We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Refugium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Gorgeous Refugium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Noir d’ivoire for one week after Christmas in 2009 and it was absolutely magnificent. The Riad is renovated with a stunning love to detail and the unique style of its interior is astonishing. Without doubt I can say that it belongs to the most beautiful boutique hotels I have seen so far. Even though the Riad was fully booked we had the feeling of enjoying our own private luxury Riad throughout the whole time. The Riad contains of two courtyards and as there are no guest rooms on the lower floor it is more than spacious. It is situated in the northern Medina about 10 minutes from the Souks. Staff was very friendly and helpful and gave lovely hints and tips for enjoying Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    25
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
121
731
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
battersea, london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Marrakech can be a daunting prospect, but you will be met by your driver at the airport, transported as far as you can bring a car, then met by staff and Cous Cous, the donkey and cart... and then you step over the threshold of Riad Noir D'Ivoire and all thoughts of madness disappear...

We have stayed at other Riads and they tend to bring the madness inside with crazy colours and tiles but Jill's Riad is calm and considered, there is madness however, brought on by Poppy the One Eyed Cat that has reinvented herself after being rescued by Jill, Poppy (Pop Eye) lives every minute to the full!

We experienced varied weathers while we were at the Riad, the scorching sun and cold nights, by day the riad was cool and in the afternoons and evenings there were roaring fires with olive wood, the flames dance and play like no other wood, perfect with fresh coffee or a bottle of Sahara wine.

The Riad is quite massive but is comfortably parcelled up into different areas, all of them allow you to have your privacy or share with friends, the rooms are beautiful, we had the luxuries of an office, (should we want to work, no!), lounge area, roaring fire, satelleite tv, fabulous bathroom with his and hers sinks, private terrace, private steps up to our private roof terrace and jacuzzi... would you want more? well there is, there are the main areas with pools and you can eat anywhere...

Further luxuries include a gym, massage therapy, a Hammam in the Riad so that you just have to pop downstairs in your dressing gown for some more luxury!

You can have as much as you like, the wine cellar is extensive from local Sahara to LPR and the food from the kitchen is great for a cosy night in...

Can you tell that i am very keen? Jill, the owner, has extensive knowledge of what to do, where to go, where to eat and they supply you with a mobile should you ever get lost... a couple got lost while we were away and the Riad dispatched staff to 'bring them home'. The staff are fabulous, very discreet and kind, they seem to know that its your time and that really matters.

After a day out in the Souks of Marrakech, what you need is a place and people to come 'home to' and that is what Riad Noir D'Ivoire delivers...

Go visit, you will be very glad that you did..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

What can I say, I have stayed in a number of Riads in Marrakech but Riad Noir D'Ivoire is the absolute best! I will never stay anywhere else again on future visits to Marrakech.
The rooms and decor are immaculate, the staff is helpful, discreet and have an eye for details that I miss when staying at other hotels worldwide. It is a piece of relaxing heaven in a mad bustelling city.
Jill and Damien are a great source of knowledge when it comes to the best places to eat (although the chef in the Riad whips up a mean moroccan meal for you if you want).
Do also make use of the excellent treatments they have available, we had a massage and a hammam both of which were out of this world!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We loved it here. The location was perfect, just ten minutes walk from the souks about 15 from the square and the riad was very accessible. The staff was also friendly and efficient, everything we asked for was arranged very fast. Our room was very nice, but a bit cold at night. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Dear Potential Riad Noir d'Ivoire Guest,

Due to the lack of wedding related posts on Marrakech, this is an account of my experience at Riad Noir d'Ivoire. Just to fully disclose, you must book the entire Riad in order to have a wedding here, otherwise read on..

I can honestly say that all my wedding guests and I are suffering immeasurable withdrawals from the hospitality of Riad Noir d'Ivoire. When I close my eyes at work, it's the only place I want to escape to.

The moment you walk in, your enter a cocoon of serenity, elegance and luxury service and trust me, it's hard to check out of this exquisitely designed riad.

My husband and I live in NYC and had never visited Morocco. To entrust someone to help you plan and execute your wedding when you live thousands (technically 3650miles) away, is a true exercise of faith. By reading this posting and all the hundreds of wonderful reviews before mine, you should feel absolutely confident that Jill will help you orchestrate the wedding of your dreams. We had guests from the US and Europe, overflow guests to other Riads, events every night, yoga classes in the morning, spa appointments, shopping in the Medina, a group excursion to Jardin Majorelle, Chinese Tea Ceremony, Chinese Jewish wedding ceremony and *everything* was flawlessly executed. I'm not sure even now how all that happened over 3 days but it did and with everyone smiling from ear to ear. That's exactly what you want when you have guests flying in from all over the world to celebrate your special day.

Sincerely,
Christina Gerald

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

From the moment that Cous Cous the donkey leads you to the Riad , special is the word that comes to mind. This was a joint birthday and wedding anniversary trip that my wife had booked as a surprise for me.
The Riad itself is style and sophistication in its best form. Our "love nest" of a suite with its roof terrace and hot tub was beautiful and spacious and very private.
We not only loved the Riad but also the amazing staff, who are looked over by the ever present and super attentive owner and her loyal and helpful staff.
If you have any questions about Marrakech, where to eat, where to shop, where to experience the true Moroccan evening, the advice is always spot on.
The massage and spa treatments were perfect after our long horse ride in the Atlas Mountains (organised by hotel) and the friendly staff always seemed happy to see us return from our outings!
After a few days it was home from home.

We have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful Riad to anyone thinking of spending some quality time in a romantic and skillfully designed and decorated private hotel.

All in all we would like to thank the staff and in particular Jill for making our stay so very special.
J & L

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I took my partner for a surprise to Marrakech for a long weekend. We had spent the first two nights of our trip in another fantastic Riad (just 30 metres away) but nothing prepared us for the immaculate design and detail of Riad Noir. The pictures/ website just do not do any justice to the first and lasting impressions you receive when getting a tour of the amazingly appointed Riad.

We were early checking in and our move from the first Riad was organised smoothly and our rooms were ready for us at 11am! Damien was very attentive and made us feel instantly welcome. We stayed in the Zebra Suite which has its own roof terrace and Jacuzzi every detail in the suites from the bed to the décor was exquisite- breakfast and meals were happily arranged on our terrace any time of the day. The gentle sound of cascading waterfalls and pools from our suites balcony blended seamlessly with the piano from one of the many cosy lounges and communal spaces. We were spoilt for choice in where to sit and relax with every corner offering a cosy and luxurious furnishings and for the coller evenings lovely log fires.

We wanted to stay in the Medina in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but also wanted the luxury and service of a well appointed boutique offering relaxation and calm – we were not disappointed. Everywhere is within good walking distance and the local taxi pick up point is only a short walk away.

Jill was as helpful as she had been throughout the reservation and extended a warm welcome to us and despite a wedding taking over the whole Riad for 4 days – Jill and her staff took everything in their stride and made sure we received the same level of excellent service on which their reputation stands. Damien and Jill could not do enough to offer advice and suggestions on places to go and organise any help we needed.

The most amazing place to stay and we can not wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.