We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Fontvieille, Monaco
1 review
“Medina Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having travelled extensively over the years for business and pleasure I long ago came to the conclusion that the best places to stay are the smaller hotels, which undoubtedly have much more character and ambience.

Riad Noir d’Ivoire does not disappoint. Stepping inside this beautiful building after your latest adventure in the Medina is like stepping into your own little paradise. Yes the décor is spectacular, yes the rooms are spacious and individually designed, yes the roof terrace is gorgeous and most definitely the food is delicious, all the reviews will confirm this.

What sets this Riad apart from the others and puts all those those big fancy hotels to shame is the level of service you receive. I can honestly say I have never met a genuinely nicer team of people who cannot do enough to ensure that you have the perfect holiday. Getting around the Medina is perhaps not for the faint hearted but ultimately full of fun and excitement and adventure. The team will ensure that everything that you want to do is achieved with the minimum of stress, right down to walking you somewhere so that you don’t get lost. They are a shining example of “how to do it right”. Nothing is too much trouble and the team is a credit to Rebecca, who you just know works so hard to achieve and maintain this standard.

If you are trying to decide where to stay in Marrakech right this minute don’t waste any more time looking because this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Panthere Suite was wonderful with your own private terrace and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
655
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What can I say? My husband and I stayed here last week for 4 wonderful nights. Like other reviews, from the moment you enter you are greeted by their amazing staff and this almost zen atmosphere. Rebecca, the manager made us feel so welcome and made the Riad like home for us. Her energetic, spunky and warm personality was like visiting a long lost relative. This can be said for the rest of the staff as well.
The Riad is situated in the old town about a 20 minute walk from the main square. (Jemaa el Fna). My husband and I didn't mind this at all since the square and the souqs are a maze of craziness. Needless to say, we were on an adventure every day. We loved coming back to the Riad to just relax by the pool and enjoy some mint tea. We stayed in the Elephant room which was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We had omelettes for breakfast which were so delicious along with their fresh orange juice and many tasty pastries.
We did not get a chance to try their spa so can't comment on that.
I would definitely highly recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to visit Marakesh.
Thank you again to Rebecca and all the staff...and of course Couscous (donkey who helped us with our luggage):)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Noir d'Ivoire is a beautiful and amazing place to stay, but it is the superb staff that makes it magical and feel like a home away from home. From the moment you enter, you feel the tranquility of the Riad and know that you are in good hands during your stay in Marrakech - the cell phone, the best map and guide to the city in addition to any extra plans/excursions that peak your interest :) The Hamman and spa is wonderful - a must do! We were so sad to leave such a wonderful place, but we are already planning to return in the future. Thank you so much to the entire Team for making our honeymoon incredible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elephant - beautiful private terrace and soaking tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After selecting Noir D'Ivoire for our honeymoon, we couldn't recommend the place highly enough. A luxurious riad with on site Hamman (a must while in Morocco) and two relaxing pools to bath in. We had the 'Panther' suite and with its private roof terrace and hot (cool for us!) tub it was delightful. The service from the staff was exceptional and Rebeca, the host, provided us with invaluable local information. A mobile phone was provided for all our needs, in and out of the riad. Marrakech is an amazing place, but designed in a way that can be confusing, so to know the staff were on hand if we got stuck was fantastic. The food within the riad was tailored to your every need, and being fairly adventurous we had a few Moroccan meals which were delicious!

Room Tip: The rooms with a private roof terrace are perfect for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is fabulous. It is truly an oasis in the middle of the chaotic and exciting life inside the Medina. Rebeca and all the staff made us feel like family. The food was superb (thanks to Mama the cook), the room was nice, the rooftop terrace for breakfast was delightful, dinner around the pool or in a private nook was peaceful and romantic. When you set foot inside the Riad, you instantly feel tranquil, which is a very pleasant contrast to the high energy of the Medina. Rebeca helped us with a guide, transportation, reservations and a map tailored to guests of the Riad.
If you plan a trip to Marrakech, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Don't overthink this decision. If the sheer number of stellar reviews for Riad Noir d'Ivoire don't persuade you to stay there, then here are a few factors to consider.
1. If you are a tourist in Marrakech you want to be in the Medina... the old walled city.
2. But the Medina can be intimidating to those without much French language and/or limited experience of travel in North Africa. So you need a bit of local support.
3. And everyone at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire is there to make sure you have the best possible time in Marrakech. Every single person.
4. They will give you the best hotel created map you have ever seen.
5. If you like they will send you out escorted for your first few trips out into the Medina.
6. They will ease you into a comfort and confidence level with Marrakech that will make you almost feel at home in this amazing city.
7. With only nine rooms you get the exceptional personal service that only this sort of boutique establishment can offer. Your trips, reservations, spa treatments etc. etc. are individualised.
8. The place is magnificently decorated and designed. You're in a beautiful room in a small palace.
9. After leaving Noir d"Ivoire my wife and I tried to recall other places we've stayed in the last 25 years that we felt the same about. There weren't many... The Point in upstate New York; Black Barn in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand; Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur California; Hotel Europa e Regina in Venice; and Wolgan Valley Resort in NSW Australia. Perhaps these can give you a point of comparison.
10. Context is a big part of the experience. You do walk five minutes along winding alleyways to get to the place. You do hear the amazing calls to prayer at about 4.30 in the morning (if your window is open). You are in the midst of an intensely traditional society wrestling with the modern world. And you are in an oasis (in so many ways) amongst the chaos of a world that is still a long way from the 'west'. And all of this is what makes the entire experience so very special.
11. If you are still reading this then now is the time to single out Rebeca who handled our booking and Afaf who cared for us whilst we were there. Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riad Noire D'Ivoire and would highly recommend it. When you first arrive in the Medina you're met with the hustle and bustle (which you soon get used to) but as soon as you enter the Riad Noire D'Ivoire it provides a complete contrast - a sanctuary of peace and luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.