We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Don't be put off by the location - we thought we were being taken to the end of the earth by Couscous but behind the walls and a very simple door was Narnia. Jill, Damien and the rest of the staff were fantastic - absolutely nothing was too much trouble. My dad fell in the pool by the outdoor tables (don't ask how!!) but within seconds he was fished out and dried off with a mountain of warm fluffy towels. The Hamman was amazing but my gosh the water is hot! To describe this place as an Oasis of calm in the midst of chaos is a real understatement. The mobile phone security blanket (the bat phone) was welcoming, especially when we didn't think we would make it out of the Souk alive and the 'light lunch' sandwiches were amazing. Do try to visit all the places recommended, even though we spent much of our time in and around the Souk - Marrakesh is vibrant, poor, enlightning, fascinating and scary all at the same time but the Riad really is out of this world. No visit is complete without buying vast quantities of sugared nuts and a tagine - one of my most used pieces of kitchen equipment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
112
667
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Honestly, words are simply not sufficient to describe how good this place really is. I wanted to take my wife somewhere 'different' & 'out of the ordinary' for her 40th at the beginning of February. The criteria were simple:
1. We have kids, so we couldn't be away for too long (Granny would never forgive us!) so no longhaul destinations
2. We go away every year, so a standard city break in Europe was no good
I looked everywhere, finally deciding on Marrakech, I then read the reviews of Nd'I on Tripadvisor, Mr&MrsSmith & then in CondeNastTraveller & I booked immediately.

I am attaching the content of one of Jill's emails, just to show the extent of the efforts she makes to ensure everything is perfect:

"Thank you so much for your completed authorisation form to finalise your booking!
We have reserved your airport transfers for you. Please look out for a Riad Noir d'Ivoire panel just as you walk in to the arrivals hall and the driver will whisk you both away to the Medina!
Dinner by candle light with pleasure on the evening of your arrival!
We can arrange with pleasure a day in the Atlas Mountains. We can reserve lunch for you with pleasure at Kasbah Tamadot (Richard Branson's retreat) or the driver can stop at a lovely typical restaurant.
We can reserve the spa for you with pleasure... perhaps a couples ritual hammam and then followed by massages, or perhaps your wife would like a personalised facial treatment!
For dinner on the big day... would you like to eat fun Moroccan, classical Moroccan or more hipchic ?
Look forward to hearing from you and please don't hesitate if you need any further assistance !"

I have not bothered to write about the Riad itself because others have done an excellent job of descibing just how great the rooms, the food & the service really are....and they really are!!!!

We can't wait to go back. Thanks Jill!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I emailed the Riad Noir d'Ivoire, making an enquiry about staying for a week in summer, 2011. After a few days I had not recieved a response and I called the Riad direct. The lady I spoke to apologised for not replying to my email. I did not fully believe her excuses. I was told that, due to the heat in July she was considering closing down for the month, but 'promised' to email me back when a decision had been made. That was 4 weeks ago...I am still waiting. I can't help but think she was holding out for a larger booking, or making an excuse for some other reason. Either way, just a quick email saying they were definitely not opening would have been enough. Hardly good business sense.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We have recently returned from a week-long stay at Noir d'Ivoire and can honestly say we cannot fault any part of our experience there. The Riad itself is beautiful, each room individually styled to reflect the local flavour. The service is excellent, although to call it service seems inappropriate, as Jill, Damian and the whole team make you feel as if you are treasured friends, invited to stay with them in their lovely riad in the middle of the Medina. Nothing is too much trouble for them. If you have time book yourself in for a Hammam and massage - well worth it, I can guarantee. They are also blessed with a talented female chef - worth staying in for if you have had a heavy day in the Souk or sightseeing. I cannot recommend this riad highly enough and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We booked this riad for our last couple of days in Marrakech, following a visit to Essaouira. We wanted somewhere special for our last nights and we definately got that at the Noir d'Ivoire. We were welcomed in by Jill who immediatly put us at ease with a glass of wine in the beautiful couryard of the riad. The riad itself has a lovely welcoming atmosphere and the decor is fantastic. We were upgraded to the camel suite which was gorgeous, with a seperate lounge (complete with log fire). We ate in the hotel for two nights, just because the food was so good and the riad had such a lovely atmosphere. Damian and the team of staff there could not do enough for us - without being intrusive, and were flexible and accomodating when we needed to change our plans. The highlight of the stay was meeting Couscous the donkey, who helped out with the luggage. We have both stayed at hotels all over the world but agreed that the riad Noir d'ivoire was something very special. I would recommend a stay at this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and would like to say thank you again to the team there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

From the friendly greeting by the driver at Marrakech airport, arranged in advance by Riad Noir d’Ivoire’s wonderful owner, Jill, right through to our reluctant farewell six days later, every part of our stay here in December 2010 was thoroughly enjoyable.

It’s hard to say something new on this site about this superb riad, but here are some of our impressions: beautiful courtyards and interiors, a very comfortable, luxurious stylish suite, welcoming, reassuring, nothing too much trouble, a truly hassle-free vacation, highest level of service and housekeeping, two delicious dinners in the riad, a blissful private roof terrace – we were lucky enough to enjoy a spectacular meteor shower one night, the scent of aromatic woodsmoke, celebratory drumming percussing throughout the medina, invigorating and relaxing massage treatments, refreshing dips in the cool cool pool, superb, friendly and discrete staff – all obviously highly regarded and respected by riad guests and management, great restaurant recommendations, and, like previous guests, we too appreciated the unfailing attention to detail everywhere in the riad, and the genuine welcome and unstinting friendliness of Jill and Damien.

I can’t imagine why we’d ever want to stay anywhere else when we return to Marrakech!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Noir d’Ivoire in January this year with two young sons in tow, and it was one of the best holidays we‘ve ever had. It’s difficult to say exactly what makes the Noir d’Ivoire special. Perhaps it’s the flawless, good-natured and efficient service. Maybe it’s the beautifully decorated courtyards, and tastefully appointed suites. Or the fabulous spa treatments, the fantastic food and the attention to detail on every level. It’s actually all of these things and more. There’s that indefinable quality you only get in the very best hotels. Thanks to Jill’s obviously great management and a happy, extremely professional and respected staff, the ambience is wonderful. And the ever present and impressively experienced Damien made sure our holiday was nothing less than perfect. Travelling with a six-year-old and a 16-month-old can be tiring, but not at the Noir d’Ivoire. The Riad’s housekeeper and resident ‘Mary Poppins’ Meriem was absolutely brilliant with our two sons. Thank you Meriem - we’ve never felt so relaxed and taken care of.

There are lots of good hotels out there, and we’ve been lucky enough to stay in many world-class places over the years from the Oberoi in New Dehli to the Ritz in Paris. But we both commented that our stay at the Riad Noire d’Ivoire was one of the best experiences we’ve ever had. In fact we’ve already booked our next stay there in December 2011. Look forward to seeing you all again soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.