We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
bo'ness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just back having spending a few days at the Noir d'lvoire with my fiance and we had the most amazing stay.

Before we arrived at the riad i had been emailing back and forth with Ariane, the riad manager, and even then i knew the level of service was going to be great. Every time i sent an email i got a super speedy reply. Ariane was so helpful and friendly. The riad was fully booked when we first arrived so we stayed in another hotel, Ariane arranged a driver to come and collect us and take us to the riad, where she was waiting to greet us and walk us to the riad.

The riad is a short walk from where the car drops you off, through little streets and lanes. The big door opened where Damien welcomed us in. Wow! only describes what we saw next. The riad is beautiful, grand, calm peaceful and yet homely. Its like a secret paradise in the middle of the chaos of marrakech!

We were ushered to have a seat in the big comfy sofa whilst the staff brought us mint tea and the bags were taken up to our romm. Damien gave us a quick tour then showed us up to our suite. Wow! again! We were given an upgrade to the Guepard suite. It was beautiful, very grand morrocan decor. Our suite had stairs which led up to private roof terrace and hot tub!

Before we arrived we were thinking about holding a wedding blessing at the noir d'lvoire, as soon as we entered the riad we knew this was the place. It honestly is amazing! We spent some time discussing the wedding blessing with Ariane when we were there. Ariane has so many wonderful ideas and living in Scotland i would absolute trust in Ariane to organise the event for me. Her knowledge is fantastic. We have been back a few days and already we have been in touch from email with lots of wedding ideas and costs!

Dont be put of if your the type of people who normally stay in large hotels. Normally thats us - we like to be independent and do our own thing on holiday. But the staff at the riad are helpful but also give you your space. And the riad is not as small as you might think, there is two courtyard areas unlike many riads that only have the one. There is lots of different areas to sit and relax within the hotel. And even when the riad is fully booked it somehow feels like your the only guests there, its so quiet and peaceful!

Damien and Ariane were always on hand to suggest local places to eat and make reservations! Damien had one of the staff walk us to the bank and show us the way to the souks on our first day. The other staff in the hotel were fantastic too, so friendly and helpful.

The area is very safe, we wondered back and forward during the day and at night and no one bothered us. It is a very safe city.

We have travelled all over the world, and have never stayed in a place where the service has been so great! The staff here truly are fantastic.

What you waiting for? Book this place - before its fully booked!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
655
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel location gives a very traditional feel to the entire stay as it is in amongst the small lanes (maze-like) and typical bazaars of marrakech.

Once inside, the hotel feels so homely and relaxing with fires lit and cats playing around. Interior was beautiful with so much attention to every bit of detail, candles lit, soft music.....no complaints with the hotel appearance.

Moreover, the staff are unbelievably kind and welcoming. Made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. The owner of the Riad was very lovely and could not have been more helpful. She was able to accomodate us as we contacted her the night before our stay for any availability and all was due to her kindness.

The rooms were also too good to be true. Very spacious and have balconies looking out to the centre of the Riad. Hotel consists of 9 rooms, every room is decorated differently - all very lovely, clean and refreshing.

Food at the hotel was good too, and its really nice to eat by the pool. Again service was spot on,

The only slight negative point is that we were too used to staying at hotels so personally next time we would prefer hotel to riad. However did allow us to experience something out of the world.

Overall experience of riad, absolutely amazing service from beginning to end and a beautiful riad from at every corner. Wouldnt change a single thing.

