We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us have just been at the Noir d'Ivoire to celebrate our friend Celia's birthday. Our stay could not have been more perfect. The sheer beauty of the place and the flawlessness of the bedrooms, public areas, food and drink apart, it is the delightful service which, in my view, sets the Noir d'Ivoire apart. This type of service cannot be bought. It comes from the heart. Nothing was too much effort for them. Our stay was a delight and I can't wait to return.

James H.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, yesterday
Bonjour James,
Thank you very much for your review. We wanted to make the whole riad like your home and Celia's home as well. We are happy that you could feel it that way. We are also very happy to hear that you want to come back.This is our reward !

Merci beaucoup !!!

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
104
631
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Morocco and the Noir d'Ivoire was the first place we stayed. We had read about the walk to the Riad and it is not the greatest approach to a hotel but you are escorted all the way and there is no feeling of being unsafe. Once inside, the welcome and the premises are wonderful. Peaceful, calm and comfortable. The hospitality and service is quite exceptional. I have never seen people work harder to satisfy every aspect of your stay. Quite how they maintain that level of enthusiasm and energy, I don't know. The entire staff from Didier and Andrea down are a joy. Hassan is the Mr. Fixit, anything you want organised, he will arrange. We have never stayed at another Riad so we cannot make comparisons but if you can find better than this, I would be amazed.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely but the stairs are steep and really not suitable for disabled or very frail pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Anthony,
Thank you very much for your review. We were honored to be your first riad experience in Morocco and we sincerely hope that your stay will give you the desire to come back to Morocco in the future.

A bientot ?

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It seems that Trip Advisor has got Noir d'Ivoire spot-on.

Our stay came after our memorable, but hectic, wedding back at home in the UK. Upon arrival we were still a little dazed from everything that had happened the days, weeks, months prior. Within moments our mood was calmed and slowed - perhaps something to do with the glass of Champagne and the grand piano tickling away in the background, the madness of Marrakech left at the small Riad door along with our baggage on the back of Couscous the loveable/helpful donkey.

Andrea, Didier and the whole team made us more than welcome. We split our trip between the capital and the seaside town of Essaouira - they even fetched our bus tickets for us. On our second stint in Marrakech, the team dropped-off all the stored suitcases, purchased trinkets and unexpectedly gave as an upgraded room for our final 2 nights - that's service!

Let Hassan or Affaf suggest restaurants, sites, horse-drawn carriage rides, but DO explore yourselves - remember you're in Africa, it's a long way from the wide streets of London or New York. You'll get hassled, you'll get touched, you might even get ripped-off (whats a few Dirhams between friends), but you'll get none of that at the Riad. It's an oasis of calm, a corner of tranquility, a Riad with more charm than a French politician swilling around the Place Des Vosges looking for a suitor.

It can be a struggle to leave the beautiful surroundings, so we ate (too) frequently within the Riad, you can choose anywhere you want to dine, just let the team know on the mobile phone you're given on arrival - and they'll lay out a table for you. Moroccan/French are your choices - what more would you want?! If you're the kind of person who likes McDonalds or KFC, I'd book a hotel in the new town, you'll be sure to get a 'real' taste of Morocco here.

Get a Hammam from the friendly in-house Spa magician Madame Coco, better to do this early to avoid losing your tan. She also does a killer full-body massage, very affordable (I had two in a week...).

We'll be back, and next time, it'll no doubt be better - don't miss out on this place, you even get some dashing complimentary traditional slippers as well, does life get better?

Till next time - 'As Salaam Alaikum'

Alex & Camille x

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Camille, dear Alex,
Thank you so much for your review. We were very honored to be part of your honeymoon trip and the upgrade was our little contribution to this very special event.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and we will have more slippers for you...

Wa alaikum salam !

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Riad is for those seeking impeccable service and a gorgeous property...Andrea and Dda make the stay so worthwhile...Andrea is a fabulous chef and I would recommend having dinner there every night and lunch out....exquisite does not come close to describing this boutique Riad....I had always dreamed of staying at La Mamounia, but after lunching there...no comparison....it would be like sailing on a gigantic cruise ship compared to a luxury yacht...I have stayed in several 5 star properties, but Riad d'Ivoire outshines them all....I am definitely returning to absorb more of its charm and elegance....

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, General Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cecil,
Thank you very much for your review. It was a real pleasure to host you and your friends. Thank you so much for preferring us for your stay and your meals. It's more than a compliment, it's a reward !

We will be happy to take care of your next "cruise" !

