We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

So many positive things have been written about Riad Noir d'Ivore that it is hard to say anything original. Location, rooms, facilities and food are all superb but what really makes it is the team there. It is led by the irrepressible and incomparable Rebeca,. Their dedication to making ones stay special and to personalise it for one's own tastes combined with their huge enthusiasm made the whole holiday. It is this personal chemistry between guests and hosts that make the Riad Noir d'Ivore stand out from other luxury hotels and made our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Suites Panther and Zebra have great private terraces but all rooms we saw were beautifully and indiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
102
603
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Rebeca to moment we left, a truly remarkable experience! We were welcomed by Rebeca (hotel manager), and after a welcome drink & quick tour we were taken to our room. Even though we arrived at around 11:00am this was not a problem, none of this 3pm check in nonsense.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly without being over the top. The food was amazing. Everyday we had breakfast on the roof terrace in the glorious sunshine with a great variety of fresh fruits, breads, choice of eggs etc. The highlight for us however had to be our dinner on the last night. We had mentioned that we were trying to find goat tagine but hadn't come across it. To help us find this Rebeca sent one of her staff to go and find some goat so the chef (Mama) could prepare it especially for us. How about that for service! Later we also discovered that goat is not a very popular meat in Marrakech and was actually sourced from outside the city.

Another point to note was how peaceful and relaxing the Riad was. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. You got your own mobile phone in case you got lost (more for peace of mind than anything). My girlfriend also had a hamman in the Coco Spa and even today is still talking about how great it was.

Overall a wonderful trip to Marrakech which was largely down to the Riad Noir d'lvoire and its staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While staying at the Riad Noir d'ivoire, I felt like I was living in a dream. The places manages to combine sophistication with warmth, coziness, and friendliness. The service was some of the finest I have ever experienced, and I am a fairly seasoned world traveler. We truly felt like we were staying in someone's very luxurious home. Both of us had hammam treatments and massages, which turned us into noodles (happy noodles) for at least 24 hours, thanks to Ms. Coco. It was nice that the tranquil oasis of the Riad was only steps away from the color and bustle of the medina.The only complaint I have is that the Riad and the staff were so wonderful, we didn't want to leave to sightsee! When we did, though, Rebeca prepared us well for navigating the medina, and we enjoyed ourselves, were not hassled, and didn't get lost. When I return to Marrakech, I look forward to staying at the Riad again, and this time....maybe seeing more of the sights in the city and beyond.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We really liked the ones with private outdoor terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have just been back from a four night stay at this splendid Riad. When planning our long weekend in Marrakech, we had no doubt in booking it because of the many excellent reviews and the recommendation of the Conde Nast Traveller.
Overall we have been very lucky to stay in some marvellous hotels worldwide, however Noir D'Ivoire surpasses all of them. Not only the building itself is beautifully decorated, with exquisite local furnishings, heated pool and cosy sofas, but Rebecca and the team really make the difference: Rebeca is just passionate about what she does and from being the hotel manager, she turned into a friend throughout our stay, sharing with us her life experiences and funny stories about the Riad. Also we really appreciated practical and useful tips on how to get around - "ugly street" and "pretty street" demarcations are particularly useful.
We love animals and we were gladly surprised to find 4 adorable cats (Tinkerbell is the last addition) running around and bringing a bit of fun. The Riad took them from the street and gave them a home which is something to praise. That enhanced the fact that this place is more like a home than a hotel.
We booked the Zebra suite, however upon arrival we were surprisingly upgraded to the Guepard master suite, which is spectacular, not just in terms of size and comfort, but also in decoration.
We ate in on the first and last night of our stay and Mama's dinner was simply delicious. We only planned to eat in on the first night however we loved it so much that we decided to stay again.
Breakfast too is excellent: scrambled eggs, pancakes, home made yoghurt and fresh fruit. There is no buffet and no breakfast room, that means you can chose any place you like (the open courtyard, the library or your private terrace if you are lucky enough to have one). There is no set time either, simply ring the concierge (or Rebeca or lovely Afaf) when you are ready to have it and tell them where you want to have it. The staff are extremely polite and attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We also had a hammam for couples followed by a divine massage with argan oil, the perfect experience ever and Madame Coco is just the best.

