We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OASIS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AN OASIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were first time travellers to Morocco, so thought we should stay at an extra special place. Well - Riad Noir d'Ivoire did not disappoint, it far exceeded our expectations. Upon ‘arrival’, and arrival meaning being guided through the Medina with our ‘porter’ couscous the Donkey, we arrived at the Riad to have the warmest and friendliest greeting by the lovely and charming Ariane.
Ariane was such a charming host, nothing was too much trouble, and so perceptive of everything we would want, even helping us (she actually sent someone to buy them for us) buy bus tickets to Essouria. All he staff were in fact where extremely helpful & pleasant.
Our room was the Zebra room, which was so serene and peacefully, we really, really felt we could relax and we certainly did, especially in a place like Marrakech, where to outside world can often feel a bit overwhelming, it was so lovely to come back to our Riad and have a dip in the lovely pool.
We also had dinner at the Riad one evening, which was very, very good. In short we would not hesitate to stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, and would recommend it highly. We honestly felt it was like a home away from home! Thank-you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    25
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
123
752
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As uninitiated first time travellers to Marrakech, the four of us, not unlike many before us, found the sights, scents and sounds of the alleyways of the medina less than reassuring, if not altogether disconcerting even sinister. But as you close the unsigned front portal of Riad Noir d'ivoire, you leave the turbulance without and find the tranquility within. We stayed at this 9 suite Riad the second week of this month. The innkeepers, Rebecca and Damian, are assisted by alert and friendly staff, and together they have successfully found the formula how to engender an old world laid back ambience with the efficiency of a modern inn. One can get something to eat or drink at anytime or have your meal at your convenience, anywhere by the pool or on the roof. Having travelled by train from Tanger, Fez, Rabat, Casablanca and stayed in hotels, inns and Riads along the way, Noir d'ivoire is an inn to remember. Antonio

Room Tip: We stayed at the Camel Suite. Spacious and well appointed. The air works very well indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My four sisters and I have just returned from Marrakesh after enjoying four days of relaxation in the hot African sun! (A lovely 40th birthday surprise) We were greeted by Cous Cous the donkey and Nabeel who guided us to our destination.Walking through the busy streets of the old Medina you would never have guessed that there could be such a delightful retreat. As soon as the big wooden door was opened we were greeted by the lovely Rebeca and Arianne who made us feel right at home from the moment we stepped inside.
The building is breath taking, it houses a number of rooms (all named after animals, never got to ask why actually) around a courtyard. We stayed in Elefant and Touterelles, both with amazing rain showers. There is a library, massage treatment room, hammam, a gym area, lots of little spaces to laze about and a swimming pool / lounge area where you can chill til the stars come out at night. The roof terrace is where we sun bathed and caught the sun, it was sizzling hot. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, yoghurt, crepes, waffles, toast followed by eggs if you wished especially nice on the roof terrace in the morning sun.
If you are looking for a retreat away from the hustle and bustle this is the place; ticks all the boxes. The staff are very attentive, pleasant and polite.
The hammam treatment is very relaxing and detoxifying; I love beauty treatments and I have had many in my time this ritual was fantastic, and we all left feeling refreshed and revitalised ready to resume our busy careers.
Thank you for a most memorable stay.


Kam and the Devi family.

Room Tip: A hair dryer in the room. A dvd player in Elefant; a balcony looks into the main reception area. El...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After the tremendous success of our visit last June (reported here), we had to wait until earlier this month to return. You never imagine that return trips can be quite as good as one’s memories of the novelty and exuberance associated with a successful first holiday. Not so here!! Truly, our revisit was even better. As before, Damien ensured that our every whim was satisfied seamlessly, and this time he arranged for us to venture out of town for a couple of days – one to the Atlas Mountains for breathtaking scenery on a walk with the marvellous Latifa, based at the gloriously peaceful Maroc Lodge, and the other for a day of pure hedonistic luxury at Ksar Char-Bagh. What more can I say? Just that we’ll be returning to Riad Noir d’Ivoire next year…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The four of us stayed at this first class riad from September 5 to September 9 this year. My daughter had found it in a Conde Nast publication, which highly recommended it, and she booked it easily via internet and telephone. Riad Noire d'Ivoire is quirky/ luxurious and it looks truly magical both during the day and at night. Our rooms were large, well-furnished and well-appointed, cool and comfortable. The service is truly excellent. Rebecca and Damien, both intelligent, well-informed and well-travelled, together with their handsome and helpful staff, met (and even anticipated) our every need, without ever being overbearing or "in your face". We got some great tips in respect of both the old- and new city, as well as daytrips to other great place in the mountains. You can have a drink at the well-stocked bar and have a bite at any time of the day or night. A table will be set up for you anywhere, by the pool, on the roof, etc. There is a hamman and spa which we did not use, but which was praised by fellow guests. Rebecca picked up some fantastic spices for me, including high quality saffron and printed out and even e-mailed me some recipes. Thanks Rebecca, I will try them and let you know how they turned out!
I can recommend this riad without reservations to anyone,who wants to experience Marrakech while staying at a sophisticated place, which we found excellent value for money. You will be welcomed as new friends and you will part as old friends. I really feel as if I now have friends with a fantastic riad in Marrakech.
Marijke A

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After visiting Riad Noir d'lvoire in may this year and getting engaged there on a dream trip, I decided to take a girls trip with my mother and sister to share with them how special the place is. Everything about This Riad in the centre of the old Medina is just perfection... From the extremely friendly and helpful staff to the quite calm of the pool and terrace areas, also to come back to a riad which feels like your own home after the hustle and bustle of the evening souks. This is a place that will now be a regular holiday destination for us as we know when we visit Noir D'lvoire its always going to be an extra special holiday. If its Luxury, romance and the most special holiday you could ever dream of that you are looking for then look no further.

Thank you Damien, Ariane and the rest of the staff at the riad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the first email I exchanged with the riad inquiring about a three night stay, to the farewell with our driver at the airport, my husband and I received flawless, warm and caring service. Rebecca, Damien and the rest of the staff attended to every detail to make sure our visit was perfect. I don't think the words "we can't" are in their vocabulary. Every request was honored and thoughtful suggestions were offered at every turn. I had debated about staying outside the medina or being more adventurous and staying in the heart of medina. I clearly made the right decision to stay at the riad. It is an oasis in a chaotic, vibrant and colorful city. Each time we returned from an outing in the souks, we were able to recharge in this beautiful and peaceful riad. We were then ready to go out and conquer another area of Marrakech. If you opt to be more adventurous in your trip to Marrakech, stay in a riad and you will not regret your decision. And of course, stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire. You will not be disappointed. It surpassed our every expectation. After three days, we felt more like friends visiting than guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.