We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My review will not be able to do Riad Noir d'Ivoire justice. It was absolutely perfect in every way. The ambiance, the rooms, the staff, the food...all superb! We were a family of 4 ( 2 adults and 2 teenage girls). The Riad was a perfect place to come back and relax after a busy day in the medina. Ariane, who is the manager, is a pure delight and very knowledgable with regards to the city and culture. Her coworker Damien, was equally helpful and so enthusiastic. They are always available to assist in anyway needed. The Hammam at the Riad is outstanding. It was a first and hopefully not last. My teenage daughters were also impressed and enjoyed every moment. The staff even had a beautiful local woman come to the Riad to do Henna designs for us. Book this Riad if you would like a perfect experience!

Room Tip: Our family of 4 ( 2 teenage girls) stayed 3 nights in the Guepard Suite and one night in the Panthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
655
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first time in Marrakech and this Riad is the perfect place to stay for a first time traveler. Although if we come back I would certainly stay there again. It is gorgeous! And they are so helpful to make sure you are comfortable walking in Marrakech and around the Souks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked Noir d'Ivoire following a feature in the Telegraph Magazine on the best riads in Marrakech and it turns out to be an excellent recommendation. It had to be special: our 5th wedding anniversary and first time on a break away from our 2 children. We stayed in Panther and it ticked all the boxes: gorgeously opulent room with massive bed, huge bathroom and sofas; private roof terrace with gazebo for private breakfasts, sunbeds with private jacuzzi; an onsite hammam for couples' treatments after a hard day's sightseeing; and do many cozy nooks to sit with a glass of champagne and a bowl of delicious almonds and just while away some precious time together.

The place is just so beautiful, we just admired the owner, Jill's, vision - if only we had the same! We felt like we were in a shoot for an interior design magazine. And yet the place was not stuffy or self-conscious, far from it. The staff were helpful and easy-going. Nothing was a problem and everything could be arranged. Champagne was offered on arrival; reservations were made at the best restaurants; massages were booked; Damian was always on had to show us where to go and what to do... It was so nice to return to of an evening, like coming home, except the home is totally beautiful and like nothing you would actually have at home!

If I was to criticise anything it would be that sometimes staff could be hard to find when you wanted something like a cup of tea in the morning or a drink from the bar - but it wasn't a big problem, I've experienced much worse in 5 star hotels. We always got what we wanted in the end and the drinks were removed from our bill when the wait had been a little long. In summary, Noir D'Ivoire was fantastic, exactly what we hoped it would be and more. Go! My tip for a romantic weekend: arrive after dark. When you enter the riad at night and see it all lit up, it is pure magic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen china
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went to Marrakech for a birthday weekend and because the hotel was quite busy we were offered a different room for each night of our stay..which turned out to be a really nice way to see some different aspects of this beautiful place,

The short walk from the car drop off point to the hotel passes through some pretty chaotic little streets and as you weave your way past the market stalls with the scent of roasting lamb in the air you do begin to wonder if you've made a bad call. Thankfully the streets get narrower and quieter as you approach the Riad. Then the door to the Riad opens and you leave the outside world behind and suddenly all is calm, the sounds of honking horns and stallholders instantly replaced by Sade and running water...and i know which I prefer.

I can't add much to what's already been said...every good thing that's been written about this place is true and in spades. The attention to detail of the interior designers who created this gem is astonishing, so may little details in the decor add to the Afro/mediterranean/Arabic feel of the place. Amazing.

But its not just the hardware that scores highly here, its the software that hits the spot as well. The staff go about their work with a calm efficiency that complements the soothing surroundings.

We used the hotel to arrange transport from Casablanca and a day trip...there's one driver called Nourden who speaks French. English and Italian and who was a great guy to talk with about the country and culture. Mohammed speaks French and Spanish.

The team at the ND have created something very special here. I encourage you to go and experience it.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged overlooking two separate courtyards, we had rooms overlooking both and i pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Noir d'Ivoire for a quick three day whirlwind tour of Marrakech. We looked into staying at another place, but decided on this particular establishment because of the kind, quick, and thorough email responses from Ariane. She was so patient in fielding every one of my inquiries that I couldn't justify staying anywhere else. We were so excited to meet Cous Cous the Donkey and were a little bummed out when he was busy helping someone else. We voiced out disappointment and before we could get more than halfway to the Riad, there he was. They could've ignored our comments, but the staff made sure we were happy right from the start.

