We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We chose Riad Noir d'Ivoire because it's rated #1 among Marrakech hotels. It really lived up to its ranking. This is the best riad we stayed in Morocco during our 10-day trip.

Everything is impeccable. Ariane is wonderful, manages the riad perfectly and always tries to help. She did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. When we arrived late the first night (3-hour drive across high atlas from Ouarzazate), she sent two employees from the riad to meet us and helped us carry our luggage to the riad by cart (we will never be able to find the riad on our own).

Next morning, she prepared very detailed maps and directions for us and even had two cell phones ready for us to use in we get lost. And she had one of the hotel employee walk with us to the main street to show us the way out.

On our last day, we had a late evening flight. Ariane was very kind to let us keep the room during the day so we can take some rest before departing to the airport.

The riad is beautifuly decorated and 4 cats are super friendly. Also met the lovely Couscous (the donkey).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
655
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I recently stayed here with my friend. We were welcomed in like old friends. Ariane was very helpful, no question or request was to much.
As two single girls we felt very safe with the guidance that was given by staff. We were walked places and hailed taxi's if it was felt it was not safe. We were also given a local mobile phone, which was a great reassurance to know they were only a phone call away.
The rooms and facilities were top notch, I've never stayed somewhere with so much attention to detail.
The hammam in the hotel was fantastic, and handy to just pop back to your room after.

Room Tip: The Riad has cats, so something worthwhile thinking about if allergic. We stayed in the Elephant ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I booked this because it was Number 1 on TripAdvisor and I'm so pleased I did!! My boyfriend and I stayed here just before Christmas in one of the "regular" rooms. We had an absolutely fantastic time, the staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming and helped us out with their extensive local knowledge in telling us where to go and what to see and do. They booked several restaurants for us in the evenings, and quad biking and a trip in to the Atlas Mountains during the day. We had breakfast on the roof terrace every day in the sun, which was fantastic. As mentioned in other reviews, they walked us to the main part of the Medina on the first day to make sure we did not get lost. If you are going to have a hammam or massage - I would recommend getting it in the riad. I had massages in both the riad and a local hammam (also highly recommended on tripadvisor!) and the one in the riad was infinitely better. The only downside is that if you're on a budget then it can get a little pricey - but it is most definitely worth the money and I'd recommend it to all my friends and family. Huge thanks to Damien and Ariane for being the most marvellous hosts and treating us like friends!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I took a side trip from our stay in Paris to Marrakech. Our 21 and 19 year old daughters were with us. The Noir d'Ivoire exceeded all expectations, starting with arranging our pick-up at the airport by Mohammed and welcoming beverage. The property is elegant, comfortable and each room has its own twist, some with private roof terrace. The main roof terrace is a lovely spot for breakfast as well as a view of Marrakech roof tops. My daughters and I took advantage of a traditional hammam treatment, which is a definite repeat next time and the girls had luxuriously lengthy and relaxing facials by lovely staff. Abundant intimate corners to relax in outside of rooms. A generous spirit abounded in the customer service by all, led by Damien and Ariane. Noir d'Ivorie is a sure thing. Marrakech's medina is a great experience, and like Janensam review, an escort was provided to ease any navigation errors to the main square. Sound advice was provided on how to handle he local culture as well. The only downside was leaving the riad! We would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a suite and our daughters a "regular" room; both were terrific. The website can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Having internet at hand, reading through recommendations it should be easy to plan a trip. Going through the options to stay in Marrakech it ain't easy to judge all these positive remarks on many of the described Riads, Kasbahs or Hotels. Friendly staff, support to find your way around...., they all seems to be similar. That's where we went through when we had the opportunity to stay in Marrakech for a couple of days.

And than..., after all this misery of spending time on the internet finding our place to stay in Marrakech, we decided to go for Noir d'Ivoire. We never regret!
The love and passion to develop a retreat, the details, the quality shown, the attention given, the service provided... they went the whole way and beyond!

Ariane, Damien and their staff have made our stay, for the little time we had, a great experience. In their capable hands we felt never lost, neither for instructions, locations to stay, visit or eat.

thanks to all, for all you did!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Damien & Ariane are a so lovely ! You feel like a Sultan back in his Riad for a a few days. After a walk in the very busy Medina and after an experience of smell, colors, sounds, you enter the Noir d'Ivoire Riad where you got the impression to be in another world ! Just the sound of birds, waterfall, piano and jazz ! Damien, Ariane and their staff are completely devoted to their guests. If you need anything, they'll bring you your request, walk with you if you need to go somewhere for the 1st time. For the price and the quality of services, we highly recommend this place ! And we'll be back soon ! ❤

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect from Marrakech but the whole trip was excellent. Riad noir d'ivoire is a truly beautiful place to stay, the rooms and the whole feel of the place is a whole lot of luxury amidst the ancient ambience of the Medina. We stayed in the room with the roof terrace and lying in the sun listening to the call to prayer ring out from across the medina was one of our favourite experiences. The service was excellent, all the staff were incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we were even walked part way to the centre on our first day to help us find our way round.
As two women we always felt safe wandering around the small streets of the medina itself and the people we met everywhere very friendly and welcoming and we had very little of the usual sales pitch in the market area which was very welcome as well.
We would highly recommend Marakech itself and most definitely the Riad which really is gorgeous. Thanks particularly to Damien who looked after us so well but to all the staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Jane and Sam

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. Meet and greet service with our donkey Couscous and our four loving cats! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noir d'Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.