BUT highlight of our holiday was the visit to the Atlas Mountains. Absolutely spectacular. Amazing experience, one that will never be forgotten. We climbed the mountains with the help of a guide and was WOW to see the waterfall in amongst the mountains. Beautiful!!! Defo one not to miss!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Riad for our honeymoon and it was simply a dream come true! It was a much deserved treat after the hectic organization of the wedding and the day itself.
We slept in the Panther suite and hardly left the room because it was so beautiful, enjoyed the fireplace and had dinner in our room every night and then add a little midnight dip in our OWN jacuzzi pure bliss! Did i forget to mention that the team is lovely and very kind. They could of not been better. Thank you for making the trip so special! We plan to return for our paper wedding anniversary :)

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite - the terrace and jacuzzi are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Taking into account all the other reviews on Trip Advisor I am not sure there are many more ways left to describe how wonderful the Riad is and the way in which Ariane and Damian make you feel so very welcome.
We stayed in the Zebra suite - breakfast on the rooftop is beyond words and such a wonderful way to start your day. And to finish the day the jacuzzi is also wonderful.
Nothing was too much trouble for either of them to ensure that your stay not only in the Riad, but also Marrakech was a superb experience.
This ranges from the local mobile phone with each of their numbers in case of any problems (or being lost !!) to the waiters walking you to various points.
It was my Wife's birthday and I had requested that a Hot Air Balloon trip be organised. This was done without any fuss. A very early start, and there was still a breakfast ready and waiting and one of the waiters to walk us up to the meeting place.
Recommendations for restaurants were also very good - even down to the Waiters bringing out a cake and singing Happy Birthday to my wife at La Maison Arabe - Ariane had arranged everything.

It is the simple things they do, that make the whole experience so wonderful (even the lending of Ariane's coat one night for my wife as it rained!!)

Again Many Thanks to both Ariane and Damian
Simply the best, and I am sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was my first time staying in Marrakech and the Noir D’Ivoire riad has made the trip perfect. The riad was beautiful, decorated with local artefacts. The riad has only 9 rooms, so it has a private house feel, very homey and relaxing. The place is very clean, and with great attention to details. The real differentiator were Ariane and Damien, who manage the riad together, they were absolutely amazing, and made us feel at home right from the moment we arrived. When we were with them, we didn’t have to worry about anything! From the stress free airport transfer, to the lovely breakfast, fun day time activities, spas, excursions and perfect tables for dinners, they have thought of everything and constantly spoil us with amazing surprises! The staffs at the riad were also warm and welcoming; everyone tries their best to make our stay as lovely as possible. In the middle of the riad there is a lovely pool and it’s lovely to have dinner around. The riad also has another pool, but as it’s not heated, it’s too cold to swim in as we went in Feb. However, it was still really lovely to sit by the pool next to the wall waterfall feature at night. The riad also has its own wine cellar and cigar room. We have stayed in the Elephant suite and it was lovely and spacious. The round bath tub was beautiful. The high light was the balcony, which looks out to the centre of the riad, of the pool and the large chandelier. It’s the perfect place to read a book at the early evening. The service at this riad is simply beyond first class!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This was my first Moroccan riad and I had no idea what to expect from it, which probably confused proprietors of the place - I did not know how to judge the perfection, I simply haven't been at a place like this. Only when I saw what other luxury properties look like I understood how far above everything else in Morocco Noir d'Ivoire was. Photos on the website give only tiny glimpse into the full experience.

Noir d'Ivoire is not exactly a Moroccan property (just look at the name ;-) - Jill, the owner, has seen lots of the world (which sure is basis for many great conversations), and she definitely transformed that knowledge into this property - everything was just the way it was supposed to be.

I especially liked the contemporary/african/moroccan design fusion - interior was extremely tasteful and pleasing the eye.

24/7 breakfast is best invention since sliced bread, and low surcharge liquor is a good deal too :) Local chef prepared great meal, although there're some great a-la-carte places around too.

One of major things to understand about this place is that Marrakech is a place where all senses are saturated - and whenever one is fed up with that for the day, riad provides great escape not only from the outer world but Marrakech itself.

Service was top notch - for eight or so rooms I counted more than 20 staff - all of them extremely helpful and nice. Every wish is being executed upon within seconds, and this service quality is beyond other Morocco luxury experiences.

I greatly recommend this place, and I'd visit it myself, if I had a way to fly to Marrakech without layovers and train transfers. It is a remarkable place even if you don't want to go outside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here three times now and each time have grown to love the place more. Ariane and Damien and the excellent staff make us feel truly at home. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.