We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the most fantastic place I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite simply the most fantastic place I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Never written a review here before but having just returned yesterday from Riad Noir D'Ivoire, i felt compelled to share our experience with others. We were lucky enough to have exclusive hire of the Riad and it was unadultered luxury, all to ourselves. From the moment Couscous the donkey greeted us in the bustling North Medina, to the hot tubs and mojitos, the Hammam treatments, the beautifully decorated and individual rooms (apartments may be a better description in some cases!), to the little touches such as personal local mobile phones to ensure we were never lost in the wonderful maze that is Marrakech; we could not fault it in any way. Add to that mix the incredible people in Damien, Jill, Aziz and co and you have a recipe for success. A perfect blend of intimacy, luxury and granduer, all with a personal touch. If you get the chance, go...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    25
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
121
729
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We spent just five days in this gorgeous Riad, which has been beautifully decorated, and service is of the highest quality.
When we first got there, we could not wait to go and relax in the sun, and Damien and Jill (our hosts) made us feel instantly at home.
The first evening (due to fatigue) we decided to dine at the Riad, and venture out instead the next day. The meal was so good - it actually beat quite a few of the meals that we had outside!
The next day our adventure began in the souks of Marrakech - so amazing and beautiful - but so hectic! The Riad offered us the tranquility that we very much desired after a busy day of shopping, eating and dodging the scooters/motorbikes!
We also used the spa in the Riad quite a bit - the hammam experience was one of our favorites and we would highly recommend it!
Thanks everyone at the Riad Noire D'ivoire (including the lovely moggies)

K&J

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had a wonderful trip to Riad Noir d'Ivoire, it was our first visit to Marrakech and we wanted to experience the old town. This Riad is perfect for that with most things in walking distance. The Riad is beautiful and I would love to have transported much of it to my own home, but what made it exceptional was the staff, who were friendly, effecient and were willing to do whatever they could to make your stay perfect. We would highly recomend this Riad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We secured a week away without children and found the perfect place! Noir d'Ivoire is a real find. It's a beautiful Riad, wonderfully decorated and tranquil, it makes you feel a million miles away from the chaotic streets of the Medina just outside the doors. We stayed in 2 rooms, both of which were stunning. The master suites have private roof terraces and we often found it hard to drag ourselves from the jacuzzi! Jill and Damien made the trip even more complete by helping organise our days or making recommendations for dinners and the staff were lovely, really friendly and even coming to find you if you got lost in the crazy souks. Honestly, we fell in love with Marrakech, it is so cool! The place feels really exotic even if just a few hours away from Central Europe, the people are very welcoming, the food is amazing, bars and restaurants are very trendy... we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Doesn't that say something? We were in Paris, Barcelona, Rome and Amsterdam, and many places in between, but the experience at this Riad has stayed with our whole family, including my son, who is 11. Designed to within an inch of its life ... and by that I mean in the best possible way ... the Riad Noir d'Ivoire is the fancy home you WISHED you had tucked away in Marrakech. But you could never have coordinated all the lovely bits as well as Jill, the owner, has. And while I love the concept of being surrounded by beauty and thoughtful, cool things, it's all just stuff at the end of the day. What sets this experience apart for us was the personal interactions of Jill, Damien, and the staff. I think Jill just rocks like a house on fire, but then I adore women who have left the path most traveled and struck out on their own. Especially if they have an eye for beauty. But everyone at the Riad was right there with a great piece of advice or a kind word or setting up some sort of adventure for us. "Whatever your pleasure," is a phrase not often used in the United States, and it is just so LOVELY. It reeks of ease for both the giver and the receiver. And that, ultimately, is what traveling is about about. I wrote about the Riad on my blog, www.sueglader.wordpress.com. The posts "The World's Best Yogurt" and "Judging a Book" and "Cous Cous the Donkey" speak directly about the Riad and have pictures. Many other posts around the end of January and into early February describe our experience in Morocco with pictures.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We came to the Riad Noire d’ Ivoire with high expectations and were not disappointed. On arriving in our taxi from the airport, the noise and smells assault the senses in the best possible way .Whilst the approach to the riad can be a little physically disconcerting [although the water pipes are now laid so it will be a less of an obstacle course] once the lovely ornate wooden door is opened you enter a different world. The decor is subtle and tasteful, the greeting warm and welcoming Gill [the owner’s ] 'personal touch ' and friendly approach made us feel so welcome..and Damien’s efforts to find us good 'foodie' places were much appreciated.
The ambience created at the Riad Noire d'Ivoire, with it's beautiful decor and welcoming fires, smiling staff is not only a reflection of the care and consideration given to guests but is also indicative of a happy staff who feel valued for the work they do . They ALL served us with friendly, but discreet efficiency and spoke of how much they enjoyed working at the Riad. That says a lot, to us, about the ethos and way the management team work with people....and most importantly, this not just applied to the guests.
Although situated about 15 minutes walk from the main square, the area immediately outside the riad offers a local flavour of life in the Medina , hassle free, exciting and not touiristy. As you get nearer to the Square and the Souk the colours and atmosphere intensifies- but as long as you repond to the offers to buy or the 'unofficial' guides to take you to your dstination, with a smiling 'non merci' you are left to your own devices.
Marrakech is not cheap, neither is the riad ,but you get what you pay for.
The New Town provides a more cosmopolitan place for eating if you want a change from Morrocan cuisine but it has less personality.
We loved the cultural difference and the February climate of Marrakech. We loved the Riad Noire d' Ivoire for it's ambiance and smiling and efficient service. We would love to return and sample it all again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

A superb, stylsih oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of a fascinating city. Damien and Jill are superb hosts, suggesting interesting itineraries , places to eat and generally ensuring a relaxing and 'pampered' short break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.