We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, memorable and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Stunning, memorable and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This Marrakech holiday was a compete surprise for me. Arrived at the airport and was greeted warmly and had a 15 minutes if that taxi ride. Stopped at the square and was then greeted again by Couscous the Donkey and was led through a few narrow side streets wondering where we were going and how would we remember the way back! Through the front door you are met with a warm and friendly welcome from the wonderful Didier, Andrea and Hassan. A cup of refreshing mint tea and a brief chat with Hussan and then a tour of the Riad and our room. We had booked the Gueppard suite which is not only beautiful but effectively your own private wing of the Riad. The stunning lounge followed by the ever so comfy bedroom with the bathroom double sinks and a great overhead shower and an enormous bath. Then the private roof terrace where we were told that we could have our meals here including the all day long breakfast. Did feel sorry for the staff having to carry the tray up 2 flights of stairs but the food was delicious and the staff ever so friendly and accommodating. We were told that the staff were here to help with anything we needed, just call them from the mobile phone we were given which was also handy if we got lost when venturing out for walks. Thankfully that never happened but we could see how easily that could be done. The breakfast (including the most amazing home made yoghurt) and dinners have a Moroccan and French theme and both were equally good. On our last night the crepe suzette was a memorable moment for all involved!
Hassan gave us an overview of routes and pointed out the three memorable objects to remember how to get back and then we got escorted by a member of staff on our first outing and everything was pointed out to us. A valuable lesson. Spending the early mornings out and about in the city seeing the local area and the heading back to the the Riad for a relaxing dip in the roof top jacuzzi. Evening food was with either in the hotel or Didier and Andrea have fabulous recommendations and will book tables for you as well.
Hassan organised a private day tour of the Atlas mountains. We were picked up at 9 and dropped back at 5 pm. A well organised tour with several stops at different places to see the amazing landscape and the local Berber houses which included lunch at one of them for home cooked lunch which was an amazing experience and we were also offered the option of the local Richard Branson hotel but were happy we chose the unique Berber option. The view from 2000 feet up was magnificent. A must trip.
Overall the stay at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a five star experience with a extremely friendly staff who were helpful, cheerful and great company throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them. The Riad is very quite and has a total relaxation element to it even the French lessons with Andrea! Dee and Claire

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, today
Dear Dee, Dear Claire,
Wow ! Thank you very much for your review ! We feel very honored by having you describing in such details your experience at Noir d'Ivoire. We are also happy that you had a great time by discovering Marrakech and the surrounding.

Merci !

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
609
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We can only just begin to echo the positive reviews for this wonderful Riad. We have stayed in many impressive hotels but this goes beyond just impressive, Forget chain hotels this is the sort of place where you really want to go. You will be made to feel a special and valued guest - not just another customer. Because we arrived late Couscous the donkey was off duty but the staff at the hotel saw to our bags.The next morning Couscous was brought around specially for us - so my wife could feed him an apple.
Hassan the manager greeted us and explained the splendours of the hotel. We ate in the hotel the first night but for the rest of our stay Hassan sorted both reservations and transport. We were given a local cell phone so we were in contact all the time and he promised to come to find us if we got lost in the old city - fortunately we did not need this. We stayed in the Elephant suite - and can recommend this fully. We met Didier and Andrea who indeed are great hosts. Breakfast around the pool is a dream. Overall a wonderful oasis of peace amongst the bustle of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms are all individual - look around their website photos are helpful. We chose the elephant s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, today
Dear RG0,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay ! We will share your nice comments with our Team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back some day.
PS. don't forget to tell your wife to bring an apple. Coucous loved it !

A bientot ?