Andréa & Didier (Dda)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My title of my review should say it all, you walk the streets of the Medina and all of a sudden you walk through a door and you step into an oasis of tranquillity and beauty. Like the book you read as a child, you walk through somewhere very average and all of a sudden you are transported into a different world that takes your breath away. As you can see from my profile I have been fortunate enough to stay in some amazing hotels all over the world, this place however is in a league of its own.

My other half and I booked the Riad based on Trip advisor reviews alone, it was his birthday the day after we got there and Marrakech was his destination choice. I was nervous about staying in the city and the fact it said they give you mobile phones to take out with you then I felt like we had a safety net!

We arrived early hours in the morning and the short taxi ride to the Riad let us to car park close by. The walk at one am was daunting following windy streets and the kind member of the team pushing our luggage in a cart! All of a sudden you are at the door in a small narrow passage way and the door opens and the Burnett novel starts.

Greeted by Andreá at 1am with a warm smile and genuine excitement that we are her guests. She gave us a quick tour (as all the other guests were in bed) and showed us how to use the phone and explained breakfast can be at any time of the day! The standard of service didn't change from the minute we got there to the minute we left. Andreà was so nice she even gave me her tomato soup recipe before I left. They made a chocolate cake for my other halves birthday and they came to the terrace to sing to him - such a nice touch.

Hassan - this guy deserves a page all on his own. I've stayed in suites where you are assigned a host solely for your room but Hassan knocks spots off any host or concierge I've ever used. He booked restaurants for us via email before we even arrived, Atlas mountain tour, a private tour guide, Taxi's, an afternoon at the spa....the list is endless. Nothing was too much trouble and his recommendations were excellent. An absolute asset to the Riad.

We stayed in a double room as this was all they had for the dates we'd chosen. The room was lovely and not at all a standard double you'd get in other places. I can only imagine how nice the other rooms are!
The team at this Riad are a delight, you are made to feel like royalty at every stage of your trip and at any time of the day. If we ever went back to Marrakech we would only ever stay with this team of people. It's a rare skill to make strangers feel like family without being over familiar or intrusive but they have got it down to a fine art.

Thank you for having us.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Emma,
Thank you so much for your review. It's like a storybook by itself. We are very honored to become a chapter of your storybook !
We are looking forward to welcome you back to your second home and, maybe, Andréa will share, with you, her secret recipe of her balsamic dressing..... But, for the time being, please enjoy your tomato soup !

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the fourth time we visit this wonderful city and we have always stayed in Riads in the Medina(old town). We feel that it is the only way to experience Marrakech and the contrasting experiences with tranquil breakfasts on beautiful roof terraces overlooking snow clad mountains, superb service and personalised spa treatments, with the chaos of the streets outside the Riad doors. Dodging donkeys, mopeds and people whilst walking down beautiful winding alleyways becomes second nature after a while.

What sets this Riad apart is the fantastic team that work there. Most of them have worked there for a long time and the friendly professional service is great. You really feel that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Nothing is too much trouble and everything was done with the outmost care.

The rooms, pool and food are all great but you should go here if you want to have a very special time - and that happens with the help of Andrea, Didier, Hassan and Team. There are many nice and luxurious Riads in Marrakech and we have stayed in a some of them. Riad Noir D'Ivoire stands out due to the friendly and professional service!

Thank you very much for the memories and laughter, we look forward to returning soon!

Kind regards

Katarina and Simon
The Cotswolds, England.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Katarina, Dear Simon,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and we were pleased to contribute to it. We really appreciate you felt being treated as friends. Welcome to our family !

We are looking forward to welcome you for your fifth stay in Marrakech !!!

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the perfect place to stay amongst the bustling streets of the old city. We chose the Noir d'ivoire after reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor, We can only echo what other guests have already mentioned.

The place has a tranquil and chilled atmosphere, and at times it did feel as though we had the place to ourselves, sitting having a meal by the pool or a glass of wine. The staff and management are amazing, we can honestly say their hospitality is the best we have ever experienced. Thanks for looking after us so well Andrea, Didier, Hassan and all the other staff.

Some must do's a trip to the Atlas Mountains and lunch with the Berber family, the views are amazing. The spa in the riad is great especially the hammam which we had as a couple. Getting lost in the souks! Visiting the mosque and then the photography museum and having a chilled drink on the rooftop bar. We had great meals on our four night stay, the food in the Riad is great and the recommendations the staff gave for our other nights all met our expectations.

This was a fantastic short trip and we crammed in a lot within three days and having the Riad to go back to was a welcome relief.

Hopefully we will visit some time soon again Gary & Mim.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gary, dear Mim,
Thank you very much for your review. The whole team is very happy you enjoyed your stay in our place. You are right about the Atlas excursion. It's a must go ! It's also a great opportunity to meet the Berber community and discover their hospitality.
Thank you for your recommendations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again !

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.