We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Beaconsfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and this place managed to exceed our expectations despite being ranked number one on this site.
Its run by lovely people who genuinely could not do more for you.
The breakfasts were lovely, the best mint tea we had during our stay. (we had many )
It was not difficult to find our way to and from the Riad , but you are lent a mobile phone to call them if you get lost or need any help in any way. (we never used it in 5 days)
The staff will also escort you to any local restaurants or shops.
Marrakech is lovely, welcoming, and a fascinating place but I believe we enjoyed the experience more from staying at the Noir d'Ivoire

Room Tip: If you are a first time visitor to Marrakech read this site so you know what to expect when you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
99
599
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The arrival sets the scene. A walk down a narrow high walled street in the Medina to a doorway that gives no real hint of what lies behind, but passing through is right out of “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” – a magical world opens up. My wife and I were there for a private party and what can I say – the modern-with-respect-for-the-past architecture generally but the two courtyards as romantic as it gets, top flight food and service, everything was perfect in fact. Simply the most romantic small luxury hotel we have ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My friend and I came to stay at the Noir d'Ivoire for a short stay before Christmas. We were met by Mohammed - the wonderful taxi driver that we used throughout our trip. Mohammed brought us into the Medina and one of the helpful Riad staff met us along with Couscous the donkey to bring our bags along the labyrinthine passages to the Noir d'Ivoire. The Managers' Rebeca and Damien met us at the entrance and immediately made us very welcome. They both have a great knowledge of all the different experiences that are available in Marrakech and discussed our needs and advised and made arrangements. The bedroom was very comfortable and throughout the Riad there was a vibe of understated elegance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are highly individual . The room we stayed in overlooked the internal courtyard and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent an unforgettable weekend at the Riad Noir d' Ivoire, early in December. We had been invited to a private birthday party which took place at the Riad.
As soon as we arrived at the Riad, the friendly staff made us feel at home and welcome. At the same time the Riad itself put us in an atmosphere of elegance, romance and absolutely in peace of mind. It was indeed the perfect place to relax from the relative chaos of Marrakech.
The decor is refined, a mingle of a modern and a Moroccan style. It makes all your senses travel back in the old time of Marrakech and at the same time you can enjoy all the luxuries you could possibly desire. It has an indoor and outdoor ( heated) swimming pool and a spa.
The food was amazing, cooked and prepared in the Riad from its own chef.
The service is great in every possible way. Rebecca and Damian, were great hosts, very helpful and gave us a lot of useful tips and advice.
Its location is perfect as well, on a quiet street, but within walking distance of the main market Jemma El Fnaa and the adjoining Souks.
Can't wait to visit again Morocco and of course to stay at that beautiful and lovely Riad Noir d' Ivoire.
Thank you all over there for such a wonderful time. See you soon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this place for three nights in January 2013. Riad Noir d'Ivoire proofed to be a very good place for our family. The best part for us was the roof terrace which is an oasis in the otherwise wild and crazy Marrakech. Spa Treatments were also fine and staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all time. The Riad has a modern and beautiful style setting.

There are a couple of things to consider before you go there though:

- There are 4 to 5 cats around living in the hotel. If you are allergic to cats as I am you may want to look for another place in Marrakech
- Our room was very beautiful but also with some open space to the lobby with noise and light emissions til late in the evening and early in the morning
- Breakfast was excellent but sloooow. We needed 60-90 minutes for the breakfast and if you are short of time this might make you unhappy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

When we were researching this Riad we saw all the positive reviews and assumed they must have been written by the owners. Nowhere could be that good! But It was. From our arrival to our departure we were looked after and treated to the highest levels of hospitality. Breakfast was available at any time of day; the pools were heated to just the right temperature; everything was clean and beautifully presented. Above all, the staff were incredibly friendly. The food was excellent and the service was perfect. We would definitely return here if staying in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riad Noire D'Ivoire and would highly recommend
it. When you first arrive in the Medina you're met with the hustle and
bustle (which you soon get used to) but as soon as you enter the Riad Noire
D'Ivoire it provides a complete contrast - a sanctuary of peace and luxury. The
Riad itself is very well appointed and atmospheric (we couldn't stop taking
photos of the place!) and for us was exactly what we were hoping for in
terms of how a Moroccan Riad should feel. We stayed in the Cameleon Room
which was perfect for what we wanted and again very nicely decorated with
local themes. The Riad has a nice pool and bar together with a beautiful
inner courtyard area around which the rooms are based. There's also a
lovely roof terrace where you can have freshly made breakfast every day as
the sun comes up and the city awakes. The service is attentive and the
staff very pleasant. Above all Rebeca is a wonderful hostess and ensures
that all her guests are made welcome and that they're aware of the many
options that Marrakech has to offer. Rebeca took the time to give us
directions, provide tips on dos and don'ts in the Medina, book restaurants
and day trips and look after our transportation (which included Cous Cous
the donkey pulling our luggage). Rebeca even arranged for us to be
escorted by a staff member a couple of times to ensure we found our way.
All Rebeca and Damien's recommendations worked out really well. The Riad
is probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the main Square and about a 5
minute walk to catch a cab if going outside the Medina so everything is
within easy reach. All in all we had a very memorable stay in Marrakech
and this was largely down to the Riad Noire D'Ivoire

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list