Andréa & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband treated me to a 3 night stay at this beautiful Riad for my 40th birthday, and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel special! Didier and Andrea are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble! Our Moroccan meal the first evening at the Riad was lovely, beautiful table overlooking the pool, set with candles and flowers, a perfect start to our holiday!
After settling in to our room we had the best night sleep ever, the Riad is so quiet its hard to believe you are right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina!
The next morning we met the wonderful manager Hassan who helped us with everything we needed to know for our first visit to Marrakech, the places to visit in the daytime, and where to eat at night. Hassan is so helpful and both nights he arranged taxis, and booked restaurants even telling them it was my birthday and arranging a birthday surprise! ( he has since sent us the recipe for the homemade yoghurt which is served with breakfast which has to be some of the yummiest I've ever tasted!!)
I read many of the reviews on here before we visited and everyone describes it just perfectly! "Tranquility and peace", "total relaxation" , "escapism" and then the magnificent chaos and heat, smells and sounds of the Medina and Souks. It all makes for the most interesting,exhilarating and memorable holiday we have ever experienced!
On our last day we treated ourselves to a relaxing massage from the lovely Coco which was fabulous.

Didier and Andrea it was an absolute pleasure to meet you and we hope one day to stay with you again, Hassan thank you for all your advice and help during our stay and to all the other staff Abderahim,Aziz,Nourreddine,Anouar,Hannane,Badr,Mariem,Bouchrra,Amina,Leila,Abdelmoula, Coco and Mustapha you are all wonderful and Rob and I would like to thank you for making our stay at the Riad Noir D'Ivoire so very special and a memory we will hold on to forever!! (Shukran!)

Au revoir, et a la prochaine!!

Rob & Abi x

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoirdIvoire, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Abi, dear Rob,
Thank you very much for your review. The whole Team is happy that you enjoyed your stay. And thank you very much to mention all the names of the Team ! We feel special !

We are looking forward to welcome you some day.

Joyeux anniversaire Abi !

Andrea & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We met lovely Lou and Ali at the Riad who wrote the previous review and we share the comments they have made entirely.

You are met from the taxi with Couscous the Donkey and are led through a few narrow northern side streets which are alive with local life and residents. These streets were far more interesting to me than the Souks.

Through the front door you are met with a warm and friendly welcome from the wonderful Didier, Andrea and Hassan who make sure your every need is catered for. With a wonderful feeling of tranquility and peace, this really is a stunning Riad which has been designed and furnished to the highest standard

We stayed in Panthere. This room is everything and more we had read and imagined. Large with an outstanding bath, your own front balcony which overlooks the summer courtyard and pool. Perfect for an evening tipple whilst getting ready to head off into the Marrakech night or downstairs for cocktails and delicious food. The terrace is accessed via a separate flight of stairs, which is close to the room and very discreet. The terrace is a really lovely space with a covered area and dining table, 3 sun beds and a large covered jacuzzi. A great space to chill, dine and unwind. For sun lovers, sun pretty much all day and shade to cool off with misters above the table.

We had a very nice Moroccan meal prepared by Mama on our terrace under the stars which was perfect with a surprise birthday cake at the end of the evening. With the addition of Andrea’s delicate French touch, which we also had on another evening, (and yes, that chocolate is to die for!) the Riad is a lovely place to spend an evening.

We travelled off-season, the heat was no problem for us. The warm nights dining out and a late night swim in the Riad were very special. At times it felt like we were the only ones there.

Hassan can organise anything you want and is a star during your stay. Organising taxis out, you are given a mobile to call him when you are ready to come back. The taxi is with you within minutes. You feel very secure knowing the hotel and Hassan are just a phone call away. There was always someone waiting for you, and to serve you, back at the Riad until you were ready to hit the sack. Hassan made reservations for us, organised trips and with Didier gave great recommendations for restaurants. The phone also doubles-up as a phone for room service. Fast service and always extremely courteous staff.

A trip to the Atlas mountains (organised by Hassan) is well worth it, outstanding scenery and life. We had a lovely lunch at Richard Branson’s Hotel and our guide for the day looked after us very well.

We both experienced Coco’s Hammam followed by a massage, enjoyed by both of us. Solid gone after!!! It’s a must!

