We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st review as this Riad is outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our 1st review as this Riad is outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our two daughters were booked to go on the school ski trip so for the first time in 14 years had a chance to have a four day break during school term anywhere in Europe. We wanted somewhere warm so chose Marrakech and had been advised by a well travelled couple we met on holiday last year to stay at Riad Noir D'Ivoire. Booking by e-mail was easy and Rebeca, who is amazing, organised the transfer from the airport (telling us not to pay the driver which was helpful) and a meal on arrival - a daily dish based on family recipes by "Mama". So far so good.

Everything went as planned and Rebeca met us, like long lost friends, at the Riad with a hug and a glass of Champagne. We stayed in Panthere, which is the most wonderful room with a balcony which caught the morning sun and overlooked the pool - we also had a log fire each evening. In the morning Rebeca gave us a helpful map and briefed us about how to find our way around and we were given a mobile phone with useful numbers to use during our stay. She seemed to instinctively know what we would like and we weren't disappointed.

We really enjoyed our walks around the Medina and always looked forward to returning to the tranquil surroundings and attentive staff at the Riad. Breakfast is served all day so we went our early a couple of times and returned late morning for breakfast and a swim which worked well. Rebeca booked Le Tobsil and Le Jardin which were both very good and we used the Hammam and Spa at the Riad which were also excellent and very convenient.

We had a fantastic break in this wonderful Riad made all the better by Rebeca whose joie de vivre sets the atmosphere and filters down to the guests and staff. An excellent, highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Panthere is special, a large room with balcony that catches the morning sun, a private roof terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    25
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
120
722
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Outstanding service! This place is an oasis amid the chaos of Marakesch. We stayed in the Zebre Suite and had our own private terrace for Dinning and spa which was something we loved as it's just not possible for us in London. The staff are all super friendly and really helpful. I can't fault them.
The Riad itself is beautiful. It traditional yet has a contemporary edge. We saw other Riads during our visit and they weren't as good (for our taste).
Finally, Rebecca's itinerary planning was impeccable - this made our stay truly 5 star.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was by far the most luxurious hotel experience I have ever had! My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of February/beginning of March 2014. It would not even be correct to call Riad Noire D'Ivoire a hotel, as it is really a home away from home. From the moment I was picked up by a lovely gentleman at the airport who encouraged me to practice my French with him, I felt completely at ease. Upon arriving, Rebeca welcomed me with a hug at the door and I was treated to champagne- a welcome beginning after a long flight! Then I met the wonderful Afaf, who was always smiling and incredibly helpful with loads of information about the area. The entire staff just anticipated our every need with such care...it was all of the little things...from Momma's home-cooked delicious tagines, to the cellphone they give you to make communicating easy, to calling while we were in the desert to assure dinner would be waiting on our return, to wrapping the cooking tagine I bought in bubble wrap to make sure it was safe for my return flight- everyone was so thoughtful and their hospitality made the trip a delight... I mentioned that I wanted to buy spices and Abdul took me a great authentic apothecary in the medina on the back of his motorcycle! And the best was the surprise when we returned from out desert trip- we were upgraded to the gorgeous Panthere suite and treated to a private, amazing meal in the library, all to celebrate our birthdays! Riad Noire D'Ivoire is truly a special retreat in Marrakech- it deserves to be #1 on Tripadvisor!

-Many thanks, from Joette and Erik

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at Riad Noir d’Ivoire in June 2013. When we were looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech we spent a lot of time reviewing different hotels and Riad’s on tripadvisor. The Riad Noir D’Ivoire stood out with beautiful photos and high praise from all. We loved the sound of The Riad Noir D’Ivoire so much that we changed to date of our trip to ensure we could stay at Riad Noir d’Ivoire……….thankfully it did not disappoint. The ambiance, the décor and the fabulous staff make this a fantastic retreat from the madness of Marrakech.

We stayed in the Camel room and it was truly lovely. It was a real treat to stay somewhere where so much thought had been put into the décor. I travel extensively in the middle east and it was so nice to stay somewhere that was original and different but with all the luxury touches that you expect from a good hotel.

