We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well looked after in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“well looked after in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Marrakech which, thanks to the wonderful staff at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, was hassle free and really relaxing. The riad is beautiful with a mixture of sunny areas, covered areas, nooks and crannies to tuck away with a beer or a (frankly great) cup of English breakfast!
Our room (Elephant) was big, airy and grand with an amazing bathroom. You get a fluffy robe, slippers and a mobile phone which gives you direct contact to staff at all times should you need a drink, a restaurant booking or even rescuing if you get lost in the winding alleyways of the old town.
The pool is small (but oh so welcome in the dusty heat) and there are only a few beds but we never struggled to find a place - there is so much to do that most people only spend an hour or so lounging before dashing off to the souks etc.
Breakfasts were the perfect mix of healthy and naughty with great coffee and lunches light and delicious. We even ate in the courtyard one evening and although not fancy the food was tasty and the wine very drinkable.
Thank you to the exceptional staff (one to every guest) for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
104
618
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire in April 2014 for four nights, our first trip to Marrakech. From the care and thought given by Afaf during the booking process, the perfect transfer (including the donkey) to the delightful staff and wonderful building, this is one of the very best boutique hotels in the world. So many thoughtful touches - fire in the room, DVDs, superb food, lessons in making a cosmopolitan cocktail, trips to the mountains, private guides - that makes this place your own personal palace. We had a meal and drinks at the La Mamounia, which was very grand and worth doing. However, as the taxi driver, organised by Hassan, arrived to take us back to the Riad (plus a night time tour of the City with his lovely little daughter) we were so pleased that we were staying at the Noir d'Ivoire. No need to have any doubts, this the most splendid place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We - a couple celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary - spent 4 nights in the Riad Noir d'Ivoire. We had never been to Marrakech before and therefore didn't know the city at all. After a 15 minute taxi ride from the Airport, we followed the Riads Donkey (Cous Cous) taking our bags down narrow winding streets for 5 minutes before going through an ordinary door in a narrow street to be greeted a large, quiet, calm and beautiful interior in total contrast to the bustling streets outside.
The hospitality and service were excellent. No buildings in Marrakech can be higher than 3 floors so that the Minarets are always easily identified. The Riad has a roof terrace that therefore enables you to see over the top of all the other buildings of the city and off to the snow-covered Atlas Mountains in the distance.
We ate in for our first night and the food was excellent and then ate out for the other 3 evenings. Our room - Zebre - was luxurious, we had our own private roof terrace, where we could have breakfast and tea in the afternoon and our own hot-tub. We also used the lovely, relaxing Spa and Hammam.
Hassan organised a Day Trip to the Atlas Mountains which is not to be missed.
The service we received at the Riad from Hassan, Afaf and all the staff was fantastic, courteous, helpful and it's very easy to understand why this Riad is ranked so highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had the nicest and most relaxing days I can remember in a long long time.

The place is beautiful, the staff is fantastic (Hassan, Hyssan and all others), extremely helpful and friendly.

Definitely want to come back to experience it all over again!

Room Tip: Stayed at Guepard - Master Suite. Beautiful suite, with all you need to experience the most relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We made this booking based on the recommendations of other reviews on Marrakech and I am very glad that we did. The staff at the Riad (Afaf, Hassan and the rest of the team) were incredibly helpful and friendly and attended to our every request (of which there were many!) with a smile. Marrakech can be quite chaotic and overwhelming but we were very well looked after by all the staff. The suite which we stayed in (Panthere) was absolutely gorgeous and the Moroccan food cooked by Mama was delicious. The facial done by Madam Coco is also the best facial I have had in Europe, hands down. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. But again, the thing that really made the Riad for me was the service. We had friends who were in Marrakech around the same time as us and when I compare our stay with theirs, it was clear how fantastic Riad Noir d'Ivoire was. Riad Noir d'Ivoire made sure we were taken care of at all times, from arranging to pick us up, to getting Cous Cous the well cared for donkey to carry our luggage, making sure we were escorted out of the Riad and through the medina so that we didn't get lost and running out with umbrellas to shelter us when it was raining. I cannot say enough complimentary things about the Riad and I am usually very critical and difficult to impress! A wonderful stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Lying in bed at 4.30am and listening to the lilting strains of the muezzin's call to prayer filled me with a strange peace. Morocco is a hauntingly beautiful city coloured with a palette of rose red hues, its chaos tempered with the charm and hospitality of its people. I've dreamed of visiting Morocco for many years and was finally able to see it with a couple of friends in April 2014.

I have made an attempt to limit the hyperbole in this review but it is difficult when I think about how well we were taken care of at the Riad Noir'dIvoire. The Riad itself was beautiful, constructed in classic Moroccan style with pretty fountains burbling in cool indoor courtyards, and our room the Panthere Suite lived up to our expectations. Actually, I had to pick my jaw off the floor when I saw how beautiful the room was.

Our stay was perfect, every tiny little detail well thought out to ensure our comfort and safety. We received a mobile phone from which we could send out an SOS to the Riad if taxi drivers got lost, personal escorts to and from the main street, maps and travel advice on things to do in Morocco and books and magazines to read on lazy mornings. Kudos to Afaf, Hassan and their team, including the wonderful Aziz, Badr and the master of the kitchen, Mama. I truly wish I had thought of volunteering to assist Mama in the kitchen during my stay just so I could have picked up a few more tips on how to prepare Moroccan food! The highlight of my stay was the impromptu visit to Mama's kitchen on my last day and being taught how to use a tagine (i.e. fill it with water for 24 hours prior to using it for the first time to prevent cracking) and how to make preserved lemons at home. Mama's rustic Moroccan cooking was hearty and comforting, truly divine. If you have a chance to, try her beef with prune tagine.

I would recommend this Riad without reservation to anyone who asks for tips on where to stay in Marakesh.

With best wishes to the Noire d'Ivoire Team
Carolyn

Room Tip: The Panthere suite... fireplace, giant tub, private jacuzzi and terrace....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Wonderful relaxing, restorative 4 night stay at Le Riad Noir D'Ivoire, which is a hidden gem in the middle of Marrakech. We were welcomed and looked after throughout our stay by the charming Hassan, who helped us with plans and bookings, and a team of quiet, capable staff. We stayed in The Gepard suite, which had several rooms, and a private roof terrace from which we could see the stars and enjoy the city from a distance.
The food was delicious, fruit, yoghurt and coffee just the first course of a breakfast feast which set us up for the day. In the evening, the sound of water falling was the backdrop to a lovely dinner at a table strewn with rose petals. This is a delightful place.
Thank you to Hassan and to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.