We can’t recommend Noire D’Ivoire enough and thank you Didier, Andrea and of course Hassan and all the staff who made our stay so special.

à bientôt

Gary & Karen x

Room Tip: All suites are fabulous, this really depends on budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad d, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Karen, dear Gary,
Thank you very much for your review. We are impressed by all the details you brought about your stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit. We will make sure to share your comments with the whole Team.

Merci beaucoup !


Andrea & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife an I stayed for 4 nights in Marrakech at Riad Noir d'lvoire. A beautiful hotel with stunning rooms and 5 star service. The perfect place to escape the busy Medina at the the end of a hot day. The hotel team were extremely friendly and it felt like we were staying with family. Thanks so much for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad d, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Chris,
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry for our late answer. We don't know why, but your review just posted today on our site.
Thanks for the nice photos. Our donkey, Couscous, is very happy to get his portrait !

And, yes, you are part of our family !!!!

Merci beaucoup.

Andréa & Dider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this Riad because it is no.1 on Tripadvisor. It totally lives up to everything everyone says. You enter the Riad through a discreet door from the dusty alleyway and are transported into a completely stunning environment. I cannot express enough the feeling of escapism & total relaxation. Paradise. We booked the Guepard suite which was beautiful. The staff are so discreet you feel like you are in your own private retreat. The new owners Didier and Andrea are so personable and down to earth it was a pleasure to meet them. Andrea makes the best chocolate parfait outside of France! The Manager, Hassan took care of our every need. Nothing was too much trouble. It was our wedding anniversary and Hassan secretly organised a surprise cake at the restaurant we ate at. They just go the extra mile.
I did say to them all as we left I was going to write a terrible review as I didn't want anyone else to discover this beautiful place. A huge thankyou to all of the staff for making our stay so thoroughly enjoyable. We tried to think of something that may need improvement but we just couldn't. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Guepard Suite door opens onto the gorgeous swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad d, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour Louise,
We are so happy (and relieved...) that you changed your mind of writing a terrible review ! We will share your nice comments with the entire team.
Thank you again for your stay at Noir d'Ivoire !
Merci beaucoup !!!!

Andrea & Didier

PS. don't forget to keep practicing your French....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Riad is located among the back streets of a market. One cannot be prepared for what meets the eye when the door is opened and one enters inside. Its cool, sultry romantic ambiance is a total unexpected surge of pleasure. I felt as though I was transported back in time. This Riad has to be experienced; words are not really enough to do it justice.

The service (staff) in this Riad is outstanding. Hands down they are just an amazing team of people who like each other and work well together - and it shows. The manager, Didier and his wife Andrea are as lovely as can be. Andrea is an amazing cook; she had only been there for little more than a week but she had already managed to inject her amazing cooking skills into the breakfast and dinner menus. Didier was extremely solicitous, always making sure we were taken care of and comfortable.

Afaf is the assistant manage. Not only is she hilarious but a wealth of information about where to go and how to get there. When we arrived, my mom was not feeling well and the staff did everything they could to ensure she felt better. Anwar and Hicham showed great concern for my mom's well being. They are both really lovely, kind people. The staff even organized a traditional Moroccan remedy which she claimed helped almost immediately. Hasan, Mohammed who drove us to and from the airport and gave us a few lifts here and there, Mariam, who is wonderfully funny, Latifa (Mama :), Laila and Abdul were all wonderful. I really hope I haven't forgotten anyone here. If I have I hope they forgive me.

I won't ever forget this hotel or the wonderful people who made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad d, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 33541,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help your mother to feel better.The whole Team of Noir d'Ivoire wanted you to feel treated as a personal guest rather than just as a customer. We are going to share your very nice comments with the whole Team. And thank you for your feedback about the food. As you may know, food is a big "thing" in Moroccan and French cultures ! So, you can imagine how happy we are !!!!
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again some day ? Looking forward to it !

Andrea & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.