We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday. Superb and welcoming hosts, luxurious surroundings in keeping with any 5 star establishment. Great place to stay with your partner but also for larger groups looking for somewhere high quality to stay. We ate there also and the food was divine and highly reccommend eating there. The Riad Noir d'Ivore is also very conventiently located and a great base to explore from. Felt very welcome and had the best long weekend and left feeling very spoiled. Most certainly a must for anyone planning to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
104
631
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dear reader if you are trying to go through all the reviews and searching for at least one bad you can stop your journey right now because you won't find even a one. And this is a time where you can blindly trust mine. I've read almost all of them and simply trusted. Noir D'Ivoire wasn't just an amazing place to stay and relax but a misterious mixture of every feelings you could ever feel from being on any exotic holiday. I had a really high expectations from the Riad. But what I and my boyfriend had got in reality was over any of my expectations. It was an adventure. It was a mystery. And it certainly was a destiny. Back to the past: "Mohammed the driver is taking us to Riad describing the sides and districts we are driving by. We are being informed that Noir D'Ivoire has got 2 drivers and both of them are bilingual. I hear his French and it warms me more than the temperature outside. We are arriving to the closest to the Riad mosque and he delegates us to Iman who is taking us to the Noir D'ivoire as the car can't go further. And the journey has began: remember everything as I am still there now- walking straight until you get to the small fountain then right, right and right till you recognise the greatest gates after you've seen them for a first time. The Labyrinth of morrocan streets make you feel lost and believe me this is the best feeling ever! Iman opens the gates which are twice bigger than the regular size of any door, ancient giperbolizm showing the status of the house -the bigger the door -the greater the owner. And this truly gives an impression of a great history behind. Some reviews says 1001 nights begins behind the doors but the first you feel is the atmosphere of peace and greatness. High ceilings lightened by the exotic Morrocan lamps creating a romantic atmosphere throughout. A beautiful illuminated by spectacular naturally green lights pool in the middle of the Riad. Exotic palms around and high ceilings leading to the sky. We are exploring more and more next day: the roof terrace -amazing for the morning and evening times, another pool in an open air, small interconnected room-bar, boutique shop where I am trying on the jellaba for the first time ever and can't resist to buy a handmade jasmine soap. Cant sleep first night feeling like all the spirit of the Riad inside me and an adrenalin is too high for getting into the sleeping mode. The second night I can hear a mystical music coming from nowhere and I am more fascinated. And the third night I hear the rain beating on the canvas roof. The rain which moroccans bless as the gift of God. It is easy to believe in miracles here, miracles wonderful and unforgettable. The time stops in Riad and it feels like you are between two worlds: the real and magical. Feeling the contrast between alive and busy Marrakech in this peaceful and misterious Riad is the best we could achieve from any holidays. Plus Nabill's delicacy, Rebeca's energy, Damien's originality, Mama's professionalism and all other staff's care only adds the value. Guys Big thanks to you all and we hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Any room guys. All of them are quite unique I heard and I saw a few all were very cosy and beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The riad itself was beautiful: a stunning courtyard, lounging areas and roof terrace, tastefully decorated bedrooms and a very welcome oasis from the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly, trustworthy and attentive, happy to escort us out to taxis when asked, and Damien and Rebeca were incredibly helpful with all their tips and advice about what to do and see and the best way to go out about it; we felt very well looked after by them. To round it off the food was excellent, especially the breakfasts - fruit, yoghurt, pastries, omellette, sat out in the sun on the roof terrace - and the best thing about them was that you didn't have to get up at a particular time to have them; the staff were happy to serve you whenever you got up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the first time I have written a review on trip advisor but the experience we had at the Riad Noir D'ivoire located within the Medina walls of Marrakech had to be shared! I booked the trip as a surprise for my partners birthday, it actually turned out to be a delightful surprise to us both! The excellent reviews on here do not do the riad or the staff and management justice! From my first corespondence with Rebeca to when we were met by their donkey Cous Cous, to our final evening where we came back to find our private terrace and hot tub decorated with rose petals and candles, the experience was faultless. Rebeca, Damien and their whole team made us feel part of the family and were there to offer as much or as little support as we needed to help plan our days and evenings.

I will not hesitate booking this Riad for our next trip to Marrakech, in fact I'm already looking for another excuse to get away!

Room Tip: Private terrace and roof top Jacuzzi is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visited marrakech for first time in February to celebrate girlfriends 30th birthday and spent 4 nights in this fantastic place. Exceptionally helpful and efficient with booking and arranging activities before arrival. The Riad is an absolute oasis from the bewildering yet fascinating dusty streets of the medina and immaculate throughout. Service is unparalleled with staff taking time to show you around the local streets and ensuring reservations for dinner.
This is an excellent place to stay and more than good value, could not recommend more highly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely stay at this lovely Riad , set within the busy Medina. From the booking to being collected at the airport, all ran very smoothly. It was lovely to be met by Couscous the donkey,who carries the luggage from taxi to Riad in his cart. After winding through the alleyways you wonder where you are going to end up, and it is indeed a surprise when you arrive at the riad. Rebeca the Manager, gave us the warmest welcome as we entered , to be folllowed by a glass of Champagne, all very civilised. The decor is gorgeous, and everywhere you look has something interesting. We chose the Camel suite, it was lovely, and had its own fireplace which we lit in the evenings which was great.It had a large bedroom with lounge area, and very spacious The staff were very discreet but always on hand to help you. We had extra attention as we needed escorting from the riad to the area where we met the taxi as we didnt feel confident negotiating the alleys, especially at night being two ladies, but this was never a problem and Rebeca was lovely to organise this for us. We were also given a local phone for use when we needed to contact the taxi or the riad. This is a nice reassuring touch.
We ate dinner one night, which was lovely, in the Library and had breakfasts there. Rebeca was always around for a chat, and to organise anything that you wanted.
We can see why the reviews are fabulous for Noire D'Ivoire, as all in all it is a well run, friendly and charming Riad. There are others, like Maison Arabe, but this is much bigger, more commercial, ( TV screen in reception advertising the bedrooms ,we found this tacky!!) and staff a bit too cocky!! But as they have 3 times the amount of rooms than Noire D'Ivoire they obviously get more reviewers, but I would definately prefer to stay Noire D'Ivoire for a more authentic stay. We hope to return one day !! And thank all the staff that helped us during our stay!

Room Tip: We loved Camel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never written a review before but after staying at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire i felt i owed it to them because our experience was incredible! I stayed there for 3 nights with my fiancee and from the moment we arrived we where treated with immense warmth and hospitality. The raid itself is stunning and has an great ambience. It's the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Rebeca and Damien are the best hosts one could wish for and made our stay unforgettable. The staff at te hotel are very attentive, discreet and incredibly well mannered. They really go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful and relaxing stay. From escorting you round the local area to taking your luggage to and from the Riad in a donkey drawn cart. As a well seasoned traveler i think you will be hard pushed to find somewhere as welcoming, profesional and beauteous as the Riad Noir d'Ivoire. They also do a mean omelette!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.