We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“un petit oasis chaleureux a Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Assala Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Assala Medina to your Saves list
Riad Al Assala Medina
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rue du dispensaire et rue Sequaia, No19, Arsat Moulay Moussa | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #494 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cannes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“un petit oasis chaleureux a Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

If you wish to stay in a modern hotel sterile and without soul this is not for you ! If you prefer the authentic yet comfortable AND with human warmth then this Riad is what you are looking for ! We arrived very late and yet we received a warm welcome from the night person - one of the nicest person one could ever meet - and we had a lovely traditional dinner ready for us !
The room was very spacious and very comfortable with a nice touch of originality ! The owner and the staff could not do enough for us ! We just loved the entire experience AND we were one step away from the famed place Jemaa el Fna !

Room Tip: request a hgher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed in this riad for our third trip to Marrakech.
This riad was by far the best. The location is just perfect
just minutes from the Jamaa el Fna, the souks and the Koutoubia.
This riad is accessible by taxi, which is quite rare and precious in the medina.
The riad is quite large and has a modern, mixed Moroccan decor.
Beautiful molding and plant on the patio.
Our room was large with a nice bathroom.
The terrace offers a rare view of Marrakech and the Atlas because it is high than most riads around.
The staff is cheerful and very good advice.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I have just returned from a visit to Marrakech, where I had booked into this riad and was informed it was a five star establishment.this is not the case.i would be hard pushed to give this riad a 3 star rating as it's biggest virtue is the location (and that is only if you don't mind listening to the poor donkeys that were parked out side laden with extremely heavy loads and standing in one spot from 8 in the morning until evening In 40 degrees sun without water or food) personally I found this and other atrocities I seen in the medina sickening. However to get back to the riad, there were only two staff members while I was there, one in the day and one in the night and although they were both very pleasant, it was impossible to understand the lady during the day as she didn't speak any English. The riad itself was very tired and in need of some refurbishment, you couldnt close the door of your room when leaving and there was no hot water. I had prepaid a week in this hotel before going but still decided it was not for me and checked into a very nice 5 star hotel in the palmerie area after 2 days spent at Riad Assala. I would not go back.

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Unbelievably convenient for all the action and fantastically friendly and helpful staff. Very very comfortable rooms, child friendly (two beds in our suite) and awesome terrace with spectacular 360 degree views over Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains - a real gem. Hard to imagine anywhere better for the price as way better than the pretentious Mamounia. Far more authentic and real yet just as comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great staff ..quiet in a busy location .. Convenient located at the jfna square.. We had a huge room.. Apparently the biggest .. Design was grand. It's not hotel quick service it's more laid back and just what we like. Little bit hard to locate on the first time as it was only a door. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Admittedly, we didnt get off to a good start, this place is SO, SO hard to find, I wasnt put off when I read this as I thought it would be a bit tricky, but seriously, you can't find this hotel for love nor money. The taxi driver dropped us just outside the medina walls and pointed us in the rough direction of the riad, it's only a few minutes from the central square (if you know where you're going). Cue 3.5 hours of trying to find the place and almost considering staying somewhere else, however, another a taxi ride, unhelpful locals trying to 'help' us find our way (for a small sum!), calling the place (the number on the internet was wrong and just put us through to the answer machine of the sister hotel - so frustrating!) eventually we resorted to using a local internet cafe to look the place up online later, we made it. Even then we couldn't believe it was down the dingy, ill lit alley. There are no markings on the door, so even when you're there, you don't know you are. I've heard of hidden gems before, but this takes the biscuit.

We'd read positive things online about this place, so had splashed out the extra money to make our last days in Morocco special, we got there, at first it looks like paradise, it's a really beautiful little pool and outdoor seating area, but when we went to our room, we werent quite as taken with it. Everything looks impressive when you arrive, it definitely has a wow factor about it, but it is quite superficial. They've gone for a minimalist, distressed decor, except holes in the towels and bed sheet, chipped lampshades, burn mark on the toilet seat, mould on the walls of the bathroom and chipped paint in the bedroom were a step too far. Ive travelled a lot and stayed in a lot of places, if it was only a few things here and there, I wouldnt have given it another thought, but everything seemed to be too distressed and frankly shabby. It wasnt a pleasant experience.

The staff were friendly enough, the lady who serves breakfast is nice, although on the last night they said it would be great for us to go to an authentic moroccan evening at a restaurant just off the square. We were told by all three staff members we met that this place is amazing. DO NOT DO THIS, I think there may be some arrangement with the riad and the restaurant, it was awful and massively over priced, it is only tourists that go there, the food isnt great and the entertainment is really tacky, not authentic at all, throughout the meal, the waiters kept telling us that 'tip not included' by the end i would have paid them any money to get out of the gross three course meal we were roped into getting. Really disappointed, what was pitched as a friendly intimate dining experience, turned out to be as many tables as possible crammed in to a sad looking conference room that had been dressed up for tourists. We fed back to the member of staff at Assala and he was quite rude and didn't seem bothered at all. I wasnt taken with the other staff, I didnt find them hugely friendly or helpful.

If I knew what I know now, I would definitely not have stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlAssala, Directeur général at Riad Al Assala Medina, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Customer,
We offer for each service you réservertion taxi upon arrival at the airport which allows our customers to come peacefully in our institution.
Otherwise, our address with location map is available on our website and I had also left my cell phone number in case of trouble. I am very surprised that you have taken time to find the hotel and I am sorry. As for your remark about the towel, we considered your comments and have inspected the entire effect to withdraw three who were replaced. For recommendations on restaurants, do not rely on the person in front the riad, and our own staff is notified and whose recommendations have always been appreciated. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Riad for 3 nights in the beginning of April. Definitely recommend to organise a taxi from the airport. We have done so as advised by other travellers. Location is fantastic 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square, although alley the hotel is based is bit scary looking and smells of urine. There is no sign outside and the door opens only after ringing the buzzer. Inside a complete different story, beautiful oasis with palms and a swimming pool.
Service was very friendly but they have not speak English very well which proved to be a challenge for us not soeaking much French. We have had food once for the evening and was very nice, we ate tagine and cous cous.
Celine , the manager helped me to organise a birthday surprise for my fiancé and also booked the restaurant and a taxi for the evening.
Watching sunset from the roof with a glass of wine was fantastic.
The only downsides were : door do not have any locks and as we were staying in a ground floor room it was quite loud when the staff was talking around kitchen area when making breakfast. Safe in our room was not working and we were using safe in another room to store our valuables, and that one stopped working on our last day.
Definitely recommend this hotel if you would like to enjoy Medina, can have a better location, however for longer stay and relax would recommend to move outside Medina to Palmeraie.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Assala Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Assala Medina

Address: Rue du dispensaire et rue Sequaia, No19, Arsat Moulay Moussa | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Al Assala Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Assala’s superb location means that it’s hidden away from the rumble tumble of everyday life but is just a 2 minutes walk away from the famous “Jemaa-el-Fna” Square. It is very easely accessible and is the ideal place to stay to discover the ochre city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Assala Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Assala Medina Hotel Marrakech
Riad Al Assala Medina Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Assala Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.