtely clean. Good powerfull shower. Nice big bed, couple of chairs and a dressing table holding everything else, including an ancient TV with dodgy reception.

We chose Half board and you are able to swap your dinner for lunch which was very usefull.

Loveley pool with nice day beds and loungers, lots of shady areas too. There is a bar open throughout the day and prices are very good.

Lunch is served poolside, Breakfast & Dinner are served in the restaurant. There is a nice small terrace and everyone eats outside. As the sun sets after 8pm it does get a little chilly, there are some very noisy frogs in the garden and they turn the place into Jurrasic Park with their calls!

Breakfast is a buffet affair, tea/coffee, juices and a daily selection of pastries and breads. The fruit choioce was a bit limited but generally a nice start to the day.

Dinner is from a fixed menu, it's a good selection and enough to keep you happy for a weeks stay. The quality of food is very good. A strong French innfluence, as you would expect. The dessert selection is probably the star feature.

There is a nice bar/lounge area but every night it was empty. It appeared that like us most people wnt back into the City, which is fine but if you wanted a relaxing evening with just a few beers you'll end up on your own with all the lights turned out. Not the hotels fault per-say.

There is free wifi but after a few days it stopped working around the pool area, may have been a language barrier (All the staff speak great English) but I couldn't convince the hotel this was the case, as it allways worked in reception!

We had just one or two problems during our trip but overall the hotel was very good, just a little rough around the edges.

For a budget break, I doubt you could do better in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have just returned from a short break at La Maison des Oliviers and my first time to Marrakesh and to be honest I was glad we were out of town. The hotel is simply lovely. So quiet and relaxing with lovely pool and poolside restaurant for lunch. Complimentary breakfast was bountiful, as was the quality of food in the restaurant. The rooms were excellent, staff very helpful and were always on hand to organise taxis or shuttle bus. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our 5 day break at this hotel. Room very big and cleaned everyday.food at the poolside was excellent with large portions.at night the restaurant was just as good.staff friendly. Only french and english visitors.only drawback was being woke up at 5 oclock every morning with the sound of whalling from local mosques as the locals prayer 5 times a day.just outside city centre.easy to get a taxis but barter with taxis u should be able to get a taxi from the hotel to the centre for under 100 dirhams about 8 pounds.or u can get the hotels taxi which is a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at this lovely quiet retreat. What a pleasure it was to stay here. Lovely restaurant and the fish was particularly good. The rooms were beautifully designed with a very stylish marble double shower. Some villas have their own pools and the colourful walkways throughout the hotel were a burst of various flowers. The staff were excellent and helped in every way. Situated only 15 mins from the centre of Marrakech so perfect for visiting the wonderful things to see including the Palace Bahia and the stunning gardens. A ride of a horse and carriage is well worth it. The road to this hotel is a little messy as there is some building works opposite but there was no real noise problem from this as I would not be recommending this to anyone otherwise. The road should be sort soon enough so dont worry about it.

Room Tip: Great place to relax with a very calming atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was a really nice hotel, but do I think the review that says it's a little rough around the edges is pretty spot on. I don't think this should put anyone off staying here, but the rooms just need maybe a little more TLC and I would then have given it 5 out of 5.

We stayed for 4 days at the start of our trip (early April), and for 1 day at the end before flying home.

We arrived later than planned after our flight was diverted to Casablanca due to bad fog in Marrakesh, so were feeling a little jaded, but the feeling faded as soon as we arrived here!

We booked a Suite Senior but were upgraded to a Suite Ambassadeur which was a really nice surprise. Our room was ready straight away so we dumped our ags and went straight for a lunch and a beer at the pool bar.

There's a nice bar and seating area around the pool and the menu for lunch is quite varied. The food was great.

The pool area is lovely - we didn't really use the pool at our suite as the main pool area was so nice. Lots of really comfy sun loungers around the pool and garden and a relaxing atmosphere.

The room was overall really lovely, but the toilet was coming away from the wall a little and one of the bedside lamps needed its bulb replacing, so there could be a little more care with maintenance on the rooms, but overall the rooms were lovely, spacious, a big bathroom with double shower and a huge bed.

There is no fridge in the room, so if you want to take drinks back to your room after dinner (the bar closes at 10) then you'll need to get an ice bucket from the bar.

The restaurant was intimate and romantic, and the food was excellent. The chicken tagine was just about the best thing I ate in Morocco and the desserts are also really good.

The bar is ok, but lacks a little bit of atmosphere, but that may be because it was never very busy during our stay.

A taxi into Marrakesh costs around £2 each, and you can call to be collected as well. It's good value and slightly less than half what you'd pay just jumping in a cab in the city to get back.

We did spend one day completely at the hotel, and the only thing I would say is you are a little restricted on when you can eat! Breakfast was 7-9, lunch 12-2 and then dinner 7-10, which was fine but there is nowhere to get a snack in between if you're feeling peckish or just fancy something naughty like ice cream! Obviously you can grab some supplies in the city but there is really nowhere to go outside of the hotel without getting a cab.

Overall this place was really great and if we were to go to Marrakesh again I would definitely stay here. If you want entertainment or to be right in the thick of things then it probably isn't for you, however if you want somewhere relaxing and of a good standard whilst still being close to the the city then it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a four day break in Morocco where we stayed at La Maison Des Oliviers. This is a hotel constructed in a traditional style as a series of Riads within the hotel walls. We stayed in a ground floor suite, the lounge, sleeping area, bathroom and large private garden were all spacious, albeit a little ‘untidy’ and rough around the edges. Public and pool areas likewise. At all times we found the staff to be courteous and helpful, although at times a little thin on the ground. The restaurant was excellent, the food was very good with a reasonable choice for a four day stay. We had booked half board and were glad we did, I suspect it would be considerably more costly to pay on meal by meal basis. Whilst we were prepared for it ( from other reviews ) the location is a drawback, up a dirt track the hotel is an oasis in desert of building sites and squatter type camps. We did do the trip to the Medina in Marrakech, and decided it was not for us

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Maison des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Oliviers

Address: Douer Lgouacem - Tasoultante | Km 6 route de l'ourika BP 429, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison des Oliviers 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La maison des oliviers a l'ecart des tumultes de la ville rouge est la destination revee pour un sejour a Marrakech. Vous retrouverez dans son architecture le charme du concept d'un Riad traditionnel, allie au confort le plus raffine.Afin de vous relaxer durant votre sejour, un service bien etre vous sera propose. Des vacances pour le confort du corps et la curiosite de l'esprit.Notre etablissement possede 10 chambres standard, 6 Suites Ambassadeur, 12 Suites senior, 1 Suite Pacha, 1 Suite pour personne a mobilitee reduite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Maison des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech
La Maison Des Oliviers Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison des Oliviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.