Rebecca, Afaf and all the team, thank you so much for making our stay truly a memorable one. We cannot recommend all of you and your amazing Riad highly enough and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having been to Marrakech I now know why Tripadvisor has changed the way we travel today. Riad Noir d'Ivoire is the type of place you would love to know about but never hear about. It is almost impossible to find without being told about it. But fear not! The staff here are wonderful. From the airport pick up to Cous Cous the donkey carrying your luggage you are in safe hands. Everything is taken care of from restaurant bookings with suggestions for pre-dinner drinks. Rebecca the manager makes the very most of your stay.

A special mention for the location also. Once you leave the nine bedroom palace you step back in time to Marrakech as a timeless place where all life is lived in front of your eyes.

As a weekend break, it is hard to beat. Overall the Riad is not cheap but sometimes in life you can actually say you get what you pay for. Don't forget to bring your swimsuit so you can avail of the quaint pool.

Room Tip: The Elephant room has a great internal balcony overlooking the Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Noir d'Ivoire last week for 3 nights and had the most wonderful stay. Rebeca and her charming team made us feel so welcome and with such a relaxed and easy going atmosphere we instantly felt at home.

Rebeca arranged for a local tour guide to show us around, this was great as by the end of our first afternoon we we able to confidently find our way around. That evening we sat on the roof terrace where we enjoyed stunning views of the Atlas Mountains with delicious Mojitos on tap! We ate outside by the pool and had the best meal of our trip. Mama the chef is a fantastic cook and is always sending mouth watering smells throughout the place. The atmosphere by the pool is so different to the roof terrace and that's what I loved about the Riad, there are so many little places for you to enjoy. I particularly liked the big comfy sofas in the library, where we would sit and have our evening mint tea and flick through 'Interiors of Marrakech'.

On our second day we went up into the Atlas Mountains where we met Berber villagers and enjoyed breathtaking scenery. I would really recommend this trip to get a glimpse of the Berber culture and lifestyle. Again, this was all arranged by Rebeca and her team.

Our room at the Riad was also lovely, such attention to detail everywhere and so many little touches that just made it so special. I mentioned to Rebeca one morning that one of our lamps was wobbling and that afternoon we passed one of the staff in the street with our lamp on its way to be welded. When we got back to our room a few hours later there it was! The service at this place is second to none. All smiley, cheerful and prepared to go that extra mile (washing our cherries from the market and presenting them so beautifully).

Our stay went far too quickly and I really didn't want to leave but Couscous the donkey was waiting at the door to take our bags and some other lucky couple were booked into our room that night.

If your thinking of staying in Marrakech then this boutique Riad is really the only place. We have already told so many friends about this gem and will definitely be staying here again in the future. Thank you again to everyone who made our stay one to remember.

Danny & Jessie
xxx

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights earlier this month. Upon arriving, we were greeted with a glass of local Moroccan wine and a tour of the facilities, despite the late hour (we arrived at about 11 p.m.). The staff was well informed of our plans and all bookings, and provided us with a cell phone.

The next day after breakfast, Rebeca sat down with us to help plan the day's itenerary (she had pre-booked a local guide to take us on a tour of the medina) and make certain we were comfortable with the walking directions to the hotel. Afterwards, a member of the staff (Berger, I think!) accompanied us to the ATM. After a day of touring, in the evening we booked an amazing spa experience with Madame Coco. (Seriously--consider booking the hammam treatment.) And we enjoyed a lovely dinner--a beef tagine cooked by Mama--poolside.

While we were away on a desert excursion, the staff kindly allowed us to keep a bag at the hotel so that we could carry as little as possible along with us.

Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our stay. We appreciated that the staff was always willing to go the extra mile to provide us top-notch service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.