We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this magnificent little jewel in the center of town in May. After walking through the alleys to get to the door you could not be more surprised at the oasis of luxury and style that we found. My only regret was that the hotel was so nice and the staff so accommodating that we really didn't want to leave and probably did not see as much of the town as we could have. The manager Rebecca was fantastic and made sure we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose this Riad based on the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed four nights and could easily have stayed longer. Everything said by previous reviewers is true - amazing service, lovely rooms, great food and just so very peaceful. The pool's a joy and do try the spa - the hammam is great! We spent the last day on a trip to the Atlas Mountains (organised by Rebeca) and had lunch at Bab Ourika which was lovely. We were celebrating a landmark birthday and treated to a surprise champagne breakfast, complete with birthday cake! Tip: do go to the Kosybar for sundowners and stork watching. Thanks so much to Rebeca and the team. They're number one on Tripadvisor for a very good reason - they are the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Riad was just the best place I have ever stayed and I've stayed in some pretty high end hotels.....Raffles in Singapore just to name drop one. The staff, the rooms, the atmosphere and the Hamam were all simply outstanding. I could not have been happier. Every single person was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble even when I had trouble with my international credit card the staff we happy to assist and get it sorted. I could not believe how good the entire experience was, there is not one single thing I would fault or even not give a perfect rating for, it really is that good. If your in Marrakech you have to stay at the Riad Nior d'Ivoire or you are missing out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Riad Noir d'Ivoire is one of the few hotels in the world that I have fallen in love with at first sight, and it delivered through the rest of the trip.

We arrived late at the riad thanks to a 5 hour delay on Royal Air Maroc. We were informed of 4 hours of the delay 2 days in advance and were able to warn the riad, but we still had trepidation that our driver would be waiting for us even the extra hour late. No problem. He was there, and quickly whisked us away from the airport in a comfortable van, telling us about the different areas of Marrakech along the way. Rebeca, the manager, had already told us that CousCous, the donkey, would not be able to take our bags through the small streets at that time of night, but no problem, we were assisted by a member of the staff through the small streets of the neighborhood to the riad. I will admit that I was a bit nervous at night my first time in the neighborhood--the streets are not well lit, but after being introduced to the neighborhood in the daylight I felt much better. Entering through the unmarked door on the small street in Bab Doukkala you would never know what an amazing guesthouse awaits you. A huge open courtyard, with an enormous chandelier, and a small pool. At night, the riad is absolutely magical, lit by the warm glow of dozens of Moroccan lanterns (we were so impressed, that we had to bring back one as a souvenir).

At the riad the first night we were well-taken care of by Hicham, who was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. If there is an award for employee of the year in Morocco, he should get it. He is so genuinely nice and welcoming. He showed us around the riad, and our beautiful room. We settled in one of the restful and romantic booths near the larger pool and enjoyed a late dinner, which we arranged earlier since we had late arrival--chicken tagine, which was delicious, although in retrospect, I think it may have been quail or pigeon, since it was quite bony. After dinner and a couple of Casablanca beers (which I highly recommend), we settled into our room, Gazelle. Gazelle is one of the two smallest rooms in the riad without any outdoor space, and due to being at full capacity, unfortunately, we could not upgrade, but it was just fine. Not very large, but spacious enough, with a sitting area, lovely rainfall shower, and a lot of charm.

After a wonderful rest, the next morning, we had a lovely breakfast (included in the price) on the rooftop terrace, and met with Rebeca to get a little introduction to Marrakech. Rebeca is nothing short of amazing. First of all, she speaks no less than 5 or 6 languages perfectly. We sat on one of the comfortable couches in the enormous foyer and she walked us through a map, made especially for the riad regarding the neighborhood, the souks, and the medina. Thanks to her map, we never got lost coming back to the hotel at all, and we felt very comfortable walking in the neighborhood, despite the fact that at night it is quite dark (we got lost in the souks, but as you will see, that is inevitable).

Another great perk of the hotel, they give you a local cell phone with Rebeca and Hicham's numbers programmed in, should you need it when you are out. Fantastic! We had a great three days staying at the riad. The only downside I see at all, is that it gets a bit crowded by poolside mid-afternoon (end of June) when the temperature soars and it is impossible but to do anything by lie by the pool. Of note, they do have several cats, which also lounge with you, making it feel a bit more like a home (a very luxurious one at that), but something to note if you have allergy. There is a hammam at the hotel, which we highly recommend. A great experience, and very relaxing. Madame Coco is the only masseur, and she was fantastic. In the words of my husband, "one of the best massages I have ever tried, anywhere in the world." I fell asleep during mine, but just note there is no such thing as a "couples massage". If you both want massages, one person will have to wait, but there is mint tea waiting, and I didn't find it to be a problem.

I will say we visited another riad once for dinner, with the assistance of Rebeca, who helped us to make the reservation, and it was lovely...dinner was fantastic, but it had more of a "home" vibe. I was definitely happy with the more posh 'digs' at the riad noir d'ivoire. Also for comparison, we also visited the Mammounia for a drink, but again, were quite content with our decision to stay in the riad--I feel like we got the best of both worlds--the authentic riad experience, without giving up the luxury!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, but try to get one with some outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is always an incredible experience to come back to Riad Noir d'Ivoire. After last time in Marrakech I thought it will be difficult to top the beautiful atmosphere and the warm hospitality of this Riad. But now, after the renovation we were really amazed with how much taste and feeling for the local touch all this has been done. If Marrakesch then it has to be a Riad, and if a Riad there is nothing more genuine than Noir d'Ivoir. It definitely feels like a fairy tale from the old times with all modern comfort you can wish for. It is the Flair, the Tradition but most of all the Spirit of the whole Team working for the guests that made our stay a most memorable one. Claus

Room Tip: Great suites with Roof terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritavora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

was in the riad again for a few days and again it was an unbelievable experiance. does not matter what you pick - the staff, the riad by itself, the rooms, the decoration, everything deservs a perfect 10. can not wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Words can only say sheer perfection..! Its very rare to find staff as 1st class as the Riad.. You can only appreciate the class of this hotel by staying there... Rebeca was the best host anyone could wish for on arrival and Mama in the kitchen will spoil you rotten... After a day in the Madina, this is the perfect place to relax...

Room Tip: The Zebre Suite is simply lovely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#9 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing