We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Beirut
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

If you are planning a relaxing trip to Marrakesh. You MUST choose this Riad.
It is just AMAZING. Everything was perfect, the design, the rooms, the beautiful upper terrace and most of all the staff!!!
Everything you can read on Noir d'Ivoire on Tripadvisor is sooo true... Just choose his Riad ( more than 350 riads in Marrakech) and trust you won't be desappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
654
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

What a wonderful Riad. We only returned from our trip last week. It was our honeymoon and couldn't have been more perfect. The Riad is an oasis in the middle of a hectic but great city. Every detail had been thought of, the manager Damien and owner Jill and all the staff couldn't have been more charming or thoughtful. The design of the riad is so beautiful and peaceful that often it was a difficult decision to leave for the day. Thank you to everyone who made our honeymoon great. I'd recommend this Riad unreservedly to anyone who likes tranquility, good organisation, great style and comfort. The owner Jill has done herself proud, she was charming and kind and it was a delight to meet her fantastic adventurous father and her son too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

This is truly a beautiful riad and we would give it 6+ stars if it was possible. We stayed in the Guepard room (2 adults and our 6 year old) for 8 nights. We found this room worked really well for us as there is a separate stair entrance, separate lounge and bedroom. We could relax in the lounge whilst our son slept in the evenings. Additionally we had our own private stairway up to the private terrace. We all loved the rooftop jacuzzi which was extremely welcoming after a dusty day wandering around the medina.

The whole riad is extremely elegantly decorated and furnished. The result is an amazingly soothing atmosphere, especially in the evenings. Facilities are excellent: breakfast whenever and wherever you want. There are plenty of public areas to relax and chill out. The hamman was excellent and I wished we had tried it earlier. We stayed in to eat 2 of the nights along with a snack one night when we had too large a lunch. We especially loved the smoked duck shepherds pie and the chocolate fondant was the best dessert ever, so much so we both ate it 3 times!

The ultimate and most outstanding feature is the level of service. Staff were attentive and friendly. Jill, the owner was totally charming, full of good tips and truly hospitable host. Along with Damien her manager, they make an outstanding team. Damien was extremely helpful; lots of tips, always on hand and a true asset to Jill. The level of personal service from Damien exceeded any expectations and was more than any 5 star hotel in the world. Their greatest achievement is allowing guests to feel totally at home; there is no sense of stuffiness to spoil the charm.

In terms of Marrakech for children, our son loved it so much so he wanted to stay with Jill! There are 2 cats who live there and he was in love with them (he still talks about them!). He felt very much at home in the riad. We went out one night on our own and had Miriam, one of the staff, babysit for us. Other favourites for our son were:

1. The ride up to the riad with Couscous the donkey.
2. We went on a camel trek in the outskirts of the city and would recommend this. The trek on the camel is quite long - 2 hours so it is better suited to children that are at least 5 years old. It was great fun getting dressed up in Berber clothes and head-wear before we set off.
3. The horse carriage ride around the city.
4. Snake charmers in the square and all the evening activities there.
5. Wandering around the souks and seeing all the different activities going on.
6. We went on trip up to the Atlas mountains (arranged by Damien) which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We went to the Ourika valley and trekked up to see 3 waterfalls. The walk is not too demanding but is more suited for the more adventurous children (which our one is), as on some routes there is a need for some brief rock climbing.

Overall, we had an excellent holiday and felt so relaxed that we could have stayed there a lot longer. We totally recommend this and without a doubt I would say this most deserves the 5 stars from amongst all my reviews that I have posted. We will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The ultimate vacation wish list is all here. Comfortable. Cool. Grand. Intimate. Sensual. Unique. Glamorous. Blissful. Elegant…

“Luxury” has a wide interpretation these days. We’ve stayed at lots of such hotels– all over the world - most with amenities and spaces that look impressive.

Noir D’Ivoire is luxury you can actually ‘feel’- a multitude of spaciously proportioned rooms and public spaces, full of stylish detail, that feel incredibly intimate thanks to the decorative elegance of charming owner/host/designer, Jill. The service is also a bit magical. With only 9 rooms, and 22 in staff, someone always seems to materialize when you need attention. Our constant thought was “why would you ever want to leave this place”.

But the adventure outside was always waiting, and Jill and manager Damien were equally charming and helpful in arranging our 4 days. There was no shopping, sightseeing, or dining experience they recommended that wasn’t perfect in every way – including the food at the Riad - making our time in Marrakech a seamless and unforgettable adventure. With all the glowing verbiage in these reviews, you will be even more impressed in person. Don’t miss it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This is a proper hidden luxury gem in Marrakech. We are pure spoiled travellers, but Noire d'ivoire is a place to go and come back. It has the small, the intimate privacy, the personalised beauty and style, the local authenticity and the discrete but ultimate service. In Noire d'ivoire, you will find the1001 nights feeling that you want to feel when you are in Marrakech.

For sure rent the Panthere room as you will have your own private roof terrace to look at the stars at night, sunset, your breakfast or dinner or just to relax during the day in the jacuzzi. In general the rooms are very spacious and all with great bathroom and the most delicious black soap! The black soap we found afterward was hardly as nice smelling as the Riad's one

And then absolutely try the reflexology massages in the hotel, my husband did it twice in the 3 nights we stayed there, it was more than just very good. We live in Milan but even the Bulgari spa or any other Japanese or Malaysian feed massage we did could beat this one. An absolute to Do!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Exciting to all the senses. Lovely suite, amenities, service and suggestions where to: sight see, eat, play, shop etc. were all valuable. Jill, the owner was instrumental in my receiving all my treasures delivered to the USA in a timely manner.
The Boutique has quality items and the spa treatments are not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I would just like to thank Jill and Damian, for making my special birthday a wonderful experience. The Riad was wonderful, and nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. The bedrooms, food and service was all first class. Thank you for making our first trip to Marrakesh one that we will never foget.

The Bakers
xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.