We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be amongst the best in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Has to be amongst the best in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Don't overthink this decision. If the sheer number of stellar reviews for Riad Noir d'Ivoire don't persuade you to stay there, then here are a few factors to consider.
1. If you are a tourist in Marrakech you want to be in the Medina... the old walled city.
2. But the Medina can be intimidating to those without much French language and/or limited experience of travel in North Africa. So you need a bit of local support.
3. And everyone at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire is there to make sure you have the best possible time in Marrakech. Every single person.
4. They will give you the best hotel created map you have ever seen.
5. If you like they will send you out escorted for your first few trips out into the Medina.
6. They will ease you into a comfort and confidence level with Marrakech that will make you almost feel at home in this amazing city.
7. With only nine rooms you get the exceptional personal service that only this sort of boutique establishment can offer. Your trips, reservations, spa treatments etc. etc. are individualised.
8. The place is magnificently decorated and designed. You're in a beautiful room in a small palace.
9. After leaving Noir d"Ivoire my wife and I tried to recall other places we've stayed in the last 25 years that we felt the same about. There weren't many... The Point in upstate New York; Black Barn in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand; Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur California; Hotel Europa e Regina in Venice; and Wolgan Valley Resort in NSW Australia. Perhaps these can give you a point of comparison.
10. Context is a big part of the experience. You do walk five minutes along winding alleyways to get to the place. You do hear the amazing calls to prayer at about 4.30 in the morning (if your window is open). You are in the midst of an intensely traditional society wrestling with the modern world. And you are in an oasis (in so many ways) amongst the chaos of a world that is still a long way from the 'west'. And all of this is what makes the entire experience so very special.
11. If you are still reading this then now is the time to single out Rebeca who handled our booking and Afaf who cared for us whilst we were there. Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
99
599
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riad Noire D'Ivoire and would highly recommend it. When you first arrive in the Medina you're met with the hustle and bustle (which you soon get used to) but as soon as you enter the Riad Noire D'Ivoire it provides a complete contrast - a sanctuary of peace and luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

my boyfriend booked our stay as a suprise birthday present for me and wow was I surprised. the staff couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and cater to our needs .the rooms were amazing and little touches like rose petals around the bath when we returned from are day out made it very romantic - Rebecca help my bf organize dinners flowers - horse and carriages she was the hostess with the mostest - plus an excellent tour guide , we will defiantly stay there again - I can't even discribe in words you will just have to stay there and enjoy like we did -

Chantelle & Gary - Epsom

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the reply to the very first email I sent, I knew this was going to be a fantastic place to stay but nothing prepared me for actually arriving there......truely beyond belief! After being met by one of the lovely staff and Cous Cous (the most beautiful donkey in Marrakech) to escort us from our airport transfer to the Riad we were greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm by Rebecca, it was like visiting a dear friend who you haven't seem for a long time. We sat and chatted over a drink and were introduced to some of the staff (all such lovely, helpful, kind and sincere people) plus some of the feline residents too.....I am a cat lover, but fear not - they have a special sense like all cats, of who to avoid and who to make a fuss of. I was happily in the second category! We were lost for words when we were shown our room, the gorgeous Chameau suite. Having worked in the travel industry for many years, I have been fortunate enough to stay at some remarkable properties all over the world, but this one really is something special. I would not hesitate to recommend here (especially this romantic, elegantly lavish room for a honeymoon or other very special occasion) Amazing bathroom.... I felt like a princess!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, there was always someone around to make sure every need of ours was attended to. You really do feel like you are very special, personal friends rather than guests, but with a complete feeling of privacy. Such a difficult thing to achieve, but because of the smaller size of this Riad and such care and attention to detail which is often overlooked at larger properties, something which Noire D'Ivoire does like no other.
We absolutely fell in love with the Riad, and with the staff. Rebecca, Afaf and the 19 others who work so hard, yet with such grace and sincerity to make you feel so incredibly special.
The hammam and Moroccan massage in the lovely spa run by Madame Coco right in the Riad is an absolute must! It was complete heaven to spend a couple of hours here - we truely did float out aferwards. I have not even mentioned the pools (so romantic lit with candles at night) and roof terrace where we enjoyed breakfast, freshly prepared by the wonderful chef every morning.
I cannot properly describe how amazing this place is, you will just have to discover it for yourself.
Thank you so much Rebecca, Afaf, all the staff, puss-cats and Cous Cous who made our time in Marrakech such a dream come true. We can't wait to see you all again. Don't change a thing - you have something very special happening at Noire d'Ivoire!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, all of the rooms are incredible - you will be happy in any of them. Each on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

So many positive things have been written about Riad Noir d'Ivore that it is hard to say anything original. Location, rooms, facilities and food are all superb but what really makes it is the team there. It is led by the irrepressible and incomparable Rebeca,. Their dedication to making ones stay special and to personalise it for one's own tastes combined with their huge enthusiasm made the whole holiday. It is this personal chemistry between guests and hosts that make the Riad Noir d'Ivore stand out from other luxury hotels and made our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Suites Panther and Zebra have great private terraces but all rooms we saw were beautifully and indiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Rebeca to moment we left, a truly remarkable experience! We were welcomed by Rebeca (hotel manager), and after a welcome drink & quick tour we were taken to our room. Even though we arrived at around 11:00am this was not a problem, none of this 3pm check in nonsense.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly without being over the top. The food was amazing. Everyday we had breakfast on the roof terrace in the glorious sunshine with a great variety of fresh fruits, breads, choice of eggs etc. The highlight for us however had to be our dinner on the last night. We had mentioned that we were trying to find goat tagine but hadn't come across it. To help us find this Rebeca sent one of her staff to go and find some goat so the chef (Mama) could prepare it especially for us. How about that for service! Later we also discovered that goat is not a very popular meat in Marrakech and was actually sourced from outside the city.

Another point to note was how peaceful and relaxing the Riad was. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. You got your own mobile phone in case you got lost (more for peace of mind than anything). My girlfriend also had a hamman in the Coco Spa and even today is still talking about how great it was.

Overall a wonderful trip to Marrakech which was largely down to the Riad Noir d'lvoire and its staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While staying at the Riad Noir d'ivoire, I felt like I was living in a dream. The places manages to combine sophistication with warmth, coziness, and friendliness. The service was some of the finest I have ever experienced, and I am a fairly seasoned world traveler. We truly felt like we were staying in someone's very luxurious home. Both of us had hammam treatments and massages, which turned us into noodles (happy noodles) for at least 24 hours, thanks to Ms. Coco. It was nice that the tranquil oasis of the Riad was only steps away from the color and bustle of the medina.The only complaint I have is that the Riad and the staff were so wonderful, we didn't want to leave to sightsee! When we did, though, Rebeca prepared us well for navigating the medina, and we enjoyed ourselves, were not hassled, and didn't get lost. When I return to Marrakech, I look forward to staying at the Riad again, and this time....maybe seeing more of the sights in the city and beyond.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We really liked the ones with private outdoor terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list