We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elixir

Save Saved
You added Riad Elixir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Elixir
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rue Bounouala | Touala Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Quite and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Riad is very beautiful, a peace of heaven in the middle of Marrakech.
It's located in a typical muslim neighbourhood, a little bit outside the souks and Djemaa El Fna, but its charm it's exactly in this point.
The location may scare you at the first time, but if you use the square Bab Taghzout as as a reference point, it would be very easy to find, even at late night.
And although you probably woudn't find many tourists walking around in that area, it's a very safe place.
You'll find a lot of young guys trying to help you in directions (in change of money) and that could be a little annoying... you need to insist with them that you don't need help, that you know the place, etc.
In the Riad they will give you a nice map and tips and then it'll depend on your sense of orientation.
The rooms are amazing! The terrace it's a little bit abandoned (the decoration is good but it could have more details and the chairs could have more quality beacuse they are burnt by the sun), but it's very nice to get some sun and relax.
The staff is very friendly and helpul, and the manager speaks english.
If you want to return after 11 pm, make sure you get the keys or that will be someone to open the door.
The breakfast is good, especially to the eyes, although I personally don't like very much the maroccan bread and some of their pancakes and the orange juice is very little (but you can ask for more, of course).
They serve as well nice moroccan meals for lunch and dinner.
Some of the people here mentioned the noise that came from the mosque near by, but we didn't hear anyting. In fact these were the most silent nights that I had in Marrakech.
I recomend it! Have a relaxed time in this quite riad!

Room Tip: Don't pay more than 30dh for a taxi to Djma!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Located in the North of the Medina, it's a little hard to find, but for a small fee you'll find some locals who will guide you there.
Rooms are quite comfortable and nicely decorated, especially the bathroom. It's all clean and the service is very good.
Although quite expensive for moroccan standards, staying in a riad is definetly worth the experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elixir in low season and snapped up an excellent rate, but I would have no hesitation in staying here even in high season. I could rave about everything from the free breakfast in the courtyard, the tasteful and spotless rooms with modern conveniences, the charming owners and the incredible and caring Fatima, but I won't bore you.

If I had to pick a downside, it would be that it is a little far out. Technically in the medina, but on the outer edge. It's a short walk from the Riad to the local square and if you're happy to catch the local bus (2dinar) or negotiate a petit taxi everytime you head out then it is fine, but as we like to walk everywhere, it was a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Our trip to Marrakesh was a delight thanks to the wonderful Riad Elixir. We were met at the airport by a driver and spirited inside the Medina, arrival at Riad Elixir was the beginning of a most outstanding Marrakesh experience. The hospitality offered by Hassan and Fatima was superb. Our host Hassan arranged a guide to show us the palaces and places of interest in Marrakesh, this gave us incredible insight into the history and culture of this most wonderful country. We also arranged a a trip into the Atlas mountains, I would highly reccomend this trip to travellers, we took a walk in the mountains with a Berber guide and met his many family and relations, their generosity of spirit certainly made a memorable trip for us.. The accomodation at Riad Elixir is authentic and most comfortable and the meals cooked by Fatima were the best food we tasted in Morocco.
I encourage others to experience the hospitality of Riad Elixir. Donna Bush Australia

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The service was wonderful... it's a little off the beaten path, so if you are comfortable getting your way there, book it. (you'll be most liley approched by children anyway offering to guide you home for a fee anyway).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed here for a night last year and although it's a bit of nightmare to find had a good couple of days. It's recently renovated and the family-run business cannot to enough to help you, despite a few language barriers! (my french, their english!).

It's incredibly clean and the breakfasts were amazing. It's not a grand old riad but if you are looking for a friendly, clean environment this is a good bet.

It is quite a walk to the central area - so I'd recommend only booking if you are happy with that. The location right near the mosque did mean we were woken up rather early, but it added to the atmosphere!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Hi travellers, we stayed at Riad Elixir in Marrakech at the end of October. It´s pretty new and very beautifully done. Has an amazing terrace at the top where you can relax after a long day at the crazy Medina.
It has a patio with a small pool too. The staff was very friendly-Said & Fatima- and very hepfull with the directions aswell. Said organized a car rental for us. He speaks English, French and German.
They serve a delicious breakfast in the patio- is fantastic .Inside the riad is quiet but unfortunatelly is next to a Mosque. Every morning at 5am you can hear loudly someone praying for 20 minutes!! I suppouse this is the only disadvantage side of this gorgeous riad.

  • Liked — The service and the riad itself
  • Disliked — Being next to the mosque
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elixir

Address: Rue Bounouala | Touala Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Elixir 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elixir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.