We spent the end of our days on the roof terrace which was great after a day touring the souks. We also tried the spa and relaxed by the pool. All of which were fantastic for chilling out.

If you are arriving late we would also highly recommend eating in the Riad as Mamma does great food!!!

What was also really appreshiated was the helpfulness of all the staff! We really did feel looked after and it added a lovely “personal” touch to the holiday. Thanks to all the team for making our trip fantastic!

Room Tip: updgrade to a suit if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our second trip to Marrakech and we chose to stay in this Riad.
We were not disappointed. The Riad is located within the walls of the Medina and around a 15 minute walk from the Djemaa el Fna.
We stayed in the Panther suite which was just beautiful and nothing was too much trouble for
Afaf and the team. They also made some great recommendations for places to eat.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Absolutely wonderful - we stayed here for four nights in February 2014 and it was our first visit to Marrakech.

We arranged pickup and transfer through the hotel from the airport (highly recommend - you do NOT want to try and find this place on your own!) - no issues at all. We were greeted by hotel staff and Cous Cous the donkey, and then escorted through the streets to the riad.

We were welcomed by the lovely Rebecca, who made us feel so welcome, who found out what we wanted to do during our trip, and made some recommendations, and just generally chatted about anything and everything - so friendly! She then gave us a tour and left us in our room.

Unfortunately I was ill during our stay, but Rebecca and the staff were so caring, making sure I received special tea to help with my cold, and making sure I had what I needed.

Loved the cats who lived there too! The room was lovely, and they give you a mobile phone to take out with you, with their phone numbers in, in the event you get lost or just need help.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - it wasn't cheap but I honestly would pay again to receive such a wonderful, friendly experience.

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking the courtyard, but I am sure any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of March and without a doubt the service and attention to detail far exceeded that of any hotel. This is a truly special Riad – and if you are going to Marrakech you have to stay here.

The thoughtfulness of the staff starts before you have even left home. For example they will arrange a taxi (and donkey!!) transfer for you, ask whether you would like dinner on arrival or would like any local restaurant reservations making.

Once we arrived we were warmly greeted by Rebecca, who sat and had a glass of champagne with us, she chatted to us like we were old friends – so much so that you forget you are checking in and immediately start to relax and feel at home. We were given a mobile phone for use pre-programmed with all the Riad contact numbers in case we got lost in the Medina and also a very detailed map with photos of landmarks to help navigate the labyrinth of streets. This is a real nice touch as even though we didn’t need it for directions, having the phone gave us the peace of mind to explore more than we would have necessarily done without it.

Breakfast was amazing – fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and orange juice/ coffee served anywhere you want at whatever time you want. We chose to eat on the roof terrace each day and on all 3 occasions we were the only guests sat there which made it feel like our own home. Rebecca also gave us some invaluable advice – if you plan on visiting the Jardin Majorelle go early (8am) and then come back and enjoy breakfast afterwards as the gardens are beautiful but they do get busy – when we were leaving at 10am there were coach loads of tourists which would have ruined the experience – it is these type of invaluable tips that really help make your trip special.

When we wanted to eat out the Riad would not only recommend places to go but also book a taxi and make the reservation. Mohammed the taxi driver would walk to the Riad door and escort us to the taxi which was great as after dark we didn’t fancy venturing out unaccompanied. The Riad pre-programmed Mohammed’s number into the mobile so once we’d finished dining all we had to do was call him and he would collect us and take us back to the Riad. Now you can’t beat that for customer service!

It must also be said that everyone would great us so warmly when they saw us and it created such a nice atmosphere. We shared a drink some evenings with Steve the owner and also the other Riad guests who were all lovely. The fire which is lit each evening in the winter courtyard and the cats (Tinkerbell and Byot?), also added to the friendly and homely atmosphere.

A review doesn’t do this place justice, as there are too many positives to mention – all I can say is if you are unsure of whether or not to book just do it, you won’t regret your choice.

Thank you everyone for making our stay so amazing – I just wish you would open up more accommodation like this all around the world as wherever we go now will have the impossible job of matching these standards!

Jill & Robin

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.