We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still unbeatable; thank you team!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still unbeatable; thank you team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For our second visit to this wonderful riad, we chose to come in mid-August, when the weather was about as hot as can be. The riad was, however, cool and we enjoyed our four nights there in every way. As before, the suites were magnificent, beautiful and comfortable, and despite the change in ownership and management, everyone there made us feel so welcome and attended so much to our comfort that we have to try to thank them all by name; Didier and Andrea; Hassan, Afaf, Anwar, Abdul, Hicham (spelling?), Mohamed, Mariam, Laila (spelling?) and Latifa. Have I missed anyone? If so I apologise. Didier and Andrea, who have quite recently arrived, I believe, have quickly established themselves there and have introduced an optional element of French cuisine to both the breakfast and dinner. And it's still one of the finest places to stay anywhere. We always try to find some fault, but it's difficult here, although my wife considered that ceiling fans might be a sensible addition.

Room Tip: All the suites are great, and individual. We've tried 5 of them so far and loved them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad d, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your review ! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our additional “French touch”. We will make sure to share your comments with the whole Team. By the way you did a great job by remembering all the names ! Regarding your suggestion about the ceiling fans, we are going to look into it for the next hot season.
A bientot ?
Andrea & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
102
603
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent three nights at this superb Riad. We were met by the famous 'Cous Cous' the donkey (thankfully a healthy and clearly well cared for example) - a nice touch. This city of contrasts could not be better represented as we entered this sumptuous Riad from the hot dusty streets of the medina. The welcome of all the staff from Manager to Housekeeping was faultless, and continued so throughout our stay. There was always somebody at hand to help at any moment but professionaly discreet, giving rise to a private and homely atmosphere. Our bedroom had a contemporary, yet traditional style featuring a large stone bath - full length for any height. Altogether very comfortable, and cool, with efficient air-conditioning. There are many rooms and areas, including the spacious roof garden, where one can relax in a setting to suit the time or mood. We had the optional evening dinner, timed at our pleasure, on two of three nights and we left it to the house to choose the three course meal. A delicious meal each time - with good wine, in a lovely candlelit setting amongst the banana trees by the pool and waterfall. On venturing out for walks it was reassuring to be handed a mobile phone with all the hotel contacts and a genuine promise to be 'found' anywhere, should we get lost. Shopping in the immediate area of the Riad was perhaps even more authentic than the Jamaa El Fna main square - and much less hassle. Curiously, but in keeping with the Noir d'Ivoire name, there is a grand piano in one of the courtyards. I wouldn't have thought that pianists were in abundance here but no matter - it plays itself! It all adds to the luxurious atmosphere that it is the Noir d'Ivoire, but the the feature that would be most difficult to top is the quality and personal nature of the service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Context: Spent first 2 nights of week long trip to Marrakesh. Was greeted at the airport and taken to the outskirts of the Medina where the Riad’s donkey, Cous Cous, pulled our luggage through the alleyways of the old town to Noire D’Ivoire. The exterior of the riad – much like every other one we saw during our stay – is very discreet. But do not be misled, the inside is exquisitely decorated. Our host, Hassan, was there to serve us hot mint tea and coffee. After a quick overview of the riad, he led us around on a tour to see the winter courtyard, summer courtyard (with pool), and roof terrace (where we enjoyed both of our breakfasts). Throughout our stay, Hassan made himself incredibly available – with the help of a cell phone which they provide every guest with, loaded with helpful phone numbers. He arranged for dinner reservations, had another staff member walk us to dinner our first night as we were not familiar with the winding roads yet, etc.

We stayed in the Tourterelles room which is a standard queen bed room on the second floor of the winter courtyard. It was cozy, but beautiful and clean. Bed was average, but layout was great and all that we needed as we did not spend much time in the riad itself. Every room has A/C and basic toiletries (ladies, there is a hairdryer, but if you’re coming from the states and have a hair straightener, the outlets sadly burned out mine). Bathroom had private room for toilet and a waterfall shower head with a seating area. After our first night, we asked them to do some laundry which they did quickly and without charge. Water is also unlimited in the rooms, which in a hot place like Marrakesh, is an important savings.

As for meals, we dined at the riad itself for dinner one night and breakfast both mornings. The quality was fine, but we were not keen on the overdone and uninteresting tagine that Morocco has to offer for dinner and the abundance of carbohydrates they prepare for breakfast. I will say that the coffee was the best we had throughout our week in Morocco and the wait staff was incredibly accommodating and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon entering this beautiful Riad you are greeted with warmth, offered a drink and brought into the serene lobby to check in. Quite the contrast to the hustle and bustle of the square. The atmosphere is one of beauty and serenity. Hassan, the manager, took great care to welcome us and treat us like family. We were a party of 5, occupying 3 rooms. The rooms were beautiful. We were in the Zebre Master Suite, the Chameau Suite and Torterelles. The Zebre suite comes with it's on roof top terrace and outdoor hot tub. My husband and I loved the lay out of the Chameau suite with it's camel decor and comfortable chairs to lounge in both in the room and right outside the door. There is a beautiful soaking tub in both the Zebre Master Suite and the Chameau Suite. We were given cell phones by the hotel to use to communicate with each other and with hotel staff. Breakfast was served pool side or you have the option of room service. The pool area is lovely and has a peaceful water feature. In the summer you are able to look up at the sky. Any meals we had at the hotel were delicious and elegant. We were there during Ramadan and were grateful for the beautiful bar. I cannot emphasize the quality of the service provided. Every staff member knows your name and greets you with smiles. This beautiful hotel/riad is not to be missed if you are traveling to Marrakech. Gloria R.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are quieter if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Riad is in itself a pearl in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech. Each room is fully oriented to delight the senses.
The staff guide my steps all the time and was really helpful in my first visit to Marrakech.
The decoration is made with class, the bar is really a relaxing and cosy space, the top roof is designed for rest and breath a bit of a Marrakech's air.

Room Tip: Check on the website for the room that suits better your expectations. All are adorable and really t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The moment we met affaf , Abdul, and the beautiful hannan we felt we were coming home to an oasis in the amazing hectic marrakesh . This is a place not to be missed an experience that is just so out of the ordinary .. We cannot wait to return . There were many other people that looked after us and whom I cannot thank enough. Thank you for the Devine Hamamm and massage the beautiful dinner the amazing breakfast and just looking after us . If you have the opportunity to stay here, you must. There is no other place to stay that will be better, and I thoroughly looked into places to stay for our family of 5 ( ages ranging 23-48). This riad is home not a hotel . It is Devine

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampanga Province, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay in Noir d'Ivoire was excellent! The staff made us feel so special. My friend enjoyed so much the hospitality and great accommodation extended to us. Our room was even upgraded for the same price we booked! There is no place like home but in Noir d'ivoire they made you feel you're home. Their service is so personalized! We will surely recommend this to our friends and fellow filipinos.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.