We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A black diamond in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A black diamond in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

How can i describe the experience. The first contact is so unexpected. You step out of the car, walk through the narrow streets of the medina wondering how you could ever find your way back by yourself. You get to a very small door, alice in wonderland here i am. Nothing prepares you for what you will find inside. The beauty of the place, mix of oriental and more contemporary design, the unique pool, the courtesy of the staff, the food, what an experience. We have now been twice at noir d'ivoir, and i cant wait until i can go back. it is not just how beautiful the place is or the service (which is amazing, a combination of the moroccan hospitality and swiss clockwork professionalism). There is more to it. Maybe it is the character of the owner, a crazy but so uniquely sweet, charming and cultivated american, the accent of the italian manager, i dont know. Definitely a place to visit.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites. I wish my place looked like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
601
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at this amazing Riad for three days in December 2012, and had the best time ever.
The service was impeccable, and the whole team was so warm and friendly.
We would especially like to mention Rebecca. From start to finish; any question we had or whatever we wished for, she helped us out with a professional and yet personal touch.
The Riad itself is so beautiful, with its traditional, romantic décor – and the location inside the Medina is great.
We would recommend this very special place to anyone, and we would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Another old haunt of mine – I have loved it every time I have stayed here. The location is perfect, but it’s from when you wander through the doors the magic begins. This is simply one of the most fabulous hotels in the world. My favourite time was gorging on breakfast pastries or sipping cold wine on the terrace in the afternoons after the shopping frenzy of the Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've traveled to over twenty countries across the world and have stayed at all sorts of hotels from basic hostels to five star resorts, but my experience at this Riad was one of the best places I've ever been.

We visited this Riad for five nights for our Honeymoon and it was one of the best decisions we had made. First time visiting Morocco, was bit nervous but my interactions with Rebecca beforehand eased all my concerns. She gave great recommendations and and whipped up a list of activities first timers in morocco might enjoy. The Riad is in the heart of the residential area of the Medina so you really got a good feel of how the locals lived, but behind the walls is one of the most gorgeous properties I have ever visited. Extremely well designed with a a mixture of traditional Moroccan and contemporary style.

Damien and Rebecca both made our stays, every morning they would welcome us by name and would arrange any thing that needed to be done and checked how the previous day events went. They even provided us with personal cell phones just in case we ran into any issues or got lost in the Medina. It really felt like you were their guest but with all the privacy you need. All the workers at the hotel were amazing and would do almost anything you needed, and would walk to you to Medina the first time so you wouldn't get lost.

The rooms were amazing, as we had the Guipard Suite which had a private rooftop terrace with hot tub. The morning breakfast was also amazing and would recommend having Mama cook you a dinner and have the staff set up a aromatic dinner within the Riad.

All in all, this truly was an experience neither my wife and I would ever forget and the first place would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakesh. While the Riad was amazingly beautiful, Damien, Rebecca and their staff is really what made it truly special.

Room Tip: The Guepard room is gorgeous, with a private rooftop terrace with sunbed and Hot Tub. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a week end in Marrakech in December and stayed at the Ryad. A private party had been organised for a friend of ours' birthday and the entire place had been "privatised". We spent a fantastic evening/night due to the beauty of the place, the quality of the food and the profesionalism of the staff.

I can only recommend this place vs the other big palaces in Marrakech which in my opinion have nothing unique.This ryad is truly unique and amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Noir D'Ivoire for 3 nights and attended a friend private party. It was truly a wonderful experience. First of all the location is great. In the middle of the Medina you can walk everywhere. The staff was very kind and helpful. You have in this Riad everything you can think of, a pool, a spa, a library, a lovely bar, a shop.They have a delicious breakfast with a wonderful home made yougourt. The atmosphere is very special, very cosy and intimate. The room are very spacious and nicely decorated.
We highly recommend the Riad Noir D'Ivoire, it worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and this place managed to exceed our expectations despite being ranked number one on this site.
Its run by lovely people who genuinely could not do more for you.
The breakfasts were lovely, the best mint tea we had during our stay. (we had many )
It was not difficult to find our way to and from the Riad , but you are lent a mobile phone to call them if you get lost or need any help in any way. (we never used it in 5 days)
The staff will also escort you to any local restaurants or shops.
Marrakech is lovely, welcoming, and a fascinating place but I believe we enjoyed the experience more from staying at the Noir d'Ivoire

Room Tip: If you are a first time visitor to Marrakech read this site so you know what to expect when you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list