We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I have ever been moved enough to write a review...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time I have ever been moved enough to write a review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights last week.

From making the booking, to the environment, the staff and the management team, everything was as near perfect as can be.

We were collected from the airport, and driven as close to the Riad as was possible, before being collected (no wait!) by another member of staff with a donkey drawn cart which carried our bags.

On arrival, Rebecca and Damien both welcomed us personally, and orientated us, both on the hotel, and on places to go, things to do whilst there. They also touched base with us at breakfast and whenever we came back to the hotel to make sure we had all we needed.
On the day we were leaving, our flight was not until 8pm. Although normal checkout time would have been much earlier in the day, Rebecca upgraded the people who were due to check into our room so that we had access to it all day. This allowed us to have a little lie down after the heat of the day (28C!) and before we were taken to the airport. They also arranged dinner for us to fit in with our departure plans, and this too did not disappoint.

Their recommendations of places to go, and restaurants all proved accurate.

Our room was very comfortable (and the bed had a duvet - yay!). There were 4 house cats who also made a point of touching base with us daily.

We had a fantastically relaxing hammam and massage at the spa within the Riad, and I would recommend this to all visitors.

The Riad was absolutely gorgeous, and a real peaceful haven. I would recommend staying there unequivocally.

Thank you to the whole team at Riad Noir d'Ivoire for giving us such a wonderful time!

(p.s. they were number 1 in the listing of hotels in Marrakech when I booked...)

Room Tip: We stayed in Gazelle, one of the smallest rooms, but it looks into the Riad, rather than the road, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
601
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a short walk down a winding narrow 'street' you reach an unremarkable door that leads into the Riad. And suddenly you are enveloped within a luxurious environment with polite and friendly staff. We spent five glorious days, each one planned out in impeccable detail by Damien and Rebeca.

We will return later this year,

Jim & Alice, Ancram, NY

Room Tip: Pantere or Chamou are great suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's hard to add to all of the other positive reviews. I went to the Riad Noir d'Ivoire with high expectations, and they were exceeded in every way. The Riad is simply beautiful, and has a fantasy-like ambience that is exotic and comfortable at the same time. Even though the Riad is relatively new, it seems to have been built with traditional materials so that you have the feeling of staying in an authentic Riad, but with all of the modern conveniences. We booked one of the basic rooms (I think it was called Tourelles), which was very nice with stylish furnishings and a large bed. The room was on the small side, but more than adequate for two people. As much as we enjoyed Marrakech, we reserved time each day just to enjoy the Riad - sitting by the pool in the afternoons and stooping by the small bar for a night cap in the evening. Also loved the spa!

I also have to mention the staff. Everyone was so incredibly warm and welcoming. The service was simply fantastic. Damien was especially helpful and made sure that we got the most from our visit. We look forward to returning to Marrakech and Noir d'Ivoire sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the welcome to the farewell: this was the ultimate experience. Rebecca, Damien and the entire staff did their utmost to make our stay in Marrakech as enjoyable as possible. Ahmed led us through the medina and the souks and revealed to us all the gems and mysteries of this formidable town. Mohammed guided us to the High Atlas and the life of the bedouins on a beautiful outing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday. Superb and welcoming hosts, luxurious surroundings in keeping with any 5 star establishment. Great place to stay with your partner but also for larger groups looking for somewhere high quality to stay. We ate there also and the food was divine and highly reccommend eating there. The Riad Noir d'Ivore is also very conventiently located and a great base to explore from. Felt very welcome and had the best long weekend and left feeling very spoiled. Most certainly a must for anyone planning to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dear reader if you are trying to go through all the reviews and searching for at least one bad you can stop your journey right now because you won't find even a one. And this is a time where you can blindly trust mine. I've read almost all of them and simply trusted. Noir D'Ivoire wasn't just an amazing place to stay and relax but a misterious mixture of every feelings you could ever feel from being on any exotic holiday. I had a really high expectations from the Riad. But what I and my boyfriend had got in reality was over any of my expectations. It was an adventure. It was a mystery. And it certainly was a destiny. Back to the past: "Mohammed the driver is taking us to Riad describing the sides and districts we are driving by. We are being informed that Noir D'Ivoire has got 2 drivers and both of them are bilingual. I hear his French and it warms me more than the temperature outside. We are arriving to the closest to the Riad mosque and he delegates us to Iman who is taking us to the Noir D'ivoire as the car can't go further. And the journey has began: remember everything as I am still there now- walking straight until you get to the small fountain then right, right and right till you recognise the greatest gates after you've seen them for a first time. The Labyrinth of morrocan streets make you feel lost and believe me this is the best feeling ever! Iman opens the gates which are twice bigger than the regular size of any door, ancient giperbolizm showing the status of the house -the bigger the door -the greater the owner. And this truly gives an impression of a great history behind. Some reviews says 1001 nights begins behind the doors but the first you feel is the atmosphere of peace and greatness. High ceilings lightened by the exotic Morrocan lamps creating a romantic atmosphere throughout. A beautiful illuminated by spectacular naturally green lights pool in the middle of the Riad. Exotic palms around and high ceilings leading to the sky. We are exploring more and more next day: the roof terrace -amazing for the morning and evening times, another pool in an open air, small interconnected room-bar, boutique shop where I am trying on the jellaba for the first time ever and can't resist to buy a handmade jasmine soap. Cant sleep first night feeling like all the spirit of the Riad inside me and an adrenalin is too high for getting into the sleeping mode. The second night I can hear a mystical music coming from nowhere and I am more fascinated. And the third night I hear the rain beating on the canvas roof. The rain which moroccans bless as the gift of God. It is easy to believe in miracles here, miracles wonderful and unforgettable. The time stops in Riad and it feels like you are between two worlds: the real and magical. Feeling the contrast between alive and busy Marrakech in this peaceful and misterious Riad is the best we could achieve from any holidays. Plus Nabill's delicacy, Rebeca's energy, Damien's originality, Mama's professionalism and all other staff's care only adds the value. Guys Big thanks to you all and we hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Any room guys. All of them are quite unique I heard and I saw a few all were very cosy and beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The riad itself was beautiful: a stunning courtyard, lounging areas and roof terrace, tastefully decorated bedrooms and a very welcome oasis from the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly, trustworthy and attentive, happy to escort us out to taxis when asked, and Damien and Rebeca were incredibly helpful with all their tips and advice about what to do and see and the best way to go out about it; we felt very well looked after by them. To round it off the food was excellent, especially the breakfasts - fruit, yoghurt, pastries, omellette, sat out in the sun on the roof terrace - and the best thing about them was that you didn't have to get up at a particular time to have them; the staff were happy to serve you whenever you got up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list