I hadn't done much preliminary research, so I was nervous that this trip might become chaotic. Meeting Damien, the manager of the hotel, my fears were instantly assuaged. He had upgraded us to a suite, available due to a cancellation. What a room it was. Stunning. Huge. Impeccably and tastefully decorated with a lovely stash of fruits and nuts purchased from the local market. To top it all off, he'd familiarised himself with our travel plans before we'd even arrived. After sending us to the roof to chill out after the flight, he came with a map, custom built 3 day itinerary for us, and plenty of fantastic dinner recommendations (even though the hotel restaurant was open they sent us out so that we might see more of Marrakech). We didn't have to organise a single element of our vacation and everywhere he sent us was nothing short of perfect for getting a quick taste of Marrakech. I would definitely recommend hiring a guide if you are only going to be there a short while. The staff called someone (they work independently from the hotel so you pay the guides directly) and had them there within half an hour. The gentleman spoke 5 different languages, was extremely well read, and knew his historical information inside and out. At the end of our tour he brought us to the beautiful La Sultana Hotel, where Damien had made us a reservation, and accepted our invitation to stay for a drink where he regaled us with further stories and information.

You can see all the photo others have posted displaying how beautiful the Riad is. What really made the experience so wonderful was that the hotel staff anticipated everything we needed before we even realised we needed it: Drinks by the fire, breakfast on the roof, couples spa treatment. Damien insisted we use the in house hamamm and it was truly not to upsell us, but because he could tell that we were stressed out and in need of a treatment. You should DEFINITELY do it. My spouse kept telling me to just get a massage on my own because he really didn't want to get in the hamamm, but Damien insisted, pointing out that we could get a massage anywhere in the world. After we came out my husband gave our massage therapist a hug and kept saying he wanted to track down Damien and kiss his feet for making him do it.

I know this review sounds overly loverly, but that's because this was one of the best vacation experiences we have ever had. There is no doubt in my mind that the fond memories we have are owed to the kind and meticulous service we received, just as I've no doubt that we will return. We try never to go somewhere twice, but after this stay we plan on doing a full tour of Morocco, which Damien and our guide have already told us they will help to plan :) THANKS Tripadvisors for the suggestion!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chameau room on the second floor overlooking the central courtyard. It was huge, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I'll start from the beginning - Flew BA (nervous flyer) was great smooth, arrived on time. There was a car waiting for us. It is a good walk to the Riad from where the car drops you off, but for me that was amazing it was my first taste of Marrakech and little Couscous! Yes i did almost get run over by one of the millions of motorbikes, but instantly you feel you are getting an experience.
Arrived at the Riad greeted by Ariane, lovely bubbly lady who got us drinks and we sat on the roof and relaxed. Our room was wonderful, Zebra suite. I didn't realise the roof terrace with jucuzzi wasn't attached to the room, but opposite your door you go up some stairs and there is your outside area and jucuzzi straight ahead, to the left is another suites, but it does feel private. Breakfast on the terrace was perfect. The breakfast was massive, fruit, yogurt, orange juice, tea, eggs however you like them, pancakes, bread.
After reading some reviews we thought we'd get a phone, but they were running low so didn't but that didn't worry us. There are also lots of cats Miss Piggy my favourite, this added to the homely feel of the place, although i do think they need a brush.
I've done lots of european city breaks and really wanted somewhere different and this was it. Some rules for Marrakech we learnt quickly. 1. Walk on the right hand side always 2. Never stop to ask directions from men or children, they will ask for money and Ariane said sometimes this can be nasty. Only ask woman or shop keepers and the will help for free 3. when bartering start at below 50% of what they say orginally. 4. Eat in the square at stall one. 5. All the stuff in the Riad is from 144 if you like anything take a picture and show it to Mustaff and he will try and find it for you like he did with us and a wooden turtle. 6. Everyone speaks french so basic french is a must. 7. Try to hide your map as otherwise people will hassle you.
Damien organised all our evening meals and we we're not disappointed. He asks what you are in the mood for and gets it right. He is a good judge of character. He also organised our daily itinerary - i think both him and Ariane were worried after our first evening we got lost for 3 hours, and sent the guys with us everytime we left.
A massive must is a Hammam, that is all i will say - Wow, never had one before and want one ever week if only i could!! We were very extravangant and had a massage after but this was our 6th anniversary so spoilt ourselves.
This place is a sanctuary from the world of madness outside - as Damien says its all about the memories and thanks to them we have plenty.
Best time to go would be March and October according to the guys that worked there.
Really beautiful Riad in a good location - i never felt unsafe even when lost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Having travelled all over the world and staying at some of the most luxurious 5 star hotels, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect from a small Riad in Marrakech. Our experience at Riad Noir d'Ivoire totally surpassed our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious surroundings and flawless service provided by Damien, Ariane and their team. Nothing was too much trouble and the restaurant recommendations and spa day at the Mamounia which were organised for us were worth every penny. We stayed in the Panther Suite and loved our private roof terrace, with a lovely breakfast served there every morning at whatever time we wished and log fire in our room. For us this riad struck the perfect balance between luxury and feeling at home. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good home style cooking with a fantastic lamb tagine. I would thoroughly recommend staying here, the tranquility and beauty of the riad makes a great sanctuary when you have finished browsing the souks and main square. Thanks to Damien and Ariane for a truly unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.