We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Stylish Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend whisked me away to Marrakech for a long weekend and he couldn't have picked a more perfect Riad to stay. Not only is Riad Noir d'Ivoire beautiful, but the staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. They instantly make you feel at home and are there for your every need

The interior design is stunning. This becomes even more special at night where the lanterns and candles create the most perfect romantic ambience. You couldn't ask for a more stunning setting than dinner round the pool. The food and cocktails live up to the surroundings and the strawberry daiquiris are amazing!

We stayed in the zebra suite which I can't recommend enough. It is beautiful and comes with its own private roof terrace complete with hot tub. The staff couldn't be more helpful serving our breakfast up on the roof terrace and bringing cocktails up to the hot tub

The location of Riad Noir d'Ivoire is brilliant, hidden inside the medina. Cous cous the friendly donkey greets you to find your way! Rebeca and her team really go above and beyond to make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive

Room Tip: The zebra and panther suites come with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
654
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This riad was amazing. Rebeca and her team go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Marrakech is top notch. One example - upon arrival, she hands you a Noir d'Ivoire map and a cell phone. The map is marked with visual landmarks and the route between the riad and Jemma el-Fna. After getting lost many times in Fes, we did not get lost in Marrakech thanks to this map.

The best part of breakfast? You can have it any time you want - no "you must eat between 8:30 and 10:30". We ended up eating earlier most days so we could go out and explore the city, but it was great knowing that we didn't have to set an alarm for breakfast and could sleep in. Breakfast was a lovely spread of pastries, breads, yogurt, fruit salad, coffee, orange juice. And you can order eggs too.

We stayed in the Gazelle room, which was lovely. Another friend stayed in the Camel suite, which was huge.

If you need anything, the staff is happy to accommodate, which makes this riad worth every cent. Our three-night stay here was just perfect, and if I one day return to Marrakech, I will definitely stay here again.

Tip: Definitely book the airport/train station transport service. It will save you the hassle of having to find the riad for the first time without the special map. And it also helps that there's a donkey with a cart to carry your luggage!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have never before taken the trouble to write a review on Trip Advisor.

However, I felt this time obliged to, as the level of service and care shown to the guests of the Riad Noire d’Ivoire, was way beyond anything I have experienced before. Having travelled extensively, staying in some of the worlds’ highest ranking hotels, this small Riad, has them beat, when it comes to customer care.

Rebecca (the hotel manager) leads her team with great care and attention to detail; making sure her guests stay is as comfortable and secure as possible. Every guest is given a mobile phone and instructed to use it to phone her day or night should they require any help or advice when out and about.

The time and trouble she and her team take each day, to help plan and advise your activities is unparalleled, and is a lesson in hotel management.

The interior design of this charming Riad is first class, as are all the amenities.

After eating in some of the highest ranked restaurants on Trip Advisor, my wife and I actually enjoyed the two meals we had in the Riad more. The candle light setting by the pool, the ambiance and quality of cooking is hard to beat.

When you return from sightseeing, you can either relax by the pool or on the roof terrace, both of which have ample comfortable sun lounges in or out of the shade, or if you prefer sit in their well stocked library, or as I often did, sip a Mohito (the quality of the Moroccan mint, makes this the best you are likely to have)

I can also highly recommend the Riad’s spa, where my wife and I enjoyed the privacy of our own Haman and massage treatment.

My thanks go to Rebecca and all the staff at the Riad Noire d’Ivoire, for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I are currently staying at this fabulous Riad. I will try not to repeat to much of the same from other reviews but wanted to add our comments that would be useful to potential guest who like us relied on the reviews of others to choose the right place to stay when visiting Marrakech.

We reinforce the comments relating to outstanding guest relations. Every member of staff need tobe congratulated on their dedication to ensuring guests are treated like royality. We would have no hesitation is saying they are the best we have encounted in our very expansive travels. I think the difference is that they are genuine in their care and service. The owner of this Riad is truly lucky to have such wonderful staff.

The owners representative Rebeca is a remarkable woman who ensures every request is granted and really goes out of her way to do everything she can ensure guest satisfaction. Again a true asset to this Riad.

We would highly recommend this Riad based on staff alone.

This Riad is not suitable for families with small children (a reason we picked it!)

I would find it difficult to fault anything associated with this Riad and quite frankly would have to question any negative reviews associated with it.

My husband and I are fortunate to travel extensively - staying in the luxury collection hotels - so for us we have vey high standards and can be quite critical when reviewing hotels abroad as we believe when you pay good money to stay somewhere there is a standard to uphold on the part of the hotel.

There is nothing more disappointing than picking the wrong Riad for your much deserved break. If you choose the Noir d Ivoire you will not be disapointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I visited Marrakech after many years, wishing to reacquaint ourselves with this magic place. We feel very lucky to have chosen to stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire with its superb ambiance and special staff, Rebeca, Damien and Afaf and indeed everyone there made it their goal to make our stay relaxing and memorable, always attentive and efficient, never intrusive, and always great fun! The information Damien gave us regarding restaurants was amazing and, he seemed to know just what suited us! We also ate at the Riad, Mama's meals were fabulous and made all the more special sitting around a candle lit pool, it was just beautiful! We stayed in the Guepard suite, just fabulous! Our own rooftop terrace complete with a jacuzzi and sun lounges and sitting area gave us privacy and a wonderful view of the Atlas Mountains. A wonderfully spacious room with a sitting area with windows that opened onto the central courtyard. The heated pool was just what we needed at the end of a day making our way around the labyrinth of alleyways. The staff were always on hand to accompany us to wherever we wanted to go, whether it was to an ATM or a restaurant, ready with a smile and a warm "welcome back". We were also given a mobile for immediate contact with the Riad if we lost our way, and always reassured with the words " if you don't get lost you haven't seen the real Marrakech"! I can't find enough superlatives for this Riad, it truly was a great find, the personalities of Rebeca, Damien and Afaf and staff all contributing to our memories of an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an incredible place. In the heart of the Medina, Damien, Rebeca et al have created an extraordinary sanctuary. The level of attention to detail is exceptional without being over the top. We spent a fantastic few nights here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days before heading off to the mountains to climb Mt Toubkal and do other trekking. Rebecca, Damian and all the staff looked after us fantastically well, always helpful, wonderfully welcoming, and so made our stay a pleasure. I also recommend staying in for at least one night to eat here, the food was classically simple but beautifully cooked and was lovely to have by the pool. You also want to ignore the reviewer that went on about a 'covered' Riad, it simply misses the point that they have created a lovely 'lounge' in one of the courtyards and a beautiful normal open courtyard with a heated pool in the other, so to me you get the best of both worlds for the space and facilities, it simply is lovely. We booked into the Panthere suite which has a lovely roof top jacuzzi and loungers and had breakfast up there everyday. One of the lovely aspects of the evenings when we came back was to light the fire and just relax from the madness of Marrakech with a drink from the bar. I simply cannot agree with any comments about noise based on our stay, this place is as it should be an oasis of calm with some light music piped into one area which really we didn't notice in other areas. Rebecca is one of these great people who knows how to be fun, engaging, professional but is prepared to joke and be amusing rather than the annoyance of over the top pampering and being obsequiously nice to you which you get in some expensive hotels. In other words its a genuine welcome and you'd want Rebecca to be one of your friends as well as the fact she is wonderfully professional at looking after you and Damian is great too! So if i was ever in Marrakech I would be back, no problem and so thanks very much to all the staff, Jim

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.