We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad - impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad - impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days in Morrocco to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and our stay at Noir d'Ivoire was certainly a highlight. The riad is located in the Medina and a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the Souks and is a tranquil oasis. As everyone else has commented, this is very unlike a stay in a hotel - you are treated like family more than guests. Rather than a standard "check-in", we were welcomed with a drink and Afaf sat us down to explain a few things. They then presented us with our own mobile phone for the duration of out stay so if we needed anything we could just ring. That might be to say where we wanted to take breakfast (in our room, in the central courtyard, on the roof terrace etc....!) or a call to be guided out of the souk maze (luckily not needed). Such a nice idea but one that demonsrates the lengths they go to offer the personal touch. Afaf, Hassan and the rest of the team are extremely hospitable and very knowledgable about the city. They even helped us organise a bit of the trip that wasn't even organised by them. We didn't try the food in the riad as we ate out in the Medina every night but slightly regretted it as every night we returned to talk to those who had eaten in the riad who said it was amazing, where our's was a little average. Probably not a good place for those with young children as part of the charm is the peacefulness. As lovely as they are, my three children would probably not enhance that tranquilness! Believe all the hype - it's amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
102
603
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Noir d'Ivoire is a perfect paradise inside the busy and crowdy Marrakesh! We have just returned from our trip in Morocco of which we spent 6 nights in this amazing riad. Our words are few to describe these days in Riad Noir d'Ivoire. We were welcomed by Hassan and he introduced us to whole stuff! We even didn't carry our baggages up to the room! Hassan gave us an excellent map and tips for what we will visit, eat, buy etc. Afaf also recommended some places to see and both were there every time we wanted them. They also give us a cell phone to give them a call any time of the day if we needed something or in case we got lost to sent someone to pick us up. Everything we wished for was in our room or booked for us. The stuff was so friendly, kind and they always give you a big smile!! Our suite (panther) was also amazingly furnished and so so clean!!! The riad is full of luxury and you feel like you open the door to paradise! One night we stayed for dinner in the riad and Mama cooked a delicious meal for us! Hicham also was always there for us and he arranged many of our excursions! Breakfast was excellent! Hassan and Afaf said "this is your home now feel free to ask everything you need"!! We believe these words give the whole picture....!!!! The location was perfect for wandering around the Medina! Hassan recommended some places for dinner or lunch and we definitely believe he knows what will please you!!! We even had the opportunity to have our private taxi driver Mohamed who is also very kind and has a beautiful sense of humor, he even dropped us until the door of the Riad when we were out late at night! Believe us, having a private taxi driver that you know he will pick you every time you want and he will leave you just outside of the riad is a big relief in Morocco. We left the riad at 5:30 am and they even had ready the breakfast for us! Everything was fabulous and we thank all the stuff for our beautiful stay and memories in Marrakesh!!! We definitely recommend this place and we eager to come back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Marrakech, the first three nights of which were spent in this magical place. The experience was fautless, We were met at the airport, as arranged and driven to as near to the Riad as a car can get. Then we were met by Riad staff and the house donkey, Cous Cous (a very sweet donkey, by the way) who towed a little cart with our luggage in it through busy alleys to the Riad itself. Unremarkable from the outside, we entered a different world. We were welcomed by Hassan and Afaf and given a welcome drink and painless check in. Were also given a really excellent map, with a detailed version overleaf and - a great touch this - our personal mobile phone with the Riad's number, as well as those of Afaf, Hassan and Hicham programmed into it. This was our means of calling for any service, their means of contacting us and a mobile panic button if we got lost. Thanks to the excellence of the map, we never did!

The riad comprises two buildings, which intercommunicate. The original one houses the winter, covered, courtyard with a small swimming pool, reception, a little boutique and six rooms, some of which are junior suites. There is a roof terrace with open views. The second building houses the bar, a wonderful open summer courtyard with a larger pool, a fumoir and the hammam. There are three master suites in this section, one of which we had, all of which have their own roof terraces. The decor and attention to detail was faultless. Our suite was excellent with powerful air conditioning (necessary) a beautiful bathroom and sitting room overlooking the courtyard.

