We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Morocco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elixir

Save Saved
You added Riad Elixir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Elixir
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rue Bounouala | Touala Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #504 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great introduction to Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A beautiful Riad away from the main madness of Marakesh, which keeps things quiet. The rooftop level lets you really enjoy the sunset and stars. Our rooms (we stayed twice) were both well presented and air-conditioned. Elixir's manager, Moha, was great to us, helping us with our itinerary and various desires, and fun for a chat and beer in the evenings.

As aforementioned, the riad is quite a walk from the souks and square, so get a map (Moha will be able to help you with this) as even though it's quite a simple route back to the riad, Marakesh is known for its winding streets that all look the same! As in the review below, ask women or older men directions, unless you want to pay for a young guy to take you a roundabout route for more money.

Overall, a great place and a sanctuary from the busy centre if thats what you want. A lovely manager too, which means we'll visit again someday too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Where to start?! We arrived at the riad over 2 hours late due to flight and passport control delays but found our host Moha waiting for us on the street with a big smile and a helping pair of hands for the suitcases! Once inside we sat down with him in the beautiful courtyard for a refreshing cup of mint tea and Moha instantly made us feel most welcome and at ease after the stresses of travels and delays! We had a chat and Moha asked if there was anything we would like that night, we were hungry and needed some soft drinks as well. Moha explained that Fatima, the riad cook and maid had gone home for the evening, it was about 11pm, but he would sort something out for us so we retired to our room. 20 minutes later Moha was back with a huge tray of food and drinks that set the standard for our dining in Marrekech!
The next morning we came down for breakfast, it doesn't matter what time of morning you surface, breakfast will be served fresh to you in under 5 minutes of sitting down in the courtyard and you may request whatever you would like to eat, we generally stuck to the delicious varieties of Morrocan bread and Jams with eggs etc with the freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee but Moha and Fatima will provide anything you should desire and it's all included in the room cost!
After breakfast Moha sat down with us and drew us up a suggested plan for our week and provided us with a very useful map. We wanted to explore so he walked us down to the nearest well known bab ( morrocan for door ) and off we went! The riad is ideally located for exploring being only a 15 minute walk from Jeema El Fna and 10 minutes from the new medina. The streets are at first a little daunting and you think you'll never find your way around but it doesn't take long at all to find familar shops and landmarks and the local people are friendly and always helpful. Just watch out for the mopeds!
After we were finished exploring we phoned Moha and met him at a local cafe in order for him to guide us back to the riad, shown once it's fairly easy to find again by yourself but if you do get lost just give Moha a call or text and he'll find you and guide you back within minutes!
We used Moha's plan for the week as a rough guide and had a holiday that will stay warmly in our memories for ever! We're already planning to go back in July 2013 and do it all again!
The riad itself is very pretty with a lovely courtyard that has a good sized plunge pool, most welcome after a days exploring in the heat, and a beautiful roof top terrace area for a spot of sunbathing or general chilling out. Our room was on the 1st floor and very spacious with a comfortable double bed and beautifully designed on suite bathroom with shower etc. The room was basic but well decorated and had everything you needed and was always cleaned on a daily basis by Fatima.
I'd recommend using the riads car service for going out of Marrakech. It's fairly cheap, the drivers are very friendly and all speak good English and act as a tour guide as well, getting you the best deals at your destination and showing you sights not on the toursit maps as well as knowing the best places to stop and eat/drink etc. They will pick you up at the riad, stop anywhere you want and then drop you back there or where ever you like! The dune bugging by the lake was a particulary exceptional day trip for me!
All in all the riad was a great place to stay, pretty and serene, but was made by Moha and Fatima who made it feel like our home, there may well be prettier riads but you won't ever find a more friendly and helpful host as Moha! Don't leave without trying his cooking either, I've eaten in some of the finest restaurants in London but moha's lamb tajine bests them all!
Thank you once again and we'll see you next year!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the middle,1st, floor were the biggest but all were spacious and more than adequate wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place, very clean and quiet (far from the muezzin's call to prayer and you won't regret it). Good location but if you go back late at night don't trust young guys who offer to guide you as they will get you lost and then ask for money. Ask women and older men of you are lost in the medina or call the manager of the riad. The place is not the cheapest but you won't regret to be in a nice place if you have food poison like I had. Fun time with the manager is though what really makes this place worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I booked my trip from Los angeles, CA just few days before I went to marrakech and picked Riad Elixir based on a traveler's recoomendation that I found on here..
I loved it!! My picked up was arranged by the Riad from and back to the airport, and I felt really welcomed and taken care of..The Riad's manager Moha, made it all possible..
He help me plan all the sight seeing, offered me some choices for traditional meals made at the Riad ( sooo good) and even took me to the medina to buy few things..Moha makes the Riad feels like home or a friend's place in morrocco..
My Room and the bathroom was very clean, and the breaksfast was amaizing!! please try the flat crepe in the morning!!
Fatima, the Riad cook, also made the best couscous ever!! deliscious!!
I would recommend Riad Elixir to anyone going to Marrakech the first time-please note I am a single woman travelling alone-and who wants to stay near the medina..
Thank you Moha!! merci pour votre acceuil si chaleureux!!

Room Tip: I like the room near the patio..it was nice and quiet.. check regularly for great rates- I was vry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Riad is very beautiful, a peace of heaven in the middle of Marrakech.
It's located in a typical muslim neighbourhood, a little bit outside the souks and Djemaa El Fna, but its charm it's exactly in this point.
The location may scare you at the first time, but if you use the square Bab Taghzout as as a reference point, it would be very easy to find, even at late night.
And although you probably woudn't find many tourists walking around in that area, it's a very safe place.
You'll find a lot of young guys trying to help you in directions (in change of money) and that could be a little annoying... you need to insist with them that you don't need help, that you know the place, etc.
In the Riad they will give you a nice map and tips and then it'll depend on your sense of orientation.
The rooms are amazing! The terrace it's a little bit abandoned (the decoration is good but it could have more details and the chairs could have more quality beacuse they are burnt by the sun), but it's very nice to get some sun and relax.
The staff is very friendly and helpul, and the manager speaks english.
If you want to return after 11 pm, make sure you get the keys or that will be someone to open the door.
The breakfast is good, especially to the eyes, although I personally don't like very much the maroccan bread and some of their pancakes and the orange juice is very little (but you can ask for more, of course).
They serve as well nice moroccan meals for lunch and dinner.
Some of the people here mentioned the noise that came from the mosque near by, but we didn't hear anyting. In fact these were the most silent nights that I had in Marrakech.
I recomend it! Have a relaxed time in this quite riad!

Room Tip: Don't pay more than 30dh for a taxi to Djma!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Located in the North of the Medina, it's a little hard to find, but for a small fee you'll find some locals who will guide you there.
Rooms are quite comfortable and nicely decorated, especially the bathroom. It's all clean and the service is very good.
Although quite expensive for moroccan standards, staying in a riad is definetly worth the experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elixir in low season and snapped up an excellent rate, but I would have no hesitation in staying here even in high season. I could rave about everything from the free breakfast in the courtyard, the tasteful and spotless rooms with modern conveniences, the charming owners and the incredible and caring Fatima, but I won't bore you.

If I had to pick a downside, it would be that it is a little far out. Technically in the medina, but on the outer edge. It's a short walk from the Riad to the local square and if you're happy to catch the local bus (2dinar) or negotiate a petit taxi everytime you head out then it is fine, but as we like to walk everywhere, it was a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elixir

Address: Rue Bounouala | Touala Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elixir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.