We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is such a fantastic place.. reminded me of Babington House in terms of service and overall experience (although is such a different cultural setting!). The service is impeccable and the atmosphere wonderful.

We booked the Panther suite and were not disappointed. It was spacious and sumptuous. We had breakfast each morning on our roof terrace and felt very spoilt. The food was wonderful- great quality and variety (each morning we had different baked goods with breakfast).

The service is unobtrusive but highly attentive. The decor is beautiful and overall the experience makes sure you do not want to leave. Marrakesh is a wonderful city but the pace and buzz is a little mad- the Riad Noir is a real oasis of calm and indulgence.

We also used the Hamman which was lovely- followed by a great massage.

One small negative, we asked them to book us a trip to trip to the Ourika valley. It was very expensive (my fault I did not ask first) and while the car and driver was nice, we had to pay a guide and pay for lunch additionally. We could have saved more than €100 if we had organised it ourselves.

I would visit the Riad Noir d'Ivoire again in a heart beat. A very special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
604
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for our 10th Wedding anniversary, ( arrived home yesterday). We can not shout loudly enough about this Riad... The staff, food, decor.... It was all totally amazing. We stayed in Zebre suite... The roof terrace & hot tub were so romantic, we loved our supper served on the first evening right there on our private terrace... Beautiful discreet service, gorgeous food & the Moroccan wine was a huge surprise! Delicious !

Recommendations from Sophie Grigson were spot on, it was lovely to have some insider knowledge.

We would say the whole weekend was on par with our honeymoon, which was 2 x weeks in the beautiful Maldives 5* ... But this Riad was a very very close 2nd.

Thank you so so so much everyone at Riad D'ivoire .... Afaf you are certainly worth your weight in gold!

See you soon
Emily & Fraser

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had the most fantastic stay at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire. Nothing was too much trouble and from the moment we stepped into this little oasis of calm we couldn't stop smiling. We spotted the same inane grin on the faces of everyone on their first day there. After a long day of travelling, being welcomed and sitting down with a mojito in the beautiful surroundings of the Riad made all of our stresses disappear in about 30 seconds..
We're normally a couple that looks after ourselves on holiday, we don't like to be a bother, we tend to keep fairly quiet and invisible, but here the smile was infectious, and all of the staff went out of their way to help. We felt like part of the family after a couple of days.

Afaf made sure we were absolutely confident leaving the Riad, she ensured we had a map and we always took the mobile phone with us (we christened it the Batphone) just in case we needed anything. Located in the midst of the medina, it was a fairly easy walk to get to the square and souks. Equally, we could walk to the Jardin Majorelle in the new town without any trouble. Knowing that we could be rescued if we got lost was absolutely invaluable to us and gave us the confidence to explore.
The spa treatments we had were utterly relaxing, the food Mama cooked for us was delicious, breakfast in a different spot every day ("On the roof terrace today, darling??"), the cheeky cats who entertained us.... the attention to detail was just fantastic. It was quiet, peaceful and the most relaxing break I think we've ever had.

Afaf booked dinner for us at the Cafe Arabe and La Maison Arabe. Both served delicious food and good wine and we had a lovely evenings in both of them. She also arranged a day trip into the Atlas Mountains which was just amazing! Lunch at the Kasbah Bab Ourika was eaten in the most beautiful setting (Kasbah Tamadot owned by Richard Branson was fully booked. I'm still sulking a bit about that!)

Afaf and the other staff at the Riad couldn't be more helpful and made our stay a complete pleasure. We felt safe, content and utterly looked after in this magical place and can't thank them enough for making our 10th anniversary treat an incredibly memorable one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying during a vacation to Morocco last month. It was one of the best places I have every stayed. A palace hidden in the bustling streets of Marrakech. It was nice to walk outside and be immersed in residential city streets but have the riad as a relaxing place to return to. The entire property is beautiful and well designed down to the smallest details. Loved the pool and the rooftop as well as the breakfast service. The complimentary mobile phones to use during your stay were very helpful for making reservations and keeping from getting lost in the souks. The staff is actually happy to come fetch you if you ever get lost and need a rescue.- their customer service doesn't stop outside the walls of the riad! Afaf was a wonderful host and helped arrange spa treatments and dinner reservations. A trip to Marrakech would not be complete without staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just got back from a trip to Marrakech and I am so happy that we booked our rooms at Riad Noir D'Ivoire. Not only is the property gorgeous, but the customer service was phenomenal. They truly go out of their way to make you feel as comfortable and at home as possible. Afaf took care of everything for us, from transport to spa reservations to restaurant recommendations (and reservations). I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone I know visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, for my partners birthday. From the time of booking the team at the riad took excellent care of all our requests and questions, and made every effort to provide us an excellent stay. And excellent it was.
The hotel is very discrete from the outside, tucked away in a narrow street north of the souk. Inside it's nothing short of wonderful, with a very elegant eclectic decor, and excedingly comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, both of them facing the pool courtyard. Again, what a fabulous interior design, very detailed, and what fun rooms to be in. Both had access to a private rooftop terrace with jacuzzi and lounge chairs, ideal for breakfast or late afternoon rest. The bathrooms were decadent, with huge sunlit walk in showers.
The pool was heated, and it felt just like swimming in an over the top giant bathtub. As the weather was greyish and not very hot, it was just perfect.
Rebeca and Damien, the team running the Riad, were super friendly and helpful at all times, which makes a huge difference especially in a city as foreign as Marrakesh. They told as all about the best places to visit, great advice on restaurants, what to buy and where, and really made our stay that much more special.
I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but had lunch a couple of times and it was quite good. Breakfast however could be improved.
I wholeheartedly recommend the Noir d'Ivoire for anyone looking for an authentic, intimate and stylish introduction to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is my most favourite place in the world. The Riad is exquisite. The service is exquisite. Rebeca and Afaf along with all of the staff are there to make your stay more than relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. I learnt about this place years ago, from reading an article, and have been back 4 times and can not wait to return. And I will. I can not recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.