Service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble and the staff were all charming. Mama's food was excellent - breakfasts were delicious and dinner was so good that we dined at the Riad twice. The location was perfect in the North Medina and only 15 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the central square, with souks on the way. It was a pretty easy walk to the Majorelle Gardens in the New Town and on to the centre. So all in all a perfect location for a magical little place. We went to La Mamounia for lunch one day. It seemed over large, expensive and impersonal. We were so pleased to return to our home from home in the Medina. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: I can only speak for our room, a master suite called Guepard. It was spacious, beautifully appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Noir D'Ivoire is a really wonderful oasis of peace, style, and luxury right in the centre of the old city. It’s a small boutique hotel, beautifully appointed, and with the intimacy of the second home of one’s dreams. The food and service and staff were great and Hassan (the manager) could not have been more helpful. Wonderful hotel which can be unreservedly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are particularly desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had the most amazing time at Noir D'Ivoire. From the moment we arrived and met couscous (the Donkey) and Hassan we were made to feel like the Riad was our second home. The Riad and rooms are incredible and extremely luxurious. I would highly recommend this place if you are planning a trip to Marrakesh. The restaurant recommendations were spot on and the map Hassan gave us made sure we didn't get lost (too much)! The location was perfect for wandering the small alleys in the Medina, the souk and the main square. We had the most amazing breakfast every morning served by the amazing staff. Great place highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Riad Noir d'lvoire in April for 4 nights and were so glad we picked this particular riad ti stay at. Believe all the good reviews you read, as they are true. Hassa the assistant manager made us feel so welcome upon our arrival and was always around at answer any of the queries and questions, nothing was too much trouble, he was a true delight. The rest of the staff at the riad were also wonderful, always ready with a smile and a hello. Try a treatment with 'Madam Coco' the inhouse beauty therapist as we really enjoyed this and the Hammam was so relaxing. Mama the cook dished up some delicious meals on the nights we opted to eat in so again highly recommended. The riad has 2 cats which potter abouT the place and this for me was a highlight. If you felt like some feline company then 'Bouyot' or 'Forrest' were never far away.

We opted for a guide to take us around the medina and souks on the day after our arrival, just so we could get a feel for the area before being let loose on our own. We found this, although fairly expensive at 20 euro per hour, worth it. The riad organised this for us and the guide collected us from the riad at a time which suited us. Only point to note is that although you use an 'official guide' you may still be taken to the 'carpet sellers' and other various shops that sell lotions and potions (I'm sure its because it is all commission driven) but if you don't mind that like we didn't just enjoy the atmopshere.

We stayed in the Elephant room and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, overlooking the winter courtyard drinking mint tea and the odd glass of red wine :-)

Breakfast each morning was substancial and filling and we liked the fact that we could have it at anytime that suited us. We ate all mornings on the roof in the sunshine, it was perfect.

Another thing that attracted me to the riad was Couscous the donkey, who carried our luggage to and from the riad. What a well looked after and sweet donkey. We rewarded him with polo mints so if you have room in your bag for a small packet of polos I'm sure he would appreciate them :-)

Anyway, if your heading to Marrakech, my husband and I highly recommend this beautiful riad, you won't be disappointed.

P.S - take your french phrase book, it will come in handy in and around Marrakech.
P.P.S - thank you Hassan for looking after us so wonderfully, Paula & Chris, Cheshire, UK

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was the first place my husband, child (9 yrs.) and myself stayed upon arrival in Morocco and a long 24 hours of flying and layovers. We decided, after our 19 day tour of the country and staying at many high end riads, it was our favorite and a step above all the others. Having the cellphone to call staff, which we did use, to help us navigate the medina our first few days as well as the beautiful room (panther suite) and outdoor terrace for dining/jacuzzi was fabulous. We also had privacy, something I found lacking in some of the other places we stayed along our journey. The staff were helpful and will get you anything you need or ask for if at all possible. The breakfast was probably one of the better we had during our trip. If you do want to stay here with children, they should be older and well mannered (they sent me an email about this when booking) and I can see why having stayed at the property. There are many stairs, there are cats, and guests come here to relax and don't want to hear to many voices within the walls of the riad. It is a very quite, tasteful place with a peace that is wonderful to come "home" to after the craziness of the Marrakech medina. Highly recommend, especially for the first few days of a long journey. The high price of accommodation still is a value. We stayed at a couple other properties, which were in the same price range, and felt Riad Noir d'Ivoire offered the best value.

If there was any niggling criticism, it would be that the jacuzzi on the roof top terrace for the panther suite was not hot, just rather luke warm, but that really is a small thing as we didn't have time to use it much but hotter water would be nice. Can't think of anything else!

Room Tip: Panther Suite is a good choice if you have a